We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Harbour Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Harbour Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here twice this month to attend weddings locally. On both occasions the rooms were clean & simple & the beds very comfortable. We found the staff very helpful & had a really good cooked breakfast on both occasions. Well placed for touring Inishowen.

Helpful?
Thank DawnH13
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my husband were here recently for 2 nights. The hotel itself is on a busy road but we had a room out the back so we didn't hear any traffic. The room was a good size, the bathroom spotless. Breakfast was lovely as was the bar food. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Buncrana. It's approximately... More 

Helpful?
Thank RyanRachel
County Westmeath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel,very spacious and clean room.The staff were very nice and helpful.the breakfast was very good and the food in the bar was excellent. I would highly recommend a stay at the harbour inn.good location close to buncrana town.

Helpful?
2 Thank red645
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and spent two days here on a mini break. Very easy to find on the way in to Buncrana. Catherine on reception started our stay in a very friendly welcoming way. The bedroom was very big larger than most hotels we have stayed in. Nice clean feel to it. Restaurant staff also very friendly. The beach is across... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lottiemac
Tyrone
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was poor when asked how the meal was the staff did like my response, even though I was polite they were anything but! Poorly trained and down right rude. Go elsewhere where your custom will be appreciated!

Helpful?
1 Thank kmactyrone
KMBDoherty, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal as the majority of our guests do, You mention that the staff were rude on your visit which i am surprised by as our staff are freindly and approachable, did you ask to speak to a manager to voice your complaint at the... More 

Fintona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We pulled up at the Harbour Inn for a lunch break on our travels. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The food was superb. In every respect. Way ahead of a 'so called' 5* establishment we visited in Co Donegal a few weeks ago, and a fraction of the price. I can recommend The Harbour Inn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A "motel" style hotel with ample free parking and an excellent breakfast included. Room was very spacious with plenty of storage room. On site restaurant extremely good. Very well situated across from the sea. Only complaint - guests arriving very noisily at all hours of the night. Staff exceptionally helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barlickwal
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable hotel with decent sized rooms. We had a room with 2 single beds which was fine but we would have preferred a room with a double bed. There is a parking lot however, it does get pretty full as people park in the same lot for the restaurant/bar which is attached to the hotel. The restaurant/bar is pretty nice,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Reina M
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was excellent during my recent visit and the menu had loads to choose from. As regards pricing it is very reasonable and the staff were tops. Lovely friendly atmosphere and well facilitated too. Definitely be stopping again very soon !

Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, very good food, good quality soap in the bathrooms, also clean & tidy. Little bit thin walls so you hear what's happening outside.. But overall pleasant experience, I'll be back for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
13.7 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Price Range: $76 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay