We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Surrone House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Surrone House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Travelling from Inverness to Alton Towers with our 3 kids as a last minute plan to get away from our typical rainy summer. To break the journey we booked this beautiful b&b who offered a family room (2 double beds and a single - bunk beds would be a good consideration as 2 kids in a bed equals messing about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison2406
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post comments on your stay with us, we are pleased to read you were happy with your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. We will take on board your comments, about possibly having bunk beds in the family room. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited July 2016 (not for the first time). The usual warm welcome, excellent room, a very comfortable night, altogether fantastic facilities. I highly recommend Surrone House to anybody looking for accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out from your holiday, to write your review, this is much appreciated. We were pleased to welcome you back again, and are equally pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you both again in the future, More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

A welcoming, clean and comfortable B&B with thought given to room and ensuite facilities. Great value and a great place to land once you've made to it the Scottish Border! A hot breakfast which is a bonus before heading off on your next destination and hot meals available on many nights.

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Our family are quite awkward when it comes to food. My son and I are vegetarian and my daughter has coeliac disease and has to avoid gluten. How refreshing then that the hosts here could offer a cooked breakfast to accommodate all of our dietary needs. The room was immaculate and our welcome warm and helpful even at 9.30 pm.... More 

Helpful?
Thank billyandchell
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your review. We are happy to accommodate any dietary requirments if given prior warning. We are pleased to know you were happy with your stay. and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Red Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Excellent place, value, hosts and service. The room had plenty of space and the bath was recently redone. Great value and an excellent breakfasts. Beautiful gardens and surroundings. John gave us great advice for sights and pulled his fine collection of maps to show routes. Christine provided excellent breakfasts and we ate one dinner there over our 4 night stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandandsunshine
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

This hotel is a bit away from main street, which means quiet. Good size rooms, excellent lounge with comfy eating and fireplace (and drink on request). Helpful owners and tasty good breakfast. Close to restaurant and pub. All in all, very happy.

Helpful?
Thank no9e
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are always happy to hear our guests have been happy and satisfied with their stay. We hope you had a safe journey home, and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

I was looking for a B&B at short notice and I had tried a few in Gretna, but they were all full. Surrone House, offered me a room although they were in the middle of decorating. My room was excellent and had everything that we regular travelers require. I will certainly use them again.

Helpful?
Thank itsbob_13
Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Our stay in the Surrone House was a quick overnight between Wales and Scotland on a family trip. The hosts were amazing. They offered us a change from the family room we reserved due to some roof work going on at the time. We had reserved through a service and they were unable to contact us earlier. Rain was expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank mom23kids2015
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

Pluses:- Room nice, bathroom lovely, breakfast adequate, bed comfy. Minuses:- Having to pre-order breakfast and stipulate a time! Only 4 milk portions on tea tray (however owners were happy to provide a jug of milk) We went to breakfast 20 minutes early and definitely felt we should have observed our stated time, owner wasn't rude but did not attempt to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsDoasyouwouldbedon
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry if you felt you were ignored at breakfast, we try to converse with all our guests, however, human nature being as it is errors do occur. With regard to your comment regarding a buffet table, we appreciate that this would be a good idea, but due... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the surrone house on the 22nd of August. If your looking for a place to stay whilst in gretna then this is by far the best value . For what we paid it was great value . Spotlessly clean and friendly owners and right in the centre of gretna. Beautiful place

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#3 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Surrone House

Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Price Range: $91 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surrone House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Surrone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay