We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Cobh Co. Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently had occasion to dine again at the Commodore Hotel for Lunch. The service was fabulous with a very efficient and friendly Nicola. My choice of Mussels when theyb came were mouthwatering. Well done to the chef and the staff !!

Helpful?
Thank TitanicCobh
Palmerstown, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice place, although very dated. Two bands on in 1 night, free parking but limited €20 deposit ask at reception for fob. Staff very friendly, bouncers on entrance at night, kids let run around hotel, which is annoying if kids not staying with you and your there for a quiet night away. Steep stairs to rooms, there is a lift... More 

Helpful?
Thank omeara86
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had lunch here yesterday with 5 friends. All of us ordered the Seafood Tagliatelle and each of us LOVED it! We'd hunted around since one of our group doesn't eat meat and we were looking for a place with a few options for her. Staff were attentive, prices were great: definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here 3 times now altogether. Can't find any fault with it so far. It's in an ideal location with great views of the harbour. The staff are friendly and non intrusive. Breakfast and food in general is very good. Would recommend this hotel for a short stop to anyone

Helpful?
Thank pat o
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had lovely food here! A lovely girl called Julie served us. She was so nice telling us all about the history of the town. The food was really tasty and nice :-)We will be back very soon. :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) ;-) :-) all smiles all round here. Thank yoi

Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We got to our room it's was clean and tidy I woke up every hour on the hour new beds could be need as they make noise when you turn in the king beds could be optional You can here ppl walk out side your door and above you 😡😡😡😡 it's ok when you don't have you get up early... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna O
Istanbul
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We paid €135 for a double room B&B. The hotel is dated but has some charm to be fair. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean. Breakfast was decent also. Overall it was no different to a B&B stay with the exception that we had a bath in our room which was welcome. I understand that a hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phelono1
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your feedback in relation your stay. Our rates would be reflective of the time of the season and the hotel's central location with harbour views. In addition we do offer a roof garden, full bar, bar food and restaurant service. We are working on additional points... More 

Newtownabbey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to take the grandparents for a run down to Cobh for lunch, so we all settled on going here. I felt the staff were lovely and were very attentive to my old folks who are in their 80s. The food was served pretty fast and was lovely. I will definitely be back again with the family

Helpful?
Thank Tootsystar
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your food and we look forward to welcoming you and the grandparents back again soon Regards, Robert Fitzpatrick Assistant Managing Director Commodore Hotel More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had food here last week and it was terrible. Probably the worst food I have eaten in a long time and felt physically sick all evening afterwards. I had the chicken and it was disgusting. My wife had fish and had to leave it behind. I went to the bathroom and they were in a dreadful state. Would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reddevil86
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi reviewer, We are all very disappointed to hear that you would not recommend the hotel after your recent experience. We would have loved to have been given an opportunity to deal with your complaint on the day however we do not have any record of the matters you have identified. Unfortunately the hotel toilets are used locally by the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cobh hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although we knew what we were getting (thanks to Trip Advisor), this hotel really, really needs an overhaul - from the decor to the carpets. We enjoyed the history, but would pass on this one next time. It was also loud - we could hear everything right outside our door.

Helpful?
Thank CatherineCDavis
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are working hard at getting the hotel upgraded but do feel that it is currently to an acceptable standard for our customers. If you do change your mind and have an opportunity to return we would love to hear from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Price Range: $90 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay