We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bayview

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bayview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a great hotel beautiful food with a very good menu to choose from.bedroom design details are also beautiful and very well kept. family run hotel for that personal touch very friendly staff also definitely won't be disappointed with your stay at the Bayview in kilkee Tara from Limerick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara N
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Good size, clean, comfortable rooms. Great value. Lovely breakfast. If it is too dreary outside, as it was for us, there is a pub, where i had the best seafood chowder. There is a corner store opposite the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strattons5
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear strattons5, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I apologise for the lateness of this reply. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in future. Kindest Regards & Warm Wishes for the Coming Year,...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 9, 2016

We were made very welcome. The two single rooms, no. 1 and 2, were comfortable with a view of the sea. We enjoyed the bar food and service on our second evening. The room hairdryer is adequate for short hair only and the porridge could be creamier. However, Bay view is so central for everything especially the strandline. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjbglynn
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear mjbglynn, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, I apologise for the lateness of this reply. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in future. I will pass on your compliments to the Chef...

Bettystown, Ireland
Reviewed November 30, 2016

In Kilrush for a family anniversary service on a Sunday in Feb 2016 and we couldn't get anywhere locally and opted for Kilkee as a base. The hotel staff were agreeable to our early morning departure for service and breakfast on our return. We picked up an additional 7 people for breakfast and this was no problem for the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear TJ, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, I apologise for the lateness of this reply. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in future. I will pass on your sentiments to Mary, the Chefs...

Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here enroute home from Killarney , it was a last minute booking as we just decided to extend our hols by a day and see a bit of kilkee . The lady Mrs Hickey ,who spoke to us when we rang to enquire about a vacancy couldn't have been more helpful, she gave us a huge spotlessly clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, I apologise for the lateness of this reply. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind sentiments to Mary and our Staff. I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you...

Connecticut
Reviewed November 12, 2016

So, I read the other reviews, which vary widely in experience. Here's my take - the woman who runs the place is not rude, she's just not effusive. The room rate is low enough that you can excuse not getting 5-star service in terms of people taking your bags to your room or having a luxurious bedroom and bathroom. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTHD65
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear KTHD65, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, I apologise for the late timing of this reply. I am delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your needs and I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind sentiments to Mary and...

County Clare, Ireland
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

I spent a fabulous dinner time early afternoon with my family and there were 9 of us in total! We had starters, main and desserts, eyes bigger than our bellies but the presentation and the flavour of each dish was outstanding! The service was top class with all the staff being friendly and attentive throughout! We sat at table by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kytmoroney
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear kytmoroney, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, I apologise for the late timing of this reply. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and I will, of course, pass on your kind sentiments to our Chefs & Staff. I sincerely hope that we have...

George Town, Cayman Islands
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

The Bayview is a small B&B style hotel with a pub annexed to it called Hickies. The B&B was lovely enough and I like the idea of having a pub attached. The rooms were clean, cozy and comfortable with a partial view of the beach and the Pollock Holes in the distance. Breakfast was decent enough as well, although the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timf699
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I am delighted to hear that you felt the room was to your standard and that you enjoyed breakfast. As far as the music is concerned, we have Live Music in the Bar every Saturday night, which I believe was indicated to you at...

Reviewed October 30, 2016

We recently toured Ireland with our daughter and son in law. Our daughter chose this Guest House based on Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by Mary one of the owners. We stayed in room 12 which was at the rear of the premises. Although there were no views as such, the room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear Mike & Anne, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, I apologise for the late timing of this reply. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on your kind sentiments to Mary and Our Staff. I sincerely hope that we will have...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Arrived to confusion the old woman at reception seemed perplexed to why we were there , and faffed with the diary until I pointed out our booking. Her demeanour was surly and unfriendly. After giving us our key with no directions to where the room was and climbing narrow stairs we were pleasantly surprised by the size decor and cleanliness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reg_lard
jhick, General Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review

Dear reg_lard, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, however I can assure you we pride ourselves on providing the height of customer service in an affordable way. Our customers must agree as we are #1 on booking.com & tripadvisor in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
186 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
518 reviews
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
145 reviews
25.6 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
530 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee V15 Y262, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Price Range: $82 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bayview staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bayview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a sea view at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles mjbglynn, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view over the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles KTHD65, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the Guest House have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles annek32, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Go next door it's nicer”
 of 5 bubbles reg_lard, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 12. No view and noisy above back of the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles flygal8, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay