We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
On the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan H91 CF60 Ireland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (381)
Room & Suite (84)
Dining (63)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Ballyvaughan
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Room service
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
French
647Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 487
  • 80
  • 41
  • 21
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linda M wrote a review Sep 2022
Atlanta, Georgia194 contributions111 helpful votes
We loved this cozy and warmly decorated countryside hotel. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms large. Our room had a wonderful view of the countryside. Staff were very friendly. Nice bar with cozy sitting areas by fireplace. Breakfast was included and was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Mina room has great view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Departure148531 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Excellent breakfast with great choice and presented very well. Very comfortable lounge and bar area, friendly staff. Our room was disappointingly small with a very cramped bathroom and no outlook. Ok for one person but not really as a double. The hotel is not accessible other than by car so be aware that you will need to drive (or take a taxi) to get anywhere. The only meal option available when we were staying was the set dinner at £90 per person.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Robert S wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
We spent a couple of nights here in August, 2022. Grounds and public areas are very nice, but there is little to do beyond walking around. Our ground floor room had an exit to a small patch of grass and bird feeder. There's no TV and the radio only works on one station. Our room only had a double bed while everywhere else in Ireland they at least offer king sizes. The dinner was very slow and overpriced. And, it is NOT a castle and there isn't one nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There is no lift/elevator so if you can't climb stairs, request confirmation of a ground...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ciarrai2014 wrote a review Aug 2022
County Kildare, Ireland637 contributions243 helpful votes
We went for the high tea experience and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a large selection of savoury and sweet to be eaten. The stack of food on the three tiered plate is impressive. Would recommend having with a pot of tea or coffee rather than a cappuccino or americano.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan L wrote a review Jul 2022
73 contributions31 helpful votes
We loved our 3 day stay at Gregan's Castle Hotel. No, the hotel isn't a castle, but the property is beautiful, very well-appointed, with every public room fulfilling a lovely and comfortable concept of a country manor. Outstanding and friendly service, scrupulously clean. We built in 1 day where we didn't leave the property, but walked the grounds, reading, chatting, and enjoying all 3 meals, with lunch outside overlooking the beautiful view - resulting in my husband repeatedly complimenting me on my good planning! Booking in, we knew that the hotel was not in walking distance of any of the villages, so we expected to rely on taxis and the hotel was most helpful. Denise at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. Because they were close to full when we booked, the only accomodation was a junior suite and I am very happy that we spent the extra money for a luxurious, comfortable room, excellent bathroom and its own garden.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kayeferriter wrote a review Jul 2022
Winchester, Massachusetts32 contributions10 helpful votes
Lovely views and very comfortable. Management was very stuffy and rigid. Book your dinner reservation we’ll in advance of arrival or you will be stuck eating at 830. Dinner is at least a two hour affair. Food was good but not great for 90 euro per person.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to book dinner we’ll in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
michele j wrote a review Jul 2022
dublin55 contributions66 helpful votes
Really tranquil spot in a beautiful location. Staff/service was excellent. The food was gorgeous. We stayed in classic room in old part of the house which was nice although damp smell in the room if we didn’t keep airing. Only negative was the number of loud/complaining guests we were unfortunate to sit near at meals. The staff handled it well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jack D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stopped here for lunch on our way from Galway to Dromoland and fell in love. Lunch was delicious, the staff incredibly accommodating, and the grounds are stunning. We will be coming back to stay as soon as possible! Cannot recommend more highly!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
citygirl12345 wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York4 contributions4 helpful votes
We had tea and drinks at this hotel and there was no one at the bar for quite some time, my husband took a handful of nuts that were sitting out. The bartender/ waiter then proceeded to have a complete shouting outburst at my husband for touching the nuts. I have travelled all over the world and I can easily say that his behavior was the rudest I have ever experienced. I was speechless! No matter how lovely a hotel is, and this one is very pretty, hospitality is still the most important part of an experience, this one fell so far from hospitable it was disturbing. I would strongly warn anyone away from this place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Haden, Owner at Gregans Castle Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear citygirl12345, To say that we were bemused and not a little amused to read your review would be an understatement. Given the circumstances we would have assumed that you would rather not bring attention to the events of the day in question however since you do so we thank you because it gives us an ideal platform to let people know the kind of behaviour that we as a hospitality business have to put up with. To begin we might as well describe what happened in detail to allow readers know the full facts of what happened. Firstly, you came to the hotel on the afternoon in question to join 2 other couples who were staying in the hotel for dinner at 7pm. At 5.30pm you ordered tea and scones and the barman went to collect these from the kitchen. Before this he placed 2 bowls of the Japanese crackers in front of you and your friends. The reception being not even 10 feet away from your table he assumed that if you needed anything more during the 5 minutes he was away that you didn’t have far to go to ask. Upon returning to the bar he discovered that your husband had proceeded to take the 3kg kilner jar of said Japanese crackers, had removed the lid, rolled up his sleeve and was elbow deep at the bottom of the jar trying to trawl for a particular cracker that took his fancy. To say that the Barman was shocked to see that hardly covers it. The manager also happened to look in at this time and similarly saw your husband’s arm triumphantly emerging from the jar with the prize cracker. As a business that has just emerged from 2 years of covid restrictions, that has had friends, staff, guests and family seriously affected by covid and still practises strict covid hygiene and care in an attempt to keep guests, staff and ourselves as safe as possible to witness such thoughtless and basically disgusting behaviour was utterly shocking. The barman fought his annoyance however and simply pointed out that such behaviour was and is unacceptable and would have left it at that except that your husband reacted with frankly incredulous belligerence that the barman had to explain emphatically that he would have to throw the crackers away because of the possible risk from the virus. We don’t as a hotel put out communal bowls of crackers anyway, only to individual groups or people at individual tables and that’s just because of basic hygiene purposes let alone covid. Maybe you are simply more used to basic "spring break hotels" where this sort of behaviour is ok but we are not such an establishment and we do not enjoy having to admonish our customers. Happily this is an extremely rare occurrence but should anyone behave in this manner again be in no doubt we would do so again. We ourselves had almost forgotten the event and had put it down to ignorance when this review appeared and we realised that it was actually a gift because it epitomises the misunderstanding of what hospitality is about. Just because we are a hotel and as such engaged in hospitality this in no way means that we engage in stupidity or laxity. In fact we care a lot about our customers and staff and have long established ways of behaving that we feel are acceptable in dealing with difficult guests in order to keep the others healthy, safe, relaxed and comfortable. We are not here to be abused or insulted and we are perfectly in our right to expect that guests behave with a degree of decorum. Your fellow guests who were staying with us went to great lengths to apologise for this behaviour so don’t think it was just us who were annoyed and upset at your blatant idiocy but also the others in your party. Such inanity could have been put aside had you even apologised but you continued to argue out your nonsensical sense of grievance. So yes, if anyone else thinks they can behave in this way in our hotel again we fully expect and hope that any staff they encounter reacts the same again. There seems to be a section of society that thinks that a hotel or other hospitality establishment exists purely for them to treat as they wish and in a manner that they might not even exhibit at home. They seem to believe that we should accommodate all behaviour no matter how unpleasant and for the price of a meal or an overnight stay that the property is theirs to abuse, the staff there to insult and their ill spirited grumbles to elicit change purely because they prefer something else. Of course we listen to our customers and are happy for feedback even if negative, however at a certain point we have to take consensus to make changes. Some guests feel that if they don’t like something then naturally they are right and we are wrong. However sometimes that’s just a matter of taste. Repeated complaints or grumbles are most certainly investigated and remedied but when it’s just one table for a certain dish, one room for a certain decor , one customer for a particular lack of amenity, we cannot be expected to jump and change the product for the remaining 99.999% that come precisely because we do it that way. We are proud to be what we are, we have created our property with care and consideration for all guests and staff and if you don’t like what we are or what we offer just don’t come…….
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary C wrote a review Jun 2022
Dublin, Ireland165 contributions193 helpful votes
this is our second time in the lovely gregans castle and it was every bit as lovely as our last visit.We stayed in one of the suites with beautiful views.We loved our big bright room with comfy bed.The staff on reception were so welcoming but as last time their outstanding quality id their food.We had th 7 course tasting menu and one course surpassed the next, their homemade sourdough bread was to die for.Breakfast was excellent and all the waiters were attentive and professional.We enjoyed the corkscrew bar for after dinner drinks and it has a lovely cosy ambiance, the interior design throughout the hotel is amazing would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$343 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gregans castle ballyvaughan, hotel gregans castle
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty ClareThe BurrenBallyvaughan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gregans Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gregans Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Burren Birds of Prey Centre (3.2 miles), Burren way (4.3 miles), and The Burren (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gregans Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Gregans Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gregans Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gregans Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include O'Donohue's Pub, Monks Ballyvaughan, and Tea and Garden Rooms.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gregans Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Gregans Castle Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Poulnabrone Dolmen (2.7 miles), Caherconnell Stone Fort & Sheepdog Demonstrations (3.1 miles), and Gleninsheen Wedge Tomb (3.0 miles).
Does Gregans Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Gregans Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.