We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frangipani Hotel

Belmont VC0400, Bequia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Frangipani Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even without air or tv I found that I needed some quiet and uncomplicated downtime. It was off season and businesses closed early including the hotel restaurant so I had to order dinner by 7. Great bar and great view. Room had mosquito netting and repellent but be ready for bugs. Food was also very good.

Helpful?
Thank Woody R
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive words. Many of our rooms have TV, but the Economy rooms you refer to do not. These traditional West Indian rooms are very good value and are extremely popular. The large balcony overlooking Admiralty Bay is a perfect spot to relax and have one of our famous Frangi Fever cocktails while watching the... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a hillside view room which was clean and comfortable with mosquito nets, repellant, mosquito repealing coil so despite mosquitoes we were not bitten. The room was spacious with large balcony. A fair walk from the hotel up steep steps though! You could leave luggage in the reception on the day of departure, so not that secure but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate it, and look forward to welcoming you once again. Check out time is 11am. We can keep your luggage for you safely if you have to check out but are not ready to leave Bequia. This is a free service we offer. If the room is not booked for that day you... More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016

We didn't stay at the hotel but walked along the Belmont walkway regularly to have a drink or meal, On New Year's Eve it was an ideal spot to eat, drink, listen to a steel band and watch the fireworks across the bay. Of course it got crowded but reasonably so and what you would want if out that night.

Helpful?
Thank Ty G
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

The Frangipani Hotel Bar is one of the most popular bars in the Caribbean. Located right on the waterfront of beautiful Admiralty Bay, it is the ideal spot to watch the sunset while drinking one of our famous rum punches, or to watch the fireworks show on New Years Eve. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

The pros: great location, most of the staff were friendly, the food was really good, our room was very spacious, there was a nice balcony in the house with a view over the harbor, the room was promptly cleaned, the price was very good. The cons: we did not realize the huge difference between the garden & original rooms: we... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaSa27
Sabrina M, Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and general feedback which is most helpful. Our low priced economy rooms are most frequently used by walk in visitors and yachties looking for an economical room to spend a night or two. Indeed they are not very luxurious, but are simple and comfortable for the traveller on a budget. In the economy room... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Arrival; I took a local taxi, driven by Donovan from the Ferry Dock to the hotel. The trip took around 6 minutes and I would advise a taxi because if you have a suitcase the road is a bit steep in places. On arriving at the hotel I was met by Mrs Mitchell the owner. Mrs Mitchell is very warm... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sometravelling2015
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We are plead that you had a wonderful visit to Bequia and that the Frangipani was an enjoyable experience. Our guests' needs are important to us. We value your feedback to ensure that we continue to provide excellent service and a comfortable stay. More 

Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The Franngipani Hotel is convenient for a stay at Port Elizabeth, Bequia. The staff is attentive, the service reliable. My room was nice, if you are accustomed to basic Caribbean Standards, and like traditional outfits, like wooden shutters instead of windows. The price for the room was kind of stiff, given the very basic condition of e.g. the bathroom facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tritopp
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Our stay was blighted by Mosquitos and midges and although the staff helped with coils and a mosquito net over the bed, we were still bitten really badly. We have been travelling around the Caribbean for several months and this was our worst experience by far. Free wifi was unreliable, but this may not be the fault of the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for alerting us to the mosquito problem you encountered during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry that mosquitoes on the island hampered your vacation. We are doing everything we can to control the problem, including screening our windows. Our WIFI at the hotel remains a free service. An upgraded... More 

London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We had breakfast a couple of times in the restaurant because it has a nice view and was close to where we moored our dinghy. The food was ok, but be prepared to wait for up to an hour, and if you want a refill of coffee be prepared to wait 20 mins for that, that is if you get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank snowybennett
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review the Frangipani Hotel. We want you to know how much we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry your experience with us was not what you had hoped. We look forward to welcoming you once again, so that we may get a chance to offer the warm, Bequia welcome. We... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This place has one of the best views of the harbour and used to be one of the best hotels but it has been allowed to slip into terminal decay. There does not seem to be any management here any more and the place is staffed by a bored team waiting for customers. The outside area was shaded by some... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank thetravelleraaa
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Frangipani Hotel. Your feedback is important to us, giving us valuable insight into improving our product and service. The lovely new gazebo, which we have built, located right on the waterfront of beautiful Admiralty Bay is now the most popular area of our restaurant, and a lovely addition to our charming... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What to expect when arriving at the hotel you researched about? Do you expect to get what you read on their website? NOT FOR THIS ONE. How about a clean room, restaurant, bar, Thursday night buffet? NOT AT THIS ONE. Watch for the false advertising. It may apply during high season but they do NOT tell you that none of... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gio S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
21.0 mi away
Richmond Vale Diving & Hiking Centre
1.1 mi away
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a home it began, and a home it still seems to the many Bequia lovers who return year after year to the Frangipani, the quintessential small hotel on a small island in the Caribbean. Built for his family by a Bequia sea captain almost a century ago, the shingle-sided, two-storey building has gracefully presided ever since over the nautical comings and goings of Admiralty Harbour. The property has been in the Mitchell family since 1898, first in boat building and now in hospitality. The hotel celebrated its 40th anniversary year in 2007. You can now savour the scene from the open-sided dining room, or the popular beach bar, or from the sundeck upstairs where you can still enjoy one of the original family rooms. The more luxurious garden rooms, which rise on a gentle slope behind, are hand-crafted of local stone and hardwoods, and each has a balcony facing westward over the yacht basin where the setting sun dips down behind the palms. Listed as one of the top 100 bars in the world, the Frangipani's waterfront open air bar is one of the Caribbean's famous watering holes. With an extensive cocktail menu, warm atmosphere and friendly bartenders, the "Frangi" bar maintains its reputation as the meeting place for locals and visitors alike. Try our famous Frangi Fever, Mango Potion or Passion Colada while seated in our love seats under the palms, watching the sun set on the horizon as the gentle breezes blow. Or find a spot at the beautiful purple- heart wooden bar with comfortable cushioned stools and you are likely to meet a fellow Bequia lover from across the planet. Whatever your fancy, you are sure to find good conversation, and a drink of choice at the Frangi; or the bartenders are happy to recommend one of their tropical specialties to while away the hours as you relax and unwind. Every Thursday night, the Frangi Barbecue and Jump Up with live music from the Elite Steel Orchestra maintains its unique attraction. Our superb buffet features a charcoal-grilled 8oz striploin steak or grilled fish, with a wide assortment of local dishes, seafood salads, freshly-baked bread, and fabulous desserts, including our famous Lime Pie, coffee or tea included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frangipani Hotel

Address: Belmont VC0400, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Belmont
Price Range: $54 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Frangipani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Hotel Bequia/Belmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay