We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The White Lion Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The White Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my wife, and all round we had a very good stay. The staff were all welcoming and helpful, so all good on first impressions. The room we had wasn't big, but was plenty big enough for an overnight stay. The bed was comfortable and everything in the room/en-suite was clean and worked. The room also remained... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A C
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

I had a weekday lunch at this village pub with a friend. The menu has a wide choice whether you want a light lunch or something more substantial. The bar meals are served in a small bar area which was quiet on the day we visited. Service was prompt and our waitress was polite. There is also a restaurant available.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

The website menus looked so promising; but not for lunch. A very restricted lunchtime menu which was sadly not representative of their website offers. Would have to go for dinner if sufficiently courageous.

Helpful?
Thank Gerald N
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed at lunchtime,when we run a more restricted bar meal offer and specials board,and hope you may visit in the evening when we run a full a la carte menu.However , we do feel a one star rating is somewhat harsh to say the least ! More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

2 nights family and friends showers to small no door on toilet (room 1 )little ventilation when nice weather beer overpriced food not good black chips oil all over salad batter black rooms way overpriced there are a lot better hotels near by and a lot cheaper never again rooms are very hard to get to steep stairs

Helpful?
Thank davyboy56
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sorry you were disappointed with your stay, I will try to answer your comments with some perspective....... We are a pub in a 400 year old Grade 2 listed building,and as such the layout of the rooms is governed by these legal restrictions. As such in room 1,where we are unable to hang a bathroom... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

The staff and the food were very good. My room, in the main building, had a bed with an old mattress that you could feel every spring. Very uncomfortable. Other reviews have said the same. Probably wouldn't use again because of this.

Helpful?
Thank andrewcR2264BO
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. You will be pleased to know the offending mattress has now been replaced !!!!!!!!!! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Always love going to proper British pubs Great atmosphere and warmth Had visitors from abroad and they loved it here Will be deff coming back here soon! Recommended!! Never been here to stay but have had a look upstairs and rooms look really clean and tidy

Helpful?
Thank Deana991
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

Stayed here for 1 night after a friends wedding. The stairs are very steep which were hard to navigate after a few too many but all in all a very nice place to stop. We did have a power cut to the room during the next morning which affected the shower also but the manager did his best to sort... More 

Helpful?
Thank 308SteveJ
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again More 

Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

This is one of those places that doesn't really do mediocre - some aspects are excellent and others are poor. So to give a fair assessment here are the good and the not so good parts.... Good Staff all very welcoming, friendly and helpful - service overall good Dinner at the pub exceeeded expectations and was interesting, well prepared and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandSD
raphanoa, Manager at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments,always very helpful for us to up our game.Obviously being a 450 year old building, it does have its challenges !!!!! We hope to see you again. Regards The White Lion Inn More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

Nice looking pub and based on the previous reviews hoped this would be a good find. However we were disappointed. We booked two rooms and were put in the cottages out in the gardens. Quirky and quaint - with a good sprinkling of spider webs in the rooms. Heating did not work in our bathroom - the radiator valve just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

Friendly service and handy location for quick rail journey to NEC. Stayed in 'cottage' off the carpark. Very clean and cumfy despite the usual English eccentricities of loose taps and blocked shower but free Wi-Fi is useful. Unlike other's comments, we found the nearby aircraft not too intrusive and had a very quiet night between 12 and 7 anyway. Food... More 

Helpful?
Thank DAVIDWARD2013
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
0.2 mi away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: $109 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
The White Lion Inn Hampton-In-Arden, Solihull, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay