We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (673)
Room & Suite (135)
Videos (3)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Straffan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers.
Read more
Room & Suite (135)135
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
1,256Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 849
  • 205
  • 138
  • 41
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
C&T wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We stayed here as a family of three as a Wedding Anniversary treat in late October. Imminent restrictions loomed due to Covid-19 and to say we were stressed was an understatement. That is until we reached the tree lined drive into the resort. As we walked through the doors of the hotel I could see my partner's shoulders relax and they stayed that way for the duration of our stay. Nothing is overlooked here even with Covid-19 guidelines in place, we experienced true 5 star hospitality. From Brendan playing superhero with our Batman obsessed son, Mairead's warm welcome at check in and care throughout our stay, Matea's perfect dinner service and Guilia's cheery breakfast I can honestly say, as parents of a boisterous 4 year old who don't often feel carefree when out as a family, we were exactly that for our entire stay. Dinner in the Barton restaurant was beautiful with wine pairings for each course chosen by the oh so knowledgeable Lisa. As our son tired, room service dessert was easily arranged and promptly delivered including a sweet Happy Anniversary message with petit fours. Another highlight in current times was the individual pastry tiers for breakfast. Compared to other breaks away, this certainly was the best take on continental breakfast. Dairy free yoghurts and butter were provided readily for our intolerant son. We managed to fit a swim into our one night break. The pool is beautiful and the changing rooms comfortable and spacious. A walk after checkout on the vast, well kept grounds rounded up a perfect stay. We look forward to returning again as a couple to experience the spa, get a massage and perhaps a tipple in the Cocktail Lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from John Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The K Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good morning Whins, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us. We too look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a well deserved weekend away in your second home. If I can be of assistance with your future booking please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, John Walsh
Read more
618brian1949618 wrote a review Dec 2019
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Don't hesitate to stay at this hotel it is truely a magnificent place a golf course on either side and the river liffey running through the grounds the food and the staff were brilliant the bedrooms were ultra
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TheKClub, Guest Relations Manager at The K Club
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Dear 618brian1949618, Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Happy New Year! Kind regards, John Walsh
Read more
Christina H wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions11 helpful votes
We visited the k club the weekend after it reopened. This was our second visit and we wondered if it would live up to the wonderful weekend we had before, especially in the Covid era. I’m pleased to say it did. We had an amazing massage in the spa, two wonderful meals in the restaurant and loved the change to breakfast to have a ‘afternoon tea’ style tray instead of the open buffet. We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and our room was gorgeous. We felt safe throughout and the staff were visibly cleaning/sanitising everything. The staff were impeccable in general and very friendly. We will be back again as soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The K Club
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Dear christina_142225, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Caroline M wrote a review Aug 2020
54 contributions22 helpful votes
An impressive hotel with friendly staff but needs significant investment and improvement of food and service to be truly 5 star. As mentioned by other reviewers the breakfast service was poor. We repeatedly had to ask for basic items like cutlery, milk for tea etc. Toast always cold by the time breakfast arrived. The food quality was good however. Room service was a complete joke - overpriced and tiny portions - when questioned with the server we were told ‘that’s what I was given.’ We had issues with restaurant bookings and transport too. On the plus side we loved the pool, rooms were great (apart from wind noise) and appreciated the kids goodie bag on arrival. We enjoyed the fairy trail and horse riding and a visit to a nearby pet farm. Found that there was not really any family space in the hotel and as a result didn’t get to relax and mix with other guests as you usually would. The concierge and reception staff were friendly and helpful. We did enjoy our stay and appreciate that the staff are working very hard in difficult circumstances. Given the significant expense we’ll probably look elsewhere for a family break next time. For older couples interested in golf etc worth a try.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The K Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good evening T7669WRcarolinem, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our Management team has reviewed the points you have raised and will be taking steps as required. We greatly appreciate our guests feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience our hotel as intended. I would like to extend my personal contact if I can be of assistance in any way possible. Thank you once again. Kind regards, John Walsh
Read more
Coltrip1 wrote a review Aug 2020
18 contributions14 helpful votes
Overall a very nice hotel however food quality and service was poor on the whole. First night we opted for room service as they couldn't accommodate us in the bar or restaurant. We were initially given the option of a more expanded choice of menu, this was then revoked. Fine. When it did come, it took over an hour (8pm) with two small children losing the will. The pizza was burnt, same with goujons and the main curry was like a tapa size (at 22 euros plus). We rang back and they reordered. Another hour and visits downstairs (the restaurant manager asked was I from a different room - obviously were numerous people with issues). Second time around, no pizzas (none 'left' apparently) so received a plate heaped with chicken goujons instead. Through all of this the communication was shocking and no apologies. Basic things at breakfast were also awry- lack of basic cutlery etc. At checkout the receptionist that day was very understanding - refunded the room service. Which was kind but wasn't about the money. Pool area etc was great. Understand there are challenges post covid etc and I understand a lot of staff were new. Still, no excuses for lack of attention in key areas and we'll short of 5 star standards based off this visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Walsh, Guest Services / Front Office at The K Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good evening Coltrip1, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our Management team has reviewed the points you have raised and will be taking steps as required. We greatly appreciate our guests feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience our hotel as intended. I would like to extend my personal contact if I can be of assistance in any way possible. Thank you once again. Kind regards, John Walsh
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the k club hotel straffan, k hotel straffan
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KildareStraffan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
134
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The K Club
Which popular attractions are close to The K Club?
Nearby attractions include Castletown House (4.9 miles), Clonfert Pet Farm (4.3 miles), and Abbeyfield Farm (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The K Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The K Club?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The K Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The K Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The K Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Michelangelo Restaurant, Canteen, and The Village Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The K Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The K Club have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The K Club offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The K Club located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Straffan.
Are any cleaning services offered at The K Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The K Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.