We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballymascanlon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 570: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed as part of a golfing society and cannot rate the place higher. Rooms are finished to a high level, the leisure facilities are superb, the food and bar top class and the golf course an absolute jewel. Special mention has to go to Gerry in the golf club shop who looked after us so well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you and the rest of our golf society enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to the staff and Gerry in particular and we hope to see you back again soon at Ballymascanlon Hotel. Kind regards

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed May 30, 2015

Had a meal in the terrace bar, the staff were very welcoming & friendly. The service was excellent, quick & efficent. The bar food menu had a good selection of food. There were snacks or if you were very hungry there were full meals. We did not have room for dessert but the portions being served would easily have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizzie4916
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent lunch in our Terrace Bar, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff. We hope you will be back to dine or stay with us again soon. Kind regards

ontheroadagn7
Reviewed May 28, 2015

Had an early departure before their breakfast opened. They arranged a continental to be delivered to my room in advance of my departure (arranged the night before). Very nice touch. Good leisure centre, bar, restaurant. Staff outstanding. Be sure to take the short walk out to the Proleek Dolmen - there is a well sign-posted pathway to this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagn7
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, it is always gratifying to hear such positive comments and that we are still applying the extra touches that makes all the difference to a guests stay with us. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ballymascanlon Hotel in the near future. Kind regards

Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Expecting a new baby soon, myself and my husband fancied a night away. We found this gem within an hour of where we live. Very easily accessed from the motorway, yet a lovely rural setting: the building is gorgeous. The staff were very welcoming, and within an hour I realised that it would have been no problem to have brought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimzer
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable night away at Ballymascanlon and that you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and lovely walks around the grounds. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your children! back to the hotel very soon and...

Ireland
Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed here for two days on a recent business trip. Very nice place with very friendly and helpful staff in all areas. Room was very clean and bright. Could not really find a fault with this hotel. Very pleasant working stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LottaAthlone
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor following your recent business trip at Ballymascanlon Hotel. We are delighted you found everything to your satisfaction and we hope we will see you back again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this fine establishment on business. On arrival I was met with a lovely reception it almost felt homely. The grounds and facilities are immaculate as are the rooms. The rooms are bright mine had a fantastic view (121) and again spectacularly clean with soft fluffy towels. I ate dinner and breakfast here, both of the highest quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, it is nice to hear that when our guests are here on business that they feel some of the comforts of home. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ballymascanlon soon. Kind regards

Bettystown, Ireland
Reviewed May 14, 2015

A group of us made a Sunday visit to the 'Ballymac' for a recent family event and enjoyed a very nice meal, in pleasant surroundings served well. The menu, at first reading, looked fairly standard and I chose the salmon, followed by the beef. The duo of salmon arrived and immediately confounded my expectations. It was well presented, tasted great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent Family Sunday lunch. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and I have passed on your kind comments to the chef and the rest of the team in the kitchen. We look forward to seeing you back at Ballymascanlon in the near...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 7, 2015

Stayed for 3 days beginning of May 2015 at this hotel. The food and staff were very good. The golf course was in perfect condition and Gerry the golf manager was very helpful. He even arranged for me to borrow a set of left handed clubs from the hotel gardener.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham b
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the your mother in Law's 80th birthday party was a great success. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed May 5, 2015

We had heard a lot about this hotel but were a little disappointed to say the least, we ordered two glasses of wine and were looking at the menu, it took the staff 40 minutes to come back to us to order food, it took 25 minutes for the food and at this stage we could have went somewhere else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QualityServiceNow
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent Sunday Lunch at Ballymascanlon Hotel, we appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. I have advised the management team of your review, Bank Holiday weekends and Sunday Lunch are extremely busy in the hotel, however we do appreciate that you did not want...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 28, 2015

Stayed here with a large party of lady golfers - rooms & service excellent - golf course challenging but beautifully maintained parkland with interesting holes. Ate one meal as a bar snack with great service and second in a private dining room with silver service. Taste, selection & presentation of food great. Breakfast was again a well enjoyed hot buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul-der
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and we are delighted that you and the rest of the lady golfers enjoyed your time at Ballymascanlon. I have passed on your kind comments to Gerry our Golf Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballymascanlon soon and please do let your family and friends know of...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
633 reviews
10.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House 173) Carlingford Road (R, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Price Range: $137 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
northern ireland

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Great views over the grounds and Cooley Mountains in the distance”
 of 5 bubbles R6116ARjameso, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms of all types available from single to family and also suites.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraS939, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“230 has great view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles oversixties_12, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
“Garden view nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles X930XFpaulm, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“Try to not betoo close to function room as when events are on can be a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles kdaniel2015, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question