We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 308: English reviews
Start your review of Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
 Click to rate
Crathorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Celebratory family meal. 2 course restaurant meal was overall very nice. Service was good and all in a nice atmosphere relaxed atmosphere. One cause for concern is that the 'Small Chicken on the main menu came with the string still in place and had not been removed prior to cooking. The price for food and drink is in my view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiemicho
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kiemicho Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Chapters Hotel. We have taken your comment on board regarding the Baby Chicken dish and have set procedures in place so this does not happen again. We are pleased to see that you did enjoy your time with us and we look forward to seeing you...

San Antonio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Room 9. Very friendly staff and quaint hotel. Wifi excellent. Free breakfast that is not buffet. Pub attached with food which was excellent. No lift so beware if you have large bags. All in all a very good place to stay! Enjoyed it immensely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonard O
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Leonard O, Thank you for taking the time to review Chapters. We are over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit. Being an 250 year old listed building, Chapters does come with some restrictions and spacial issues i.e nowhere for a lift to...

Reviewed January 20, 2017

The hotel is very presentable from the outside and the staff are just as friendly as you enter the reception. The room was very clean and well stocked with all the comforts you could expect from a room in most major hotel chains. The breakfast, included in the price, was very well received and included a relatively impressive choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Lee M Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are over the moon that you have enjoyed your time with us and we really do appreciate your comments We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area again Regards Jeff & The Team

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

The place the staff the food the ambiance the room was everything we'd hoped ! It was such a lovely stay... I suffer with with cardiac issues and we were on the top floor which really needed a lift ! Either that or someone helping to take your luggage up the stairs for you.. You must stay here though -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattjd2016
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mattjd2016 Thank you for taking the time to review We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please let us know next time you are staying and we will endeavour to accommodate you on the first floor. Regards Jeff & The Team

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

I booked a surprise night away at this hotel which was recommended by a work colleague for my girlfriend and I between Xmas and new year, just to recharge our batteries after the hustle and bustle of the festive period. On arrival the car park directly opposite the hotel is free which is a bonus and the check in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andymiddleton
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Andymiddleton Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us Room 14 is one of the most popular rooms in the hotel and we love that our guests like the quirkiness feel that the 250 year old building brings with it. We...

Bebside
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We returned to one of our favourite haunts, cold December day, the market was on and as usual we had booked room 14, which needs careful negotiating up several flights of stairs, sharp turns etc etc. The reception we got was as usual very good, dropped the cases of and went for a walk around the old town and market...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun William B
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Shaun William B, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and that you will be returning... I have passed your comments onto the whole team and especially re the light bulbs for Room 14 to our maintenance manager, who in turn has...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Just returned from an overnight stay at Chapters with the gourmet package. This is the third time we've stayed near Christmas and were a little concerned about the change of ownership and wondered if it would be as good as previous years. Got to say that our weekend was every bit as good. The rooms were lovely, they were clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sandra E Thank you for this brilliant review of your recent stay with us... We are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and we are even more pleased to hear that you will be returning again.. I have passed your comments onto the whole team Best Wishes Jeff & The team

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 9, 2016

I had an impromptu night away arranged by my partner for my upcoming birthday and she chose this little gem in the market town. From arrival to departure everything was amazing and there was nothing that I could fault. The hotel is a small hotel with about 15 rooms but the service received is so good that I wouldn't book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavin185
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Gavin185 Thank you for this amazing review! Wow we are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future if you are in the area. Regards Jeff and the nteam

Reviewed December 4, 2016

We have been visiting Chapters for a pre Christmas treat for several years and have never been disappointed ..... until this year. The visit was planned to be a birthday celebration but we were unaware that the management had changed. I should point out that everything written below has been passed on to the hotel already. On arrival we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadders1
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Nadders1 Thank you for letting us know about the shower in the room, we have had the situation rectified. I have spoken with the whole team regarding your stay along with the comments you made about the food. As you mentioned, you did speak to a member of staff in the morning about your issues. That member of the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Very disappointing. Small room, shower head couldn't be attached to the wall and the shower itself didn't work after the first shower. The towels were either unlaundered or had been put through the wash with no detergent so were smelly. Ended up having to go downstairs to get some more towels and washing my hair in the sink. Great way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nsar11
ChaptersTeam, General Manager at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Nsar11, We are sorry to hear about your experience at Chapters.. I have spoken with the team regarding all of your comments and would like to respond.. We have placed a call regarding the Shower to our maintenance team, as I believe when one of our colleagues came to the room, it worked fine. The towels - it has...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (119)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
204 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,350 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
824 reviews
6.2 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
519 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Price Range: $86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chapters Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 14 if you can make it, great little room where none of the floor is actually level”
 of 5 bubbles ShaunWilliamB, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1, 2 & 14 are Executive rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 396sandrae, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Ask about room size when booking as some will be smaller than others.”
 of 5 bubbles grimnod1, Aug 12, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an executive room. They are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles zimmerman013, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“Not sure executive rooms worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles davidbS1365ZA, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question