We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Gimo Herrgard

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gimo Herrgard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Very beautiful place. Main building with charm. Restaurant good. Not amazing but correct. You can take a bike complimentary to go to the lake, 2 minutes far. Rooms quite cosy, you feel like a sir! Bed comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank JSCDM
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We booked a evening here to end our summer vacation. We came on a monday, spent the day by the pier next to "spa" house. Not to many things to do by the spa, you have 2 out door jacuzzis with heated water. and the possibility to swim in the lake, sauna indoor. There is a quite big bar in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToPi03
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear ToPi03, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and took the opportunity to visit Sjöstugan and enjoy the surroundings. You are absolutely right about The Sjöstugan bar which is closed on Mondays. We are, however, always able to arrange drinks and snacks... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We went there with my job for a conference and it was a rather nice experience. The hotel is located by a lake so one can take some nice strolls. The rooms were large and comfortable with a jacuzzi. I liked wondering in the rooms and corridors at night as they are decorated like an old castle with heavy furniture,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Asterixos
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Asterixos, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you hade a pleasant stay with us during your conference. And you are absolutely right, the hotel is haunted by old Lady Sofia who wanders the corridors at night making mischief directed at married men (whom she cannot trust) that are... More 

Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Main building is an old catle, well keeped, with long stairs, big vintage saloons on the first floor. At ground floor the reception and the restaurant, very elegant. The food is very well prepared, tasty, original and expensive. As usual in these cases you don't eat a lot! At the wall in the restaurant room you can watch really original... More 

Helpful?
Thank paolo m
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear paolo m, Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us during your business trip. I wish you all the best and should you visit northern Uppland or the Roslagen region again then we would be thrilled to have you as our guest. Kind regards, Mathias More 

Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Worst food experience in a long time… Four courses and none of them were eatable, we actually left the restaurant hungry, as we had to send all 4 courses back in the kitchen untouched - disgusting. Breakfast was lousy, no fresh bread, nor fresh fruit. Don´t go there - as in EVER!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank sandraS7467CD
Mathias S, Chef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

This review has been reported to Tripadvisor for investigation of fraud. The hotel has no intention to respond to this review and awaits Tripadvisor's decision whether or not to keep this review published. More 

Travelers are raving about these Gimo hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

My review of Gimo Herrgard is mixed. When we first arrived, we were shown to dated rooms on a high floor -- with no lift and we had many bags being five people staying in Sweden for a week -- one of which was exceedingly hot. We politely asked to switch rooms on the ground that the people in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mom_to_Zoe
Mathias S, Chef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Mom_to_Zoe, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Gimo Herrgård. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that my colleagues promptly handled your request for a room change. A standard room with extra beds was requested and hence you were given that first room. All four buildings at... More 

Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

We (9 people) were very pleased with our stay. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. We also had very good dinner and breakfast and were very pleased with the service. The place is very charming and very well maintained near to a lake and in the middle of a park. The rooms are clean and welcoming, but remember... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grand_Polet
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Grand_Polet, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay at Gimo Herrgård and enjoyed professional and friendly service in a charming and well maintained setting. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and on behalf of the entire... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

This is a very well kept country estate with plenty of options ranging from standard rooms to exclusive suites. We stayed in a standard room which was, well, standard for the price we paid. Be advised that not all rooms are in the main building, but in other buildings spread around the grounds. The standard room we lived in was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Andreas B, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had the opportunity to sample some great food in the restaurant. I agree that the whitefish ceviche is really something extra. You are absolutely right that all rooms are not... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We had a lovely stay with our extended family in celebrating a birthday in style. Excellent food and hospitality, friendly and professional staff, comfortable rooms. Warmly recommended for family and group visits, conferences or romantic getaways.

Helpful?
Thank Hallonorn
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Hallonorn, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us at Gimo Herrgård and enjoyed both excellent food and hospitality. It has been a pleasure having you as our guest and on behalf of the team I would like to welcome you back to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

Despite intermittent rain, we have really enjoyed our time at Gimo Herrgord. We booked a romantic package and had a character room in the mansion, complete with a half bottle of champagne on arrival. The meal in the restaurant was excellent; the best hotel food we had in Sweden. I'm really looking forward to this evening's menu. You can walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aint_Momma_Happy
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Aint_Momma_Happy, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your time here at Gimo Herrgård. It's been a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again. On behalf of the entire team I would like to to wish you an enjoyable continuation of your summer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimo
22.7 mi away
Hotell Havsbaden
Hotell Havsbaden
#1 of 1 in Grisslehamn
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kragga Herrgard
Kragga Herrgard
#1 of 4 in Balsta
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
18.2 mi away
No photo provided
Langers Hotell
#1 of 1 in Hallstavik
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Pensionat Ankargarden
Pensionat Ankargarden
#2 of 5 in Oregrund
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
8.5 mi away
Norrskedika Hotel - Gamla Jarnhandeln
8.9 mi away
Villa Osthammar
Villa Osthammar
#4 of 7 in Osthammar
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gimo Herrgård is Sweden's first Gustavian Manor and was built in the 1760's - the iron work heydays. Today it is a four star hotel featuring 88 rooms and suites with ensuite bathrooms, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 4 meeting rooms for up to 110 persons and five different dining rooms and chambres separées. Gimo Herrgård also features an on-site tennis court, a rope course 14 meters up in the air, a 100 meter zip-line and the Sjöstugan SPA. Several golf courses are within a few minutes' drive.Gimo Herrgård is a member of Chaine des Rotisseurs, Historic Hotels of Europe, Countryside Hotels and Svenska Möten. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gimo Herrgard

Address: Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Gimo
Price Range: $168 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gimo Herrgard 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Gimo Herrgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay