We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Natural Retreats Castlemartyr

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlemartyr
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Natural Retreats Castlemartyr
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely break in lovely accommodation. Accommodation very clean, modern, spacious and family friendly. Plenty to do on site and a short drive away. Very enjoyable for parents and children. Have gone for the last three years and plan on going next year as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank quinn_m61
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in castlemartyr lodges for five days. Accommodation & facilities were perfect for all ages from 15 months to over 60. Weather fabulous and plenty to do. Spa and afternoon tea at hotel topped it off. All in all a great place to visit with fantastic surroundings. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Bridie C
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the mews on the castlemartyr grounds, they are old and quaint looking on the outside but inside they are quite modern, tastefully decorated, with all essentials supplied, and Wi-Fi included. Use of all amenities in the hotel, lovely walks in the forest and up around the lodges, very pleasant

Helpful?
Thank barbaraebbsmcdonald3
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our second time staying at the Natural Retreats Castlemartyr. We chose it because of the location (close to family), the standard of accommodation, the opportunity to use the resort facilities and the fact that there are beaches and plenty of activities nearby. It didn't disappoint. The properties are well maintained although parts did look like they could do... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolyoughal
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the picturesque mews properties, which are run independently of the hotel - but enable guests to use all the hotel facilities (most notably gym and pool) free. Apart from a slight musty smell in the hallway, the mews was great - good size, well-maintained and with all cooking and cleaning facilities. Also, given that it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BarryGraham
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel and spa were great and the lodge was very large - but that was the only good thing about it all! Very tired, badly kitted out and the place echoed! When raining the noise of the water drops was incredible! TV soo small for sitting room and terrible signal! Far too expensive for what we got!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cndunn
Natural_Retreats, Manager at Natural Retreats Castlemartyr, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your stay at Castlemartyr. Feedback is always important so that we can improve upon the product that we offer. I was pleased that we were able to discuss this with you directly and I look forward to welcoming you back to Natural Retreats again in the future. Kind regards, Joe More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having seen The Mews house, castlemartyr , online, we booked for four nights. We were very disappointed with the accommodation. The walls of the house were dirty. The skirting boards were dirty and chipped, The Venetian blinds were not operable IE the blind cords had been knotted so very hard to put blinds up and down. The bathroom tiles were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fussypants2015
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our mews was very comfortable and clean .we had difficulty getting hot water and heating to function properly particularly for the upstairs areas. Hamper was appreciated but could have been a bit more generous in quantities for six people. Instructions should be more readily available and clearer. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank olga501
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely setting, close to the village of Castlemartyr. The cottages feel really private and are quiet, but the proximity to the hotel give full scope to access the hotel's amenities, such as the Spa, restaurants and bar. The staff at the hotel couldn't be nicer. The cottages are clean and well-equipped, and the welcome pack of wine, bread, cheese, tea... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 296missyjayne
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Mews 6 very disappointing big room with ensuite upstairs . Downstairs two small double bedrooms. At end of small corridor was a small bathroom . There was a low arch on way to bathroom if anyone was six foot in height you needed to duck your head . This bathroom was to be shared with 4 people... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keen P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Castlemartyr Resort
#2 of 3 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amid Cork's most picturesque woodlands, Castlemartyr (Baile na Martra) is a breathtaking destination richly steeped in Emerald Isle history and tradition. A historical village with a range of sites of archaeological and socio-cultural interest Castlemartyr reflects virtually every era in the country's history and pre-history. Holidays in Cork are extremely popular and it´s not hard to see why. Natural Retreats, Castlemartyr is the ideal location for that much needed break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Castlemartyr

Address: Castlemartyr Resort, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Number of rooms: 40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing