We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Rising Sun Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rising Sun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited here for Sunday lunch with the family and had a lovely meal. We were seated immediately and were treated with great views across the valley. I'm surprised about recent comments on here regarding poor service - this is not what we experienced at all. The young man who looked after us was friendly, attentive and professional. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nally87
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner & I have been going here for years as it's on our way home & unfortunately we will now not return again. We went end of June for food ordered at the bar, checked on my receipt & my order was wrong so had to go back to change it then waited 35mins to then be told they... More 

Helpful?
Thank tiffany c
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

So Sorry to hear of this experience, I take great pride in the customer service we offer here at The Rising Sun and I will be sure to look into your comments and speak to my Duty Managers. If you could give me further details I would really appreciate it. Sorry again Simon Jones More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Rising Sun several times in the past as it's close to a customer I have to visit regularly. Generally it's been ok - it's not going to set the culinary or hospitality world on fire, but it was comfortable with a pub serving reasonable food. Unfortunately it's pretty clear things have gone downhill, as my stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colz
Simon J, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

So Sorry to hear of this experience with us, I will be speaking to my Chef who was on breakfast regarding this and also the team that were working in the evening. I have also spoken to my Hotel Manager who checked you out and spoke to you upon your departure and we are both extremely sorry that you didn't... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
494 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'd spent the day at Sudeley Castle and wanted somewhere to eat - unfortunately and perhaps surprisingly we were unable to find anywhere suitable in Winchcombe - places were either closed/no space/naff menus. Nearly drove straight past the Rising Sun as it's situated on a rise and easy to miss. The car park has reasonable capacity and the restaurant is... More 

Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback. Sorry about the fly, but good to hear Alex dealt with it quickly and efficiently. I hope we will see you again in the near future. Simon More 

Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night. The sun came out late afternoon and we sat in the garden with a drink. The view is beautiful. The room was nice. It did look a bit dated. The main road is very noisy. We felt that the food could have been better. Our local is an Old English pub so we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 783cherlc
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. Sorry to hear the food did not live up to expectations. Simon Jones More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a shambles arrived for our booking Sunday went to the bar no lemonade.Sat down and ordered meals had a prawn cocktail starter well never seen anything like it.About six prawns bit of lettuce and to top it of two pieces of sliced budget bread with rock had two chunks of butter.The main meal rib of beef,stringy not the word... More 

Helpful?
Thank kmck1952_km
Simon J, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately our Coca Cola system broke down over the weekend and Coke were unable to fix it. I will look into the other comments especially the quality of the Beef Rib as this is normally a very popular and well received meal. Thank you again Simon Jones More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for a beer having had a walk on Cleeve common. Great location overlooking Cheltenham and the Gloucestershire plane. great views. On a sunny Saturday afternoon though there was one girl on the bar trying to do everything. Which made bar service slow. We decided not to stop for food.

Helpful?
Thank Andywoo1971
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your Feedback, Saturday certainly did catch us out with Thunderstorms forecast all day when I checked in the morning to one of the best days of both June and so far in July, it did appear that lots of people decided to make the most of it! Sorry about the delay. Simon More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good points- Stunning views, most of the staff very friendly and helpful, satisfactory breakfast, beer garden, decent pub food in bar, Live music on a Friday which many of the guests enjoyed Bad points - bathroom not very clean upon arrival with hairs in sink and bath yuk!, terrible damp smell in bathroom and not the prettiest bathroom. Didn't want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura T
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I have double checked on my system and the original booking from Booking.com was for 2 adults in a double room. I am unsure how this mistake has been made but please accept my apologies. Simon Jones More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Restaurant with relatives again last week and were very let down by poor service, over an hour wait for food is not acceptable. I have to say that this only seems to occur in the evenings, especially at weekends or a Friday night. I have been here many times usually at lunch time and had a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank 24Bobbie
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, On Friday gone we did have a rather unexpected influx of people due to the sun making an unscheduled appearance! We called extra team in and managed to reduce our delay on food to within 30 minutes by around 7pm. I am sorry that we did make you wait but I am sure you appreciated that... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked nice and early at the rising sun for a fathers day treat for my partners dad, my grandad and myself to avoid disappointment. We had a confirmation email saying the booking had gone through and even rang up 2 days before just to make sure. When arriving we were greeted by a moody young lady who asked if... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
Simon J, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear this. I would really appreciate you contacting me so that we can discuss further and so that I may re-train the people you had dealings with. Please accept my most sincere apologies Simon Jones More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
1.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 21 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
3.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#3 of 21 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 21 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#16 of 21 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $98 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay