We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rising Sun Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rising Sun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I drove up Cleeve HIll today to indulge in a little New Year Sunday lunch and I was not disappointed. The pork loin as pefectly cooked, so tender and tasty and the roast veggies (parsnip and potatoes) were so crispy... The view from the restaurant is lovely, even on such a damp and dreary day... Finally all the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Shadforth
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner stayed here for two nights over Christmas. This hotel is situated on Cleve Hill with a view down over Cheltenhan Race course to the Malvern Hills in the distance. The rooms are large and spacious but there are a lot of steps inside due to the age of the building so not really suitable for people with mobility...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorP1956
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you, I am glad your partner had a relaxing time with us. Hope to see you both again soon. Simon Jones

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First impression, bedroom furniture dated and worn. However: clean,white,soft bedding and towels, plenty of hot water, the room was a warm comfortable temperature and was very clean. Corridors and communal areas very clean. Staff efficient, helpful and friendly, bar and restaurant service very good. Food and drink well presented and value for money. A busy bar welcoming walkers, ramblers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for the review, I will be sure to pass it on! Simon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel for a two night break .From arriving we were made to feel very welcome ,the girl on reception was very helpful and check in was quick . Our room was very clean and warm and the view was amazing .We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was very good and all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aggs321
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was great as usual, never had a bad meal. When we arrived the bar staff had no idea what drinks were available. The staff were more interested in eating behind the bar than serving the customers. A very unpleasant experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emzybear21
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for this information, I will certainly be looking into it. Simon Jones

Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a pleasure to always support this place while travelling in The Cotswolds. Staff are lovely, food is good, view is amazing, clean, free parking... need I say more? Do yourself a big favour and pop in for a meal or just a drink. I highly recommend putting aside enough time to soak up the beautiful view, regardless of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev1409
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! Simon

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to book in for a special family Boxing Day meal. After having had many enjoyable meals here we were really looking forward it, unfortunately the food really let it down, and after speaking to the staff it was very obvious that they weren't that bothered either. Very doubtful of a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 772Kate_b
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to here this, I do hope the many enjoyable meals outweigh tis poor experience and that you return to us, If you wish to contact me direct please feel free. Simon Jones

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was offered this hotel as an alternative to our usual one at Birdlip by "Olde English Inns" Central Reservations Office. We requested a "dog friendly" room and got the last one. I also asked the "Res.Office" if it would be possible to reserve a table in the bar as opposed to the restaurant as we had the dog. The Advisor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff G
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for the feedback. We do not take bookings in the bar as a general rule, but we do try to cater for all of our guests. I am sorry my team member could not get Sofie any quicker for you. Simon Jones

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub on the lead up to Christmas. It is a regular after a walk on Cleeve Common. As per usual, it was packed and under staffed. This time, we were spoken to quite rudely, with a slow blink and no eye contact (what I like to call the alternative eye rolling gesture). Staff are clearly run off their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydays9980
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to here this, with the exceptionally dry and bright weather we did find ourselves a little busier than expected, I am sorry you felt like your custom was not wanted and were not spoken too appropriately. Simon

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in this hotel a few times over the past years, and although it's not perfect, we like the views from the rooms, the pleasant staff, the delicious breakfasts and being able to have an inexpensive evening meal without going far afield. The room was a little small, but was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane527
Simon J, General Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback, I will pass it on to my team. Simon Jones

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (131)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
5.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,529 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
431 reviews
3.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Price Range: $72 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel England, UK - Cleeve Hill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Rising Sun Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rising Sun Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stunning views at the front of the hotel, upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles janiceh386, 5 days ago | Read review
“room with the four poster and view”
 of 5 bubbles davidwA260WI, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view!”
 of 5 bubbles dulzdin, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor on the front”
 of 5 bubbles 312RobertW312, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 is a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles Wes_Charles, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay