We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skellig Star Hotel

O'Connell Street, Cahersiveen V23 H729 Ireland
Traveler (25)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (1)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Cahersiveen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Skellig Star Hotel is situated in Caherisveen which is at the midway point of the Ring of Kerry. Ideally located in a traditional town surrounded by stunning view of the sea and mountains. Escape from a busy life by choosing to stay in one of our standard rooms or pamper yourself by choosing a deluxe room.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast Available
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Kids pool
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
96Reviews
0Q+A
15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 36
  • 10
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed in room 121 for 2 days- beautiful room with lovely touches- i.e. water and wine - excellent food- could not fault anything- staff were lovely - Jonathan was in the breakfast bar and a lovely helpful fella- so nice to the quests- keep him !
Read more
lovely quiet location, nice bar restaurant lobby and compact rooms. all was very clean and the food was delicious and seemed to concentrate on local product.the leisure centre was also compact, clean and pleasantly warm.
Read more
+1
Spent two nights here last weekend and we really enjoyed it. There is private parking around the back of the hotel for guests. We received a very warm welcome at reception, and got a room on the first floor. The room itself was small and was dominated by the dark frame of a four-poster bed. Lighting wasn’t great, nor was hanging clothes storage. We had no view from our room except a slated angled roof down under us. The room and bathroom were very clean, as was the whole hotel, but the bathroom definitely would benefit from an upgrade. There was the usual hospitality tray in our room and bottled water, which is always very welcome. Sleep quality was excellent on both nights, and the breakfast was very good. Because there were only a few guests staying, hot breakfasts were cooked to order rather than the usual self-service. It was exceptionally warm at the weekend (thankfully!) and air conditioning is not something we are used to in Ireland, but we definitely would have benefitted from it on this occasion. We did have a look at the leisure centre and had intended using the pool but we were so busy sightseeing on both days that we just collapsed into bed at the end of both days! We dined in the hotel on our first evening (it was part of an online deal) and the 3-course meal we had was quite substantial. The waiter was particularly good, considering he was running the show on his own on Saturday evening and was getting demands from everywhere. We were not sure if this was normally the case, or if some staff just hadn't shown up. Food in this hotel is very good, staff are really friendly and it all made for a lovely stay. Cahirciveen is a great base to use for touring around the Iveragh Peninsula. There is plenty to be seen and lots of lovely places to visit. It is a much bigger town than you might expect and there are some nice restaurants there if you would like a change from eating in your hotel. As we checked out we were given a goody bag with two bottles of water and two packets of chewy mints for our journey home. This is really a nice touch. Before we left Cahirciveen we just had to call into Banks newsagents in the main street – they sell the most delicious ice-cream. We were last here three years ago and we had decided that if we ever came back, we would get some of that ice-cream. It is probably the nicest ice-cream in Ireland, it is creamy and yummy and definitely worth a try!
Read more
Response from SkelligStarHotelTeam, Front Office Manager at Skellig Star Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review of Skellig Star Hotel We are glad you had an entertaining stay in Cahersiveen and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the waiter from Saturday night Hope to see you again soon
Read more
room spotless. meals brilliant. location excellent. will come back as soon as possible and will tell all my friends about it .close to lovely local pubs friendly local people and great sing songs could not ask for more
Read more
Response from SkelligStarHotelTeam, Front Office Manager at Skellig Star Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for your positive review and I'm happy to hear you got involved in a good auld sing song Thank you again for your review and choosing to stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit. Many Thanks Stephanie and All the Staff
Read more
Today my sister returned for Sunday lunch and not disappointed. The only thing was missing on my beef was horseradish sauce which is a must in my house. My sister had turkey which was presented well too. Sauce next time please Susan and Cindy
Read more
Response from SkelligStarHotelTeam, Front Office Manager at Skellig Star Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Susan, Happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch Since your review we have restocked the kitchen with horse radish sauce On your next visit be sure to let us know of any sides you might want and we will be happy to get it for you We look forward to your next visit
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCahersiveen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing