We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Frangipani Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Frangipani Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Skien, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to give this hotel a higher raiting, because the place was so wonderful, the garden so lush and beatiful, the owner so welcoming and thursday steel band barbeque just fantastic! But I think the room was overrated, even though it had a privat balcony, kitchenette and was spasious. The main problem was the mattresses at the bottom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette, Thanks for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The hotel is in the process of upgrading of rooms, including putting AC in the rooms, but the room you stayed in has not yet been done. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Our Thursday night BBQ is indeed very popular. Im so pleased...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great view of fireworks display Buffet Make sure you are on time otherwise not a lot left !! Wine disappointing Food average Quite frankly that was secondary as the atmosphere was great Steel band had everyone jumping Fireworks magnificent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. We have a wide selection of wines on our wine list with choices to suit all tastes and budgets. Our house wines are a basic Chardonnay and merlot. Im pleased that you enjoyed the festive atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed October 16, 2016

Although it was the low season at the hotel, we were warmly greeted and treated during our two day stay here. Everyone from Shanique (we hoped we spelled that correctly), Sabrina, Roger and Keean were friendly and warm in their disposition and candor. The facilities were great as expected and the best part is that it's a short walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shamim R
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We try very hard to ensure that our guests feel welcome, like family, when visiting our small establishment. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed meeting you and taking care of you while in Bequia. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Reviewed August 25, 2016

I rented a c room for 3 days. Got a clean and cosy room with a comfortable bed and a nice view. There was a sink in the room, the toilet was down the hall(this was one of the cheapest rooms). For the price I paid, I was very satisfied. Great service and good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerRiise
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. Our Economy rooms, while simple, are clean and comfortable and certainly the best value on Bequia. We look forward to welcoming you at the Frangipani once again.

Evans, Georgia
Reviewed June 30, 2016

Even without air or tv I found that I needed some quiet and uncomplicated downtime. It was off season and businesses closed early including the hotel restaurant so I had to order dinner by 7. Great bar and great view. Room had mosquito netting and repellent but be ready for bugs. Food was also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woody R
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive words. Many of our rooms have TV, but the Economy rooms you refer to do not. These traditional West Indian rooms are very good value and are extremely popular. The large balcony overlooking Admiralty Bay is a perfect spot to relax and have one of our famous Frangi Fever cocktails while watching the...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a hillside view room which was clean and comfortable with mosquito nets, repellant, mosquito repealing coil so despite mosquitoes we were not bitten. The room was spacious with large balcony. A fair walk from the hotel up steep steps though! You could leave luggage in the reception on the day of departure, so not that secure but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma L
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate it, and look forward to welcoming you once again. Check out time is 11am. We can keep your luggage for you safely if you have to check out but are not ready to leave Bequia. This is a free service we offer. If the room is not booked for that day you...

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 21, 2016

We didn't stay at the hotel but walked along the Belmont walkway regularly to have a drink or meal, On New Year's Eve it was an ideal spot to eat, drink, listen to a steel band and watch the fireworks across the bay. Of course it got crowded but reasonably so and what you would want if out that night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ty G
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

The Frangipani Hotel Bar is one of the most popular bars in the Caribbean. Located right on the waterfront of beautiful Admiralty Bay, it is the ideal spot to watch the sunset while drinking one of our famous rum punches, or to watch the fireworks show on New Years Eve. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed January 8, 2016

The pros: great location, most of the staff were friendly, the food was really good, our room was very spacious, there was a nice balcony in the house with a view over the harbor, the room was promptly cleaned, the price was very good. The cons: we did not realize the huge difference between the garden & original rooms: we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaSa27
Sabrina M, Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and general feedback which is most helpful. Our low priced economy rooms are most frequently used by walk in visitors and yachties looking for an economical room to spend a night or two. Indeed they are not very luxurious, but are simple and comfortable for the traveller on a budget. In the economy room...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Arrival; I took a local taxi, driven by Donovan from the Ferry Dock to the hotel. The trip took around 6 minutes and I would advise a taxi because if you have a suitcase the road is a bit steep in places. On arriving at the hotel I was met by Mrs Mitchell the owner. Mrs Mitchell is very warm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sometravelling2015
Sabrina M, General Manager at Frangipani Hotel, responded to this review

We are plead that you had a wonderful visit to Bequia and that the Frangipani was an enjoyable experience. Our guests' needs are important to us. We value your feedback to ensure that we continue to provide excellent service and a comfortable stay.

Kingstown, St. Vincent
Reviewed May 27, 2015

The Franngipani Hotel is convenient for a stay at Port Elizabeth, Bequia. The staff is attentive, the service reliable. My room was nice, if you are accustomed to basic Caribbean Standards, and like traditional outfits, like wooden shutters instead of windows. The price for the room was kind of stiff, given the very basic condition of e.g. the bathroom facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tritopp
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
58 reviews
21.0 mi away
Richmond Vale Diving & Hiking Centre
10.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a home it began, and a home it still seems to the many Bequia lovers who return year after year to the Frangipani, the quintessential small hotel on a small island in the Caribbean. Built for his family by a Bequia sea captain almost a century ago, the shingle-sided, two-storey building has gracefully presided ever since over the nautical comings and goings of Admiralty Harbour. The property has been in the Mitchell family since 1898, first in boat building and now in hospitality. The hotel celebrated its 40th anniversary year in 2007. You can now savour the scene from the open-sided dining room, or the popular beach bar, or from the sundeck upstairs where you can still enjoy one of the original family rooms. The more luxurious garden rooms, which rise on a gentle slope behind, are hand-crafted of local stone and hardwoods, and each has a balcony facing westward over the yacht basin where the setting sun dips down behind the palms. Listed as one of the top 100 bars in the world, the Frangipani's waterfront open air bar is one of the Caribbean's famous watering holes. With an extensive cocktail menu, warm atmosphere and friendly bartenders, the "Frangi" bar maintains its reputation as the meeting place for locals and visitors alike. Try our famous Frangi Fever, Mango Potion or Passion Colada while seated in our love seats under the palms, watching the sun set on the horizon as the gentle breezes blow. Or find a spot at the beautiful purple- heart wooden bar with comfortable cushioned stools and you are likely to meet a fellow Bequia lover from across the planet. Whatever your fancy, you are sure to find good conversation, and a drink of choice at the Frangi; or the bartenders are happy to recommend one of their tropical specialties to while away the hours as you relax and unwind. Every Thursday night, the Frangi Barbecue and Jump Up with live music from the Elite Steel Orchestra maintains its unique attraction. Our superb buffet features a charcoal-grilled 8oz striploin steak or grilled fish, with a wide assortment of local dishes, seafood salads, freshly-baked bread, and fabulous desserts, including our famous Lime Pie, coffee or tea included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frangipani Hotel

Address: Belmont VC0284, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Belmont
Price Range: $54 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Frangipani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Hotel Bequia/Belmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Frangipani Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Frangipani Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with view.”
 of 5 bubbles PerRiise, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“No a/c in rooms”
 of 5 bubbles woodyr885, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 & Room 18 have excellent views. Please use the railings after rain on the steps as the steps may be slippy”
 of 5 bubbles sometravelling2015, Sep 20, 2015 | Read review
“Don't believe what is in the website”
 of 5 bubbles gios91, Aug 1, 2014 | Read review
“Upgrade to the A/C room for the seal.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolasw147, Jul 30, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay