We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveler (232)
Pool & Beach (36)
Room & Suite (29)
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“beautiful lake”(6 reviews)
“juan carlos”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
153
23
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
153
23
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lakejuan carlosamazon rainforestla pazdugout canoeboat tripguide nelsona great experiencehiking trailsrooms are nicesurrounding forestlesson learnedvery special placedifferent speciesan adventurelocal foodwild pigs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were looking for as close as possible to the real Amazon and we found it at Chalalan. We had a wonderful 6 days with a small group (6 in total) of other English speakers. Out guide Rigo was amazing.. he can spot a bird...More

1  Thank 171,111
Response from yhovani v, Manager at Chalalan EcolodgeResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your kind words. Rigo is a great guide, we are glad you found him to be as wonderful as we think he is! Everyone on the staff is passionate about Chalalan because we are all from the community of San Jose de...More

Property's Favorite Review
Reviewed October 15, 2017

I stayed 3D / 2N with my partner, and our trip exceeded my expectations. The 5 hour boat ride from Rurrenabaque was very scenic and was a great way to feel like you are leaving civilization behind. Our English speaking guide was phenomenal - perhaps...More

1  Thank Travis S
Response from rmariaca, Gerente at Chalalan EcolodgeResponded November 1, 2017

We are very grateful for your comprehensive review and for the generous rating. A feature of Chalalan is that it is a small operation, which contributes to offer a more personalized and authentic experience. In addition, the indigenous guides add great value to the integral...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chalalan is a special special place, and I am so grateful for the people of the San Jose de Uchupiamonas community for offering this opportunity. Travelling alone for a 4 day 3 night stay, communication beforehand was excellent. I made my own way to Rurre...More

Thank Joe H
Response from yhovani v, Manager at Chalalan EcolodgeResponded 1 week ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Chalalan. We try to take as good care of you as we can! Sorry you did not get to see the jaguar, but there was a sighting recently... unfortunately not too often. The monkeys are great...More

Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

We had 2 nights in Chalalan with Ronny as our guide. We learnt so much and saw so many amazing things. Highlights included seeing 3 species of monkeys, nighttime hiking to see insects and other wondrous animals, canoeing in the evening to find caiman and...More

Thank B-Ron D
Response from Yhovani V, Gerente at Chalalan EcolodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

The rainforest can exist without people, but people we can't live without rainforest, our dream us a local indigenous community is to use the rainforest to live and preserve this beauty for our future generations, with your visit to chalalan your are contributing to make...More

Reviewed June 25, 2018

We spent two nights here but wished we had stayed longer. This place is magical, a tucked away jewel deep within the rainforest of the Amazon in Bolivia. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and just perfect. The staff super nice and accommodating. Our guide, fantastic....More

Thank connie777
Response from Yhovani V, Gerente at Chalalan EcolodgeResponded July 9, 2018

We are the most grateful people to had you here in our home, and we feel so happy to know you call "a gem of a place" the amazon look big, but in reality it is not, everyday is getting smaller, this community project help...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Multilingual Staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
$461 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$461 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (232)
Pool & Beach (36)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (15)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maria U
November 21, 2017|
Answer
Response from rmariaca | Property representative |
The price is US $ 429 per person in packages of 3 days and 2 nights, includes river transport from Rurrenabaque to the round trip shelter, accommodation, food and activities. We do not have pink dolphins in the area, but we... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
shirleytempleUSA
February 2, 2017|
Answer
Response from rmariaca | Property representative |
Hi. Our specialty is the jungle, we offer fluvial transportation, accommodation, food and guide in English by our native guides of the indigenous people of San José de Uchupiamonas. We will be happy to organize, for example... More
-1
Votes
Google Translation
jeffsdunaway
September 20, 2015|
Answer
Response from Chalalan Ecolod... A | Property representative |
We have no cell phone network coverage or wifi in the lodge, because we are located in the middle of National Madidi Park, 100 km from the nearest town. Consider it as a break from technology and ringing cells. However, we... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Simple accommodations but nice."
Read review
"Pack extra clothes in case you get soaked on boat or hikes. Takes very long time for clothes to dry."
Read review
"all cottages are similar but of different sizes, double, single, family, and of same quality"
Read review
"All rooms are good"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing