We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,540 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,500: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed November 22, 2015

My partner and I booked in as part of a group of friends last weekend and had requested a river view which was kindly granted. The room itself was a little dated in decor and we were surprised to see old style TVs for a Radisson Blu. having stayed in many Radissons over the last few years. Unfortunately the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miriam123dublin4
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Miriam123dublin4 Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize for any discomfort caused by the temperature of your room and that the heating was not working properly. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. I will ensure all those you mentioned will know about your kind remarks. I am delighted to hear that...

Leicester, UK
Reviewed November 22, 2015

Stayed here for a conference. Rooms comfortable & clean, bathroom had toiletries, tv reception terrible. Bar well stocked & staff friendly & helpful. Restaurant dinner food good, breakfast buffet a bit poor quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicnoodle
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear nicnoodle I really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I can understand your disappointment about our TV’s, we are in the process of changing them to flat screen TV’s. Thank you also for your feedback about our breakfast I will discuss this matter with...

Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Booked hotel a week and a half in advance & requested payment to be charged prior to arrival, had confirmation of this week prior to arrival. Arrived payment had not gone through and receptionist embarrassed & upset us. Chose to stay else where

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Michelle M Thank you for sharing your experience. I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention and have shared your comments with hotel management. Your feedback is valued and helps us to continually improve services at the hotel. Kind regards, Sinead Marron General Manager Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Naas, Ireland
Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

While the room was adequate, what is the story with the round plugs around the bed?This is Ireland, not mainland Europe. Bed was ok, bits of broken handles etc lying around the floor. Tv remote didn't work. This hotel has lots of potential but has serious flaws.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank papadelta83
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Papadelta83 We really appreciate you letting us know about your experience during your recent visit and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I can understand your dismay on this occasion as your stay did not live up to the standard that our guests can expect of our hotel. Due to your valuable feedback we can ensure that...

Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

...And so did we since the mattress was a little worn. On the plus side the hotel is in a great location for the restaurants and pubs in Athlone (we tried Sean's Bar and Hatters) and other local things to do. We were also lucky enough to have a view along the Shannon from the top floor. The food in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAJ13
Dublin
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Let's get straight down to brass tacks here! If you're looking for somewhere to lay your head because you're going boozing in athlone for the night then it's grand. If you're on business / nice break with your other half probably wouldn't recommend so much. Despite the many huge signs in the car park telling you to pay, parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrishSailor08
Cobh, Ireland
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

My first ever stay in athlone. So it was a great base to explore from. Also lovely to have some quiet time. Lovely breakfast. I was also happy to get a room here at short notice at the bank holiday weekend. I will return some day. A handy central place to stay on the way to the north west

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CobhCathedral
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed November 13, 2015

tried to book this hotel for a family break away in May of next year, firstly they kept coming back with confirmations for March, then couldn't get their heads around 3 people in a family room, 2 people in a double room, and 1 person in a single room. Kept confirming 3 rooms for 2 people. In March. We've cancelled...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monica H
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2015

A nice hotel, as you would expect for a Radisson Blu, and a great location on the bank of the river with great views, and very central in the town. Car parking has a charge to buy a ticket from a public machine. I ate in the restaurant, nice menu, nice food poor service. The rest of the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan t
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Alan t Thank you also for your Hotel review. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We all work hard to ensure that every guest experiences our property at its best. We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon. Kind regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. We didn't use car at all. There were a few hen parties staying in the hotel on Saturday night but we had requested a quiet room and fortunately we didn't hear any noise. I can only assume that the hotel separates large groups from others. I would suggest that the hotel provides a table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6900DFfionam
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Fiona M Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone and also for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Thank you also for taking the time to give us your feedback about the extra tables in the bedrooms. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

669 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (261)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,784 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $70 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book early and as high as you can to see Athlone castle best and listen to the water running over the weir at night.”
fergal115, 3 days ago | Read review
“Room with a river view and higher up”
MaireadMayo, 6 days ago | Read review
“Very thing was nice.”
GrahamV696, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river”
Eily1961, 1 week ago | Read review
“Stayed in business class over looking the river Shannon. Lovely room with a great view. Poor wifi quality though”
obeeone11, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question