We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara

Save
Share
Al Ruwais, Sir Bani Yas Island United Arab Emirates
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Ultra All - Inclusive Package
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$1,140
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1126)
360
Panoramas (24)
Videos (12)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/27/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Updated 10/27/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Sir Bani Yas Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
With 64 luxuriously appointed rooms, suites, spacious one-bedroom villas and truly luxurious two-bedroom Royal Villas, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara invites you to live out your own Arabian nights in a destination that is anything but ordinary. 240km from Abu Dhabi City and just eight kilometers off the Abu Dhabi emirate’s western coastline, the island beckons with a mystique that is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of modern urban life.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Concierge
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Afrikaans and 7 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Ultra All - Inclusive Package

Location

Full view
1252Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 835
  • 250
  • 103
  • 44
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cian wrote a review Nov 13
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions1 helpful vote
Takes a bit of time to get here between ferry and bus journey. Would recommend getting the 10:30 am ferry on Friday if you can to make the most of your day. Very warm welcomes and check in was quick. Rooms are beautiful. Comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in and so many amenities. The breakfast buffet is incredible and I could have stayed there eating all day. Dinner restaurants are quite expensive and drinks outside happy hour also expensive. It is a real getaway and just complete revitalization experience. For the price, it is a once off and I wouldn’t do it again but it was a lovely staycation. I didn’t do any of the excursions or activities as I feel as though they are overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CianO123 We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly pleased by the hospitality and genuine service from our team. Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and have been passed on to our team who were thrilled to learn about you great experience and appreciative comments. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We are very much looking forward to welcoming back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts. Sincerely Management Team
Read more
TheDutch4 wrote a review Feb 2020
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates48 contributions52 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I had of course seen the pictures and read the (mixed) reviews. Was expecting the pictures to be flattering, as so often the case and put my expectations on the hotel at the low end of the spectrum. Now here's our experience. First: we had perfect weather conditions, blue skies, pleasant temperatures so could spend maximum time outside. After a leisurely drive from Dudai (long but easy thanks to expanded motor way) we arrived at the Jetty. All well signposted, staff picking up the luggage, smooth check in with drinks and snacks and plenty of parking. The Ferry left more or less on time and crew allowed us to stay outside. Short but pleasant trip, with some totally unexpected dolphins when we approached the island. Smooth bus transfer to the hotel. We saw the villas en route, but although higher luxury and privacy, a bit too remote for our taste. Despite all guests arriving at the same time (many, as it was a Friday), check-in was quick and pleasant. Loved the spacious room, high ceiling, nice decoration, comfortable huge bed. On top a very large balcony with stunning Sea View plus garden below with peacocks, birds and dassies (rock hyraxes). We enjoyed nights of best sleep thanks to bed, balcony and doors opening to quiet surroundings and sea waves. Lunch at Al Shams was so good and our waiter Alisher so perfect that we decided to forget about other options and also have dinner there. Head Chef Mahmoud of all restaurants on site has some marvellous kitchen staff, as all food in all restaurants was wonderful and nicely presented. Read about the high prices, but honestly nothing out of range in terms of food and grapes when comparing to similar level in Abu Dhabi or Dubai. Very nice and quiet natural beach, beautiful albeit somewhat shallow pool. In terms of activities we enjoyed the free bikes (excellent condition, nice bike pro and worth stopping and exploring frequently around flamingo lagoon, surrounding hills and sea shore (we missed the sharks). We also did the Wadi walk with perfect guide Owen and the Wildlife drive with super pro Kate. The variety in nature and quantity of animals was stunning. We expected not too much, we got everything and more. Tad expensive for families, but well worth it. If you don't participate in the activities, you might as well bok a Dubai resort, as most excitement is in the fenced of wildlife park covering half of the island. Another dinner in Amway restaurant with professional and fun service from Jeeresh and a truly magnificent seafood meal from chef Yugi who came checking on us multiple times to get our feedback. Most have been easy, as it was 10 out of 10. Only small comment was that the resort allows little kids to use their loud iPads and game machines in the restaurants. This is bad for the kids, it spoils the chance of family dialogue and joint dining experience and spoils the fun for the other guests. Like many others we rushed to the terrace, which turned about to be a blessing, as the dinner on the sea front was magical, with bon fire and modes live music and dance. Pleasant check out with Michelle who also managed to recover some (unfortunately not all) of the items we left after a somewhat rushed departure. We were entirely to blame, as we pushed our unwanted departure to the last minute. Could have easily spent a week or more. Thanks to Sheikh Zayed for his vision and the Anantara staff for a magnificent experience. Highly recommended and we must come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear TheDutch4, Warm Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts, We would like to thank you for rewarding us with such a good review and for choosing us during your recent getaway. It is so nice to see how the team had looked after you from the start till the end and we all appreciate the nice words and rest assured that your feedback will be conveyed to the team and everyone will be recognised for their excellent job. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be very happy to assist you with any further arrangements. Warm Regards Rachid Bakas Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Richard wrote a review Nov 12
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates22 contributions10 helpful votes
We last visited in the middle of the Summer when it really was unpleasantly hot! Returning in October for a night proved to be the perfect temperature for a memorable visit. We were upgraded to a 3rd Floor Suite which was spacious and had all the facilities you could want. There was a large balcony with views of the ocean. We treated ourselves to a ‘Dining by Design’ experience at the Al Yamm Villa Resort on the other side of Sir Bani Yas Island. We were given a mini safari experience on the drive from the hotel and then had a sumptuous dinner under the stars. The chef was able to accommodate my Wife’s vegetarian requests and our only complaint is that there was so much food!!!!!! Breakfast was delicious, there were plenty of staff to ensure COVID protocols were being followed and we were able to sit outside amongst the peacocks and the occasional deer. As with all Anantara hotels we have stayed at the staff were very friendly and always helpful and tried their best to accommodate us. Special mention to: Mon who offered a complimentary massage on arrival. Michelle and Maria on Front of House, Shubham who helped us to our room and was on hand to deal with our requests. Angel had helped customise our experience prior to arrival and Tina was our waitress at the Dining by Design. Chef Mbye made sure we certainly weren’t hungry! Jessna in breakfast welcomed us back as if we had never left. Special mention must go to Gerard who drove us to and from the other resort and provided us with a knowledgeable guided tour of the island and it’s wildlife. Overall, it’s certainly not a cheap hotel and it’s a long drive from Dubai or Abu Dhabi, but it’s an experience that everyone living in UAE should try if at all possible….
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to arrive as early as possible (1st boat 1200?) and ask for a late checkout so that you get...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Richard Hillard Warm Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts We would like to thank you for rewarding us with such a good review and for choosing us during your recent getaway. It is so nice to see how the team had looked after you from the start till the end and we all appreciate the nice words and rest assured that your feedback will be conveyed to the team and everyone will be recognized for their excellent job. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon Warm regards Management Team
Read more
drathel888 wrote a review Nov 11
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates1 contribution
Had an overnight stay with my friends and we must say it was unforgettable experience. The team upon arrival and departure made our stay enjoyable and comfortable. And the nature and wildlife drive is one for the books. I will surely comeback again if my schedule permits.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear drathel888 Thank you for taking the time to complete the review following your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly pleased by the hospitality and genuine service from our team. Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and have been passed on to our team who were thrilled to learn about you great experience and appreciative comments. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We are very much looking forward to welcoming your return to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts in the near future for another memorable experience. Sincerely Management Team
Read more
Vipin P wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall the stay for 2 nights was wonderful with a friendly staff to pamper, excellent cleanliness and quality of services provided, excellent spa experience and wildlife was just superb to encounter with animals so close. I would definetely recommend this hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Vipin P Warm Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts We do appreciate taking your time to share your experience with us following your stay. And what a beautiful and sweet review. I am pretty sure the team will be thrilled getting such a review and as a management, we will ensure those mentioned names and the rest of the team obviously will be praised and recognized for their excellent job. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing experience. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$203 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desert islands resort & spa by anantara hotel sir bani yas island, desert islands resort and spa by anantara, desert islands hotel
LOCATION
United Arab EmiratesEmirate of Abu DhabiSir Bani Yas Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Savannah Grill, Olio, and Amwaj.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara have airport transportation?
Yes, Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Hindi, Thai, Arabic, Vietnamese, and Filipino.