We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire

Save
Share
Avenue Drive, Uxbridge Road, Iver SL3 6DU England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
FindHotel
$625
$488
View Deal
SAVE $137
Expedia.com$548
eDreams$625
Booking.com$625
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (147)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (43)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 12/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire
Updated 12/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Surround yourself with incomparable style at The Langley, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire. Beautifully situated in the former manor home of the third Duke of Marlborough on 150 acres of formal gardens and parklands originally designed by Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown, The Langley offers an exclusive luxury retreat in the heart of Iver's countryside. Relax in our sophisticated rooms and suites, each meticulously restored with modern furnishings amidst historic features. Dine on perfectly crafted cuisine in our welcoming restaurant, enjoy a classic Afternoon Tea or savor light fare and cocktails in our bar. Our opulent spa and gym features holistic wellness treatments, along with an indoor and outdoor pool, a thermal area, fitness programs designed by Matt Roberts and healthful dining selections. Let the natural beauty and world-class services of our hotel in Langley Park take you back to the timeless luxury of elegant country living.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
97Reviews3Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Zack wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel itself is stunning but the service is non existent, the food so bland and the portions so small. Absolute rip off! Would never stay here again. We weren’t given access to the spa as it was fully booked apparently.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarek Wojtania, Guest Services / Front Office at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire
Responded Dec 27, 2020
Dear Zachtravelss, Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at the Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you had expected. We are glad though that you liked the hotel located in the heart of Langley Park. Please rest assured that your comments were passed to Giuseppe Ruo, our Food & Beverage Director. Our strict COVID-19 protocols designed to keep all our guests and staff safe mean that we had to limit the number of guests that can use the spa facilities, therefore we encourage guests to book all facilities in pre-arrival emails. We had many positive responses to our handling of the current restrictions, also here on TripAdvisor. We do hope to see you again at the Langley. Kind regards, Jarek Wojtania Front of House Manager
Read more
Phillip S wrote a review Dec 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom110 contributions84 helpful votes
We had a really lovely stay at The Langley and will - very likely - return. But have to agree with the general consensus that the "hard product" is much better than the "soft product". The building, quality of refurbishment, spa and location are all fantastic. We felt relaxed and refreshed after a night here. 2-3 days would feel like a proper holiday and it's hard to believe that it's so close to London / Heathrow / the M25 / Slough. We had a room in the main building on the top floor and thought it really lovely. There's certainly been a lot of money spent. I could disagree with some of the design choices (the TVs need to be on swing arms), but if you're sat in your room watching TV then you're missing what makes the hotel special. The staff are lovely, but generally give the impression of not having experience of not having operated at the price point the hotel is charging. For example, the waiters are pleasant and competent, but I agree with others that if you're charing near Michelin star prices then the food needs to be served with a certain snap, style and pizzaz. Food is competent, but not memorable. For the prices being charged I really do want to have at least one moment during the meal where the food stops conversation. The wine list is really isn't up to scratch. It's not a very long wine list, which isn't a bad thing - but it's terribly safe and uninteresting. It's the type of selection you'd get in a good provincial restaurant, not a luxe hotel, and gives the impression of having been written for the hotel, not written by a sommelier with passion. Markups are around 4-5 times retail. If you're going to charge those markups then don't do it on wine that can be bought from Majestic. The dining room is lovely, but the music just that tad too loud. Not so loud that it had to be talked over, but loud enough that song lyrics intruded without having to be listened for. That one of the waiters was absent-mindedly singing the Christmas song to themselves maybe didn't help. We actually enjoyed the meal. It was utterly competent. But there's no escaping the fact that it was a £100 experience for a £200 bill. Breakfast was very good. The type of breakfast that doesn't require lunch afterwards. I'd have sympathy with anyone who baulks at the £30 cost, but in truth I've been much more offended for the price of breakfast elsewhere and in the context of the room rates it's not unreasonable. To be fair to the hotel, it can't have had an easy opening / closing / opening with Covid going on. I suspect that staff retention and training will have been difficult and they are necessarily offering a fairly limited menu. But if the offering has been adversely impacted then the hotel needs to visibly recognise that in pricing. Overall, I think the balance of reviews is pretty fair. It wasn't good enough for the price to merit a five star review. A three star review would be mean. There's a number of things in other reviews I don't agree with. It's certainly not a 2* or 3* experience as another review suggests. But it's certainly not 5*. It's a 40 bed hotel and has a restaurant with 15 tables. It's inevitable that if you don't book before arrival that there's a good chance that a table won't be available. But equally, I don't think it's reasonable to criticise the hotel if you don't plan ahead. In truth, the restaurant size is a bit a challenge in any hotel of this type. Much bigger and it would lose its character. We'll almost certainly go back. The good news is that most of the stuff that's negative is fixable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The top floor of the main building has low ceilings. Avoid if you're tall!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
KR42019 wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom23 contributions29 helpful votes
The property itself is beautiful and the grounds stunning. We had a room in the main house with stunning views. Covid safeguards were in place and you were made to feel that they take safety seriously - minus the cobwebs in the light in our room everything was very clean. - No mirror at all in the room so you have to use the bathroom mirror where the is no plug sockets for the hair dryer. For 5 star hotel to have forgotten that guests usually need a mirror near a plug socket for hair dryer/other hair tools is poor. - The tv remote didn’t work unless you stood a couple of inches from the tv so you can’t flick through channels in bed. When we asked the staff, they apologised and said they were aware and to stand directly in front of the tv if you want to change channel. For a 5 star hotel charging £650+ per night we would expect them to fix known problems. - We couldn’t have dinner in the restaurant as they were full at the time we wanted dinner - best to book in advance. We were happy to eat at the Churchill bar which was stunning. The food was tasty and we both enjoyed what we ordered (steak frites/risotto). Drinks selection was great (pricey but worth it for the setting) as was the service. My only niggle here was that we asked if we could have a dessert from the restaurant menu. We were told we couldn’t. Odd considering there is one kitchen. Other establishments such as the Four Seasons Hampshire are happy to oblige such requests so I’m not sure what the reasoning was for this. - On check in we weren’t made aware of what was included in terms of breakfast as part of our room rate. When we asked at breakfast, we were told that the English breakfast was included but at checkout we had extra charges applied. It was a minimal charge of £10. However, out of principle we advised them that the restaurant had said the full English was included. Rather embarrassingly for them they went to go check with the restaurant. I think there’s some training required so the service is up to par with the quality of the property. My husband was adamant that this was a 2 star experience for the price paid. I think 3 is fairer as there are positives but they really need to do better given the standard of other 5 star UK properties. This simply isn’t at the level you would expect...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarek Wojtania, Guest Services / Front Office at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire
Responded Dec 20, 2020
Dear KR42019, Thank you so much for your honest feedback following your recent stay at the Langley, a Luxury Collection Hotel. As Front of House Manager I always appreciate guests’ comments and I am glad you shared many positive aspects of your stay as well. Our Grade II listed hotel is located in the middle of magnificent Langley Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Main House rooms, however we are sorry to hear that not everything was up to our usual high standard. I will make sure your comments are shared with relevant departments. COVID-19 safety is of paramount importance to us in those difficult times, therefore we are so grateful that you noticed and appreciated all the precautions we implemented to keep our guests and staff members safe. I do hope to welcome you back to the Langley soon. Kind regards, Jarek Wojtania Front of House Manager
Read more
oxontheroad wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom55 contributions6 helpful votes
Leisure stay in December. Outstanding property, recently opened, and clearly refurbished to a demanding specification. Nice walks around neighbouring Langley park (with a cafe serving hot food and drinks) and lake, with Wellington boots provided if needed. Well-appointed rooms (stayed in the main building), and excellent swimming pool and gym facilities (with great care taken to observe COVID-19 precautions). Dinner was ordered from room service, and breakfast taken in the Cedar restaurant - both attentively prepared and promptly served. Special thanks to Gosia and all her colleagues for an enjoyable stay, and look forward to returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarek Wojtania, Guest Services / Front Office at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire
Responded Dec 20, 2020
Dear oxontheroad, Thank you for awarding us 5 out of 5 following your recent experience at the Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel. We are thrilled to read that you loved your stay at our hotel located in the middle of a breath-taking Langley Park. Our award winning Langley Spa is indeed one of the largest and best underground spas in Europe. Our strict COVID-19 precautions are meant to keep all our guests reassured that we are doing out utmost to keep everybody safe during this difficult times, so I am especially grateful that you appreciated them in your review. I have passed your lovely comments to Gosia and my colleagues and I hope to welcome you back to the Langley in near future. Kind regards, Jarek Wojtania Front of House Manager
Read more
Tobias Smith wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom24 contributions12 helpful votes
Overall a nice stay, but at this price point they should be doing much much better. The hotel building and grounds are amazing, with rooms equally as nice (as you would expect). However we came away with an overall negative experience and would not return based on the quality of the main restaurant’s food and the staff’s attitude to complaint handling. The food is simply nowhere near a match to its price point. If you charge Michelin star prices, then your food and service must match. It gets nowhere near it. During our dinner, we were one of 3 couples who complained of various issues. Personally, we sent back one main course (hugely overcooked) and 2 deserts (cold cakes that had obviously been just taken from the fridge and tarted up a bit). Granted, the staff were fine in dealing with replacements but a restaurant of this supposed standard would (and should) be embarrassed by this and rectify accordingly. £20 off the bill at this price price point to compensate for a ruined experience is frankly a joke and would be handled much more professionally at hotels restaurants of a similar standard. I commented twice at reception and drew a similarly “not bothered” reaction from the reception staff. Go and stay, but just do yourself a favour and don’t eat there!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarek Wojtania, Guest Services / Front Office at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire
Responded Dec 19, 2020
Dear tobiass130, Thank you so much for sharing your experience following your recent stay. We are glad that you found the hotel and its grounds to be amazing, however we are sorry to hear about your experience in Cedar Restaurant. Our Food & Beverage Director, Mr Giuseppe Ruo will personally get in contact with you. We do hope to welcome you back to the Langley. Kind regards, Jarek Wojtania Front Of House Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$447 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireIver
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire
Which popular attractions are close to The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle (4.7 miles), Battle of Britain Bunker (3.0 miles), and St. George's Chapel (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ottimmo Bao Bao, Bella Italia Uxbridge, and La Belle Epoque.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. George's Chapel (4.7 miles), Windsor & Royal Borough Museum (4.8 miles), and St Margaret's Church (2.5 miles).
Is The Langley, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buckinghamshire accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.