We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Al Ruwais, Sir Bani Yas Island United Arab Emirates
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!All Inclusive Discovery Package
Expedia.com
$272
View deal
Booking.com
$257
View deal
Trip.com
$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/13/22
Hotels.com$272
Anantara.com$233
getaroom.com$334
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1173)
360
Panoramas (24)
Videos (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/27/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Updated 10/27/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Sir Bani Yas Island
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
With 64 luxuriously appointed rooms, suites, spacious one-bedroom villas and truly luxurious two-bedroom Royal Villas, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara invites you to live out your own Arabian nights in a destination that is anything but ordinary. 240km from Abu Dhabi City and just eight kilometers off the Abu Dhabi emirate’s western coastline, the island beckons with a mystique that is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of modern urban life.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Afrikaans and 7 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:All Inclusive Discovery Package

Location

Full view
Contact
Al Ruwais, Sir Bani Yas Island United Arab Emirates
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Abu Dhabi Intl Airport130 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1283Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 855
  • 255
  • 107
  • 45
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JK2travel wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates218 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
It really feels like you’re traveling outside of the UAE. It’s a bit of drive from Dubai to get there but a nice change. We arrived with super fast speedboat 10min & came back with older slow ferry 25min. We had some sweets & fruits when we arrived and 30 min later a staff came and collected them away saying those were old for VIP guests. So I guess we were eating old someone else’s treats 🤢. They were replaced with 3 plums. I called and asked from the receptionist that what happened but never got answers. Was a bit weird! The location is lovely, we spent our time on the beach which is 5 min walk away from the main hotel. The staff was really lovely and brought us cold water. The restaurant evening menu was a bit small so we ended up ordering in room dining.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear JKtravel Greetings from Sir Bani Yas Resorts It was a pleasure having you stay with us recently, and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your kind words. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have investigated your feedback concerning the amenities & boat transfer and are taking necessary measures to ensure our typically high standards are maintained. Providing memorable experiences along with exceptional service is our goal and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon and improve your experience. Sincerely Management Team
Read more
Hitz wrote a review Dec 2021
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates5 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Excellent place to spend couple nights with family within UAE. The resort is kids friendly and there are ample of activities for kids. The hotel staff pampered us and made our stay even more memorable ! Definitely it is on 'must visit' staycation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Dec 26, 2021
Dear hit2020 Warm Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts Thank you for taking the time to complete the review following your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were particularly pleased with the hospitality and genuine service from our team members, and we will recognize their excellent job. We are very much looking forward to welcoming your return to Anantara Sir Bani Yas soon. Best regards, Management Team
Read more
Buffy A wrote a review Jul 2022
Singapore, Singapore20 contributions23 helpful votes
Positive highlights: 1. Staff are courteous, friendly and professional (e.g., ashri, Michelle, ping, Abigail from DIRS; Camille and Delilah from olio at al yamm) from the moment of arrival to the point of departure. Housekeeping staff is attentive, accommodating and serves fast. 2. Camille, Delilah and chef jalal from olio al yamm are attentive to customer’s dish requests. Chef jalal was nice enough to check with us on our feedback with his dish creation. Areas for improvement: 1. The room next door to us (room 416) had their tv on full volume from midnight to 3 am when all hotel residents are sleeping. I raised this issue with the Reception team in charge at 2 am, but they did not do anything. In short, I lost one night of sleep. 2. Although the chef at olio is very receptive to customer requests, the chefs at the Palm could have been more friendly, accommodating and engaging as they just stood there like a tree (eg., chef khaled).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid the summer if you can as it is even too hot to go to the beach or swimming pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Buffy A Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us Your feedback is much appreciated, and we are delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for praising our team members, including Asri, Michelle, Ping, Abigail, Camille, Delilah & Chef Jalal who you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about how the team handled your issue and how the Palm team was not accommodating and engaging to you. Your comments have been shared with the team and actions will be taken to ensure the problems you experienced in the future are never repeated. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
SassyChrissy wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
Hi, We had a 3 Night stay in which we Enjoyed alot. Had an amazing WildLife Drive, where we Loved to see 🦒 We had Dinner in Alsams Restaurant, where their Arabic Cuisine was Mouthwatering and Overall Staff were very good & always Helpful. But our Stay was Spoilt on our day of Check Out when we went for early Morning Breakfast, there was a Buffet so we took our Meal and after Meal were waiting for someone to approach and ask for a Coffee. There were this 2 Staff(a COUPLE) Sonia & Kamraan who were standing in Front Entrance & Talking for nearly ½Hour. They were there even since when we also entered, the Lady Welcomed us and went back to Gossip without offering us Coffee, we were continously watching them, but no one even came an asked us for a Cup of Coffee. Me & my Husband were really Disappointed & had our Breakfast and left without having Coffee. This Resort has to really train their Staff, should not keep Couples in one Place. Coz 1 day u enjoy the Ambience and Service of a Resort and suddenly you are Disappointed coz of 1 bad Service. Thanks Chrissy
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Dear Ms. Chrissy We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my apologies that you left our hotel feeling disappointed. Rest assured we have investigated your feedback concerning the service at Palm Restaurant and are taking necessary action to ensure our typically high standards are retained. We are committed to providing memorable experiences with exceptional service and therefore we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve on your experience soon. Best regards, Management Team
Read more
redandwhite1 wrote a review Jun 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates6 contributions1 helpful vote
We travelled with our 2 young children (1y & 4y) from Abu Dhabi and we all had an amazing time. The resort was very quiet in June (2 nights Saturday to Monday), and we received excellent service. The wildlife drive is a must! Hot and sweaty but so amazing to see so many animals. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa and it was so very spacious: huge ensuite bathroom plus a powder room, separate kitchen (fridge, freezer, microwave, stove, sink), dining table and living room, separate bedroom with king bed (plus baby crib they provided), and huge back garden that included private plunge pool. Discounted for summer villa special. My husband and I each had an amazing massage in the spa. We loved seeing so many gazelles and other animals walking around the resort (including a beautiful friendly peacock at the breakfast restaurant and families of little groundhog-looking animals). Delicious dinner at the seafood restaurant. Good selection at the breakfast buffet restaurant. We enjoyed the burgers for in-room dining. Beautiful infinity pool. Lovely beach though somewhat rocky (kids wore water shoes). The staff were all so kind to our curious 4 year old. Very accomodating and we were able to both check in early and check out late. It felt like a real holiday despite being only about 2 hour drive (plus 15 minute boat transfer) from Abu Dhabi city. (Tip: fuel up because there is a stretch over 100km with no gas stations on the drive back!)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Jul 2, 2022
Dear redandwhite1 Warm Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts Thank you for taking the time to complete the review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us and your appreciation of the hospitality and genuine service from our team members. We will definitely give them recognition for their outstanding effort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas soon. Best regards, Management Team
Read more
Sagar P wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
We had a 2 day stay which was absolutely spectacular. The room, view, breakfast, 5 stars. However you cant expect anything less from Anantara. The feather in the cap was the service provided by Thilanka from housekeeping. He ensured all our requirements were met without being asked. Such a kind warm person. A big thanks to him. And we cant end the review without mentioning Delano, our safari guide, very formative. Made our safari delightful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Jul 2, 2022
Dear 15sagarp Thank you for taking the time to complete the review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to learn that we met your expectations. Thank you for your kind praise of our team members, including Thilanka and Delano whom you mentioned. We will ensure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We are very much looking forward to welcoming your return to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts soon for another memorable experience. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Shaycarl123 wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions11 helpful votes
me and my family had the best experience ever. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was a few certain staff members who stood out and went the extra mile to make sure we had the best time. Their names were- Fulani,Sonia, Kamran,shubam and munsif. Thank you for an amazing time we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Jun 4, 2022
Dear Shaycarl123 Thank you for taking the time to complete the review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to learn that we met your expectations. Thank you for your kind praise of our team members, including Fulani,Sonia, Kamran,Shubam and Munsif whom you mentioned. We will ensure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to continue inspiring and motivating them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We are very much looking forward to welcoming your return to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts soon for another memorable experience. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
sweet04 wrote a review May 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates49 contributions68 helpful votes
Beautiful island, feels like being away completely from the hassle of the city. The birds singing, beautiful animals back to nature made our stay a one to remember. A must see is the safari tour thank you to the most informative and entertaining Abdullah who took care of us showing us all the animals around.chef Francis another star at the Savana restaurant , food was super we opted for the savana grill which was one of the best meals we had. It’s difficult to describe in words the experience I strongly recommend a visit to understand the beauty of this resort. Thanks to Jennifer at reception and all team members who all went out of their way to provide a fantastic service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded Jun 4, 2022
Dear sweet04 Warm Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts Thank you for providing us with such a good review and for choosing us during your recent getaway. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that we met your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about our team members, including Chef Francis and Abdellah. We will make sure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to keep inspiring and motivating them. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resorts soon for another wonderful stay. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Hassaan A wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I decided to check out the safari experience offered by the resort. They were kind enough to offer this to us even though we hadn’t booked any nights. Pros Our driver Khalid was lovely and explained all the various wildlife on the safari. Hospitable and warm reception upon our arrival. Cons The Safari is extremely artificial. There is construction work all over the Island and it simply feels like a work in progress. Sadly, there isn’t many variety of animals on the resort, there are plenty of gazelles, peacocks, turkeys, sheep and various breeds of antelopes. Managed to see a few Ostriches and Giraffes. The safari took place at 2pm. Which really isn’t a great time since most the wildlife wants to either remain in the shade or sleep. The safari should only really operate in the morning or evening when the animals are more active. All in all we still enjoyed the experience. That said it wasn’t really worthwhile coming out to the island just for the safari experience. If you’re staying on the resort by all means go for it. However If you’re thinking about doing a day trip for the safari I would give this a pass.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
annecaroline011 wrote a review May 2022
Sao Paulo, SP32 contributions7 helpful votes
Liked · Everything is amazing. Restaurants are expensive but as expected. Disliked · There was none activity included in the cost, and that was a bad surprise as I called the hotel and they said it would include one activity when you book the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Lux. Gorgeous, great experiences, but they know how to charge for it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Other at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Responded May 15, 2022
Dear annecaroline011 Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us. We are sorry to learn about your reservation experience, we assure you that your feedback has been shared with the team and action has been taken to prevent the issues you experienced from recurring & be more evident. Thank you again for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa soon. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$310 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desert islands resort & spa by anantara hotel sir bani yas island, desert islands resort and spa by anantara, desert islands hotel
LOCATION
United Arab EmiratesEmirate of Abu DhabiSir Bani Yas Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Savannah Grill, Olio, and Amwaj.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara have airport transportation?
Yes, Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Hindi, Thai, Arabic, Vietnamese, and Filipino.