We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Oxford Thames Four Pillars

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oxford Thames Four Pillars
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 829: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We booked this as par of a mini break for our 30th anniversary, just the 2 of us. It looked interesting as was an 11th century monastry. Overall it was an enjoyable stay. We had minor issues in the bar, restaurant and our room. Sounds picky I know but its not a low cost hotel. That aside, we did enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank 61popcorn2013
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in here for tea & cake with family. Setting & hotel interior were beautiful. Lovely places to eat in the hotel. Cream tea a little disappointing. Loads if cream & jam but very small scone. I think for the price you're paying more for the location than the food!! Wouldn't order this off the menu again but would visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear Emma C Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed the setting of the hotel. I was disappointed that you felt the cream tea was disappointing and I will be reviewing this with the chef. We look forward to you visiting again. Regards Mairi S More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is was a great find we were going for the weekend to use a voucher for a Thames cruise and decided it would be nice to stay, I wanted somewhere out of town but not to far, there is a park and ride just up the road which made this hotel ideal! We had a garden room which opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear Kin H Thank you for your review. The garden rooms are indeed nicely decorated and has air conditioning, a fridge and fresh milk. I am pleased you enjoyed your view down to the river from your room and we look forward to you returning to Oxford Thames. Regards Mairi S More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is only five miles from Oxford city sights. We had a deluxe balcony double, this was a large room with modern bathroom. Good tea and coffee tray, but no biscuits! We had a half board deal and were impressed with the quality of the three course menu and food itself .we stayed for 2 nights but we're disappointed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MalcH57
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear MacH57 Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I can only apologise that the biscuits were omitted from your room and the menu did not reflect what is on our website. we are looking forward to a leisure refurb in the near future which I hope will appeal to you. We look forward to welcoming you back and... More 

Bournemouth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited for two nights last week. We met up with my two sisters and their husbands as Oxford is a convenient meeting place for us. The rooms which all had patios were ideal as we could come out of our rooms and meet up in the garden area to enjoy the fantastic weather. The staff were very friendly and helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear Maureen G Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oxford Thames with your two sisters and their husbands and that you found the patio rooms ideal. I was also pleased Rebecca and David looked after you.I was made aware of your food your complaint regarding the night's before dinner and when... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in an amazing and ideal place. Our room was more than spacious, the staff was really friendly, the lobby of the hotel so picturesque! The breakfast was really good and we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the rest of the facilities. Worth every penny!!

Helpful?
Thank Foteini S
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear Forteini S Thank you for your review and I was pleased that the staff were really friendly and you enjoyed the use of the facilities. We are lucky to work in such beautiful surroundings with our knights of the round table historical background with the amazing lobby. Regards Mairi S More 

Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came here for a wedding and we were impressed from start to finish. We opted for a de-lux room which was priced at £400pn B&B however we got a very good discount as part of a wedding party. The room had a lovely view over the gardens to the river and was of a very high standard. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank keston
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear keston Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Oxford Thames. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. The hotel and grounds are indeed perfect for a wedding and I was pleased to read that the staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford Thames Regards Mairi S More 

UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived an hour and a half earlier than the check-in time of 3pm and was told bluntly that check in can not be before 3pm. A couple of visits back to the reception desk and at 3.10pm was handed the keys. I had booked a 'new room' that had been refurbished in the new block but it was nothing to... More 

Helpful?
Thank GWRW
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear GWRW UK Thank you for your review on trip adviser. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our new bedrooms nor did we meet your expectations in some areas including customer service, which is unusual as the staff are regularly complimented for their level of service. I am pleased that you found the hotel picturesque in... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Hotel in a great location. Excellent service. We were a bit disappointed of the restaurant since the food was not great. Average starters. Two of us chose fish for main course and it was very dry. The remaining two people of our group chose pork and it was full of fat. Not impressed at all.

Helpful?
Thank Daniele M
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear Daniele M Thank you for your review on the hotel and the mention of excellent service. I was disappointed to read of your comments on the food in our AA rosette restaurant and have passed them on to the head chef to look in to. Regards Mairi S More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a wonderful relaxing break this is the place. 5* service, rooms and food. All the staff are welcoming and professional and the building is at a very high standard. I will be going back frequently.

Helpful?
Thank Vinnyj3
Jonathan O, Manager at Oxford Thames Four Pillars, responded to this review

Dear Vinny3 Thank you for your excellent review of Oxford Thames and for giving 5* for food , drink and service. The staff were very pleased to read your review. We look forward to you visiting frequently. regards Mairi S More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

484 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (252)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
College Chic Room (26)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Balcony (22)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Terrace (20)
Viewed
Garden Chic Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sitting Area (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandford-on-Thames
5.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
3.0 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxford Thames Four Pillars

Address: Henley Road, Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford OX4 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Sandford-on-Thames
Price Range: $149 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Thames Four Pillars 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Oxford Thames Four Pillars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay