We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Traveler (87)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (266)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Athlone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
57Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
25Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
628Reviews
10Q+A
80Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 297
  • 185
  • 84
  • 28
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone for a family wedding for two nights during December 2018. There was a mix up with the booking and this disappointed us and no breakfast was included even though other members of the family booked later than us and they got a much
Read more
Response from Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 1 week ago
Dear chippewa55, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the short comings that you encountered on your visit to us. With regards to room bookings, I would love to know how you booked your room. If it was through a 3rd party site rather than booking directly, then often the better deal would be through booking directly with us. Should you wish to discuss this in greater detail, I would welcome an email from you. My direct email address is amccaul@shamrocklodgehotel.ie. I would love to welcome you back again to us at another time and hope that we can change your mind about our family run hotel. I do hope that you enjoyed the wedding with us. With every best wish, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Excellent place to stay Friendly and very family orientated Food is excellent and plenty of it The staff do everything to make you feel welcome and part of the family I stayed here several times always had a good relaxing time Close to the main town so plenty to do Good
Read more
Response from Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mark, Wow, what an amazing review of our family run hotel. Mark, thank you so much for taking the time to write this for us, we really appreciate it. I hope that we can welcome you back again to stay with us many more times in the future. With every best wish, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
We had 2 nights here and it was great The wedding venue was out of this world the food was brilliant the staff are very friendly and helpful I would recommend this place to anyone it’s a great place for a wedding
Read more
Response from Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mary, Thank you so much for your absolutely amazing review, we are thrilled to receive it. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time at a recent wedding. Weddings are very important to us so to hear this feedback is music to our ears. I really hope that we can welcome you back soon to stay with us again Mary. Kind Regards, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Myself and my friend went to the Shamrock Lodge for a spa overnight stay. Our booking specified a twin room but we were given what I would describe as a family room. However, When we approached Reception where we met Paddy we were swiftly moved to a suite as it was unoccupied
Read more
Response from Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Maureen, Thank you so much for your review of our family run hotel, it is greatly appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you were well looked after on your stay with us and that you enjoyed yourself. I will pass on your kind words to the ladies at Mingala Day Spa, they will be delighted with your feedback also. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Alan McCaul General Manager
Read more
This is a review for the restaurant only. I do not know anything about the bedrooms. So disappointed!! Booked in the restaurant here as the description on the site said "award winning food" and so forth. We hardly ever go out to eat and this was Mother's Day. When we walked
Read more
Response from Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded Apr 12, 2019
Thank you for your review Amy. While without wishing to sound defensive and get into an argument on Tripadvisor, I am quiet sure your review does not represent people's experience of our Hotel. On the day in question, we catered to 550 customers for our Mother’s Day Lunch between 12.30 and 4.00pm. We had nothing but praise for our food on the day. I have spoken with the Manager on Duty on the day and we have discussed with the waitresses your experience on the day of which they are fully aware. Thank you. Alan McCaul. General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shamrock hotel country
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterAthlone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing