We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

TripAdvisor$147*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$153*
$147*
$153*
$147*
$153*
$147*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,555: English reviews
Dublin
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Let's get straight down to brass tacks here! If you're looking for somewhere to lay your head because you're going boozing in athlone for the night then it's grand. If you're on business / nice break with your other half probably wouldn't recommend so much. Despite the many huge signs in the car park telling you to pay, parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrishSailor08
Cobh, Ireland
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

My first ever stay in athlone. So it was a great base to explore from. Also lovely to have some quiet time. Lovely breakfast. I was also happy to get a room here at short notice at the bank holiday weekend. I will return some day. A handy central place to stay on the way to the north west

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CobhCathedral
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed November 13, 2015

tried to book this hotel for a family break away in May of next year, firstly they kept coming back with confirmations for March, then couldn't get their heads around 3 people in a family room, 2 people in a double room, and 1 person in a single room. Kept confirming 3 rooms for 2 people. In March. We've cancelled...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monica H
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2015

A nice hotel, as you would expect for a Radisson Blu, and a great location on the bank of the river with great views, and very central in the town. Car parking has a charge to buy a ticket from a public machine. I ate in the restaurant, nice menu, nice food poor service. The rest of the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan t
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Alan t Thank you also for your Hotel review. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We all work hard to ensure that every guest experiences our property at its best. We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon. Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. We didn't use car at all. There were a few hen parties staying in the hotel on Saturday night but we had requested a quiet room and fortunately we didn't hear any noise. I can only assume that the hotel separates large groups from others. I would suggest that the hotel provides a table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6900DFfionam
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Fiona M Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Thank you also for taking the time to give us your feedback about the extra tables in the bedrooms. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Cannot recommend this hotel enough, all the staff could not do enough, had afternoon tea as part of a hen party package which was delicious-one of the best we have ever had. Lovely rooms and an excellent breakfast the next morning ☺ all staff were just brilliant, really made our wkend staying staying here, we had a party of 34...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foley272
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Foley272 Thank you so much for your very kind comments about many positive aspects of your visit with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I look forward to welcoming you back to us again. Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Reviewed November 9, 2015

The Radisson Blu Athlone is located in the center of Athlone on the Shannon River. The hotel is well appointed, very comfortable, and best of all, has a great staff. The hotel location is within walking distance to local restaurants, shops, and pubs. This is a great place to stay when visiting the Athlone area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyke2Travel4
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Lyke2Travel4 Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay with at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I am delighted that you had such a great experience and we cannot wait to see you again in near future. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Ashbourne, Ireland
Reviewed November 8, 2015

We stayed here on June of this year and because we complained about our room having a number of noisy old air conditioning units outside our window, the management kindly gave us an upgrade on this visit. Unfortunately we didn't have a great stay. We are both non smokers and on entering the room were disgusted at the smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine S
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Celine S Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit. I will discuss the smoking smell issue with our Housekeeping Team and also ask our Maintenance Team to check the pipe outside your room. Thank you for bringing all matters to my...

laois
Reviewed November 5, 2015

stayed here for an event, the room was very small, overlooked the roof, and really quite basic considering we paid 150e for the night , so think its very overpriced, the breakfast was ok but barely warm, on the second morning we tried to attract someones attention to get some tea but were ignored they were more interested in clearing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drunkengauger
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Drunkengauger Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. I really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit. Please accept apologise for any shortcomings during your stay. I will discuss the breakfast issues with our Head Chef...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed November 2, 2015

As it was a last minute weekend trip away, i booked the junior suite as it was the only room remaining. I'd hoped i'd be treated to something a bit better then the average room. Instead what i got was a fairly large room with just two extra arm chairs in the middle of the room. Apparently this identifies it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tboy33
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Sitonmagee I really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit. Please accept apologise for any shortcomings during your stay. Next time you are coming to stay in our hotel, please let me know as I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to us. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

676 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (268)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,821 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $71 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Rezidor, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Good see your room before you agree to that room”
rtg933, 1 week ago | Read review
“Riverfront room if you can get it without being ripped off!”
431Globetrotter, 1 week ago | Read review
“ask for a room over looking the Marina.”
J478ISmichaelb, 1 week ago | Read review
“Turn off heating room very warm”
4eimearm, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make the bathroom door sliding ”
emil12335, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$147* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$147
Booking.com$147
Cancelon$153
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates