We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Holyrood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Holyrood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 990: English reviews
dundalk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The holyrood is a beautyfull hotel, super breakfast and evening meals the pool ect was great, staff could not do enough for you, i have read alot about the dated decor as they put it, the decor is lovely, homely warm and comfortable if its marble counter tops and modern stainless steal trimmings in your room then this is maby... More 

Helpful?
Thank oxo345
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oxo345, thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holyrood in the future. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great car park, really friendly happy staff, room was okey it smelled of damp and could be doing with a bit of updating, spa treatments was good really enjoyed my back massage didn't think much of the Yonka facial but that's just me, the relaxation room was noise as was the treatment room. The food was good and breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay. I do hope that you will vist with us again in the not so distant future. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Travelers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

antrim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I went to the holyrood hotel for an autumn break in mid September,When we arrived at reception we were given our room number and key,we are both pensioners and my husband is waiting for knee surgery and has to use a stick to get around,there was no one at hand to offer help with our luggage,there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ethnamurray1
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ethnamurray1, further to your review of your recent stay with us. I am most disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I am sorry that your allocated room did not meet your expectations.The Holyrood is a family run hotel and it is not our policy to have patrons leave unhappy with service and hospitality they... More 

Tallaght, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for two nights from the 9th-11th September in room 162. The room itself needs updating badly, all the furniture is very old and the bathroom had bits missing! Also half the TV channels did not work properly and the shower was COLD! But that's not the worst of it, what we were most put out by was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jen551
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jen551, further to your review of your recent stay with us. I am most disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. The Holyrood is a family run hotel and it is not our policy to have patrons leave unhappy with service and hospitality they receive. It is regrettable that I did not get the opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good and staff are very helpful rooms a little dated but comfortable the bar and lounge is very dated as well but it very cosy food is very good overall great place to stay would like to go back for a another stay well worth the money

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian R, thank you for your review of your recent stay . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the Hollyrood in September for 5 nights with our 11 month old baby. The staff were fantastic especially the staff serving the breakfast every morning. They were great with the baby and gave us all we needed. The pool was great. We were in the pool every morning. I had 2 spa treatments which were amazing. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire M, thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that you found the staff friendly and accommodating. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i stayed here with my partner for 2 nights, we just wanted a nice relaxing break, avoid this hotel if u like quiet as its extremely noisy. we had 3 different rooms in 2 nights as the first room was just above the bar and we couldnt even watch tv in the room as the music was so loud, i... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clare R, further to your review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry if you were disturbed by the music in the bar. We usually have entertainment at the weekends until 12.30 am. Many of our guest enjoy the entertainment and I am sorry if you were hoping for a quieter experience. The Holyrood is a very... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked end of july for a family holiday after hearing not seeing reports about the hotel. From outside looked amazing central to everything easily found. Modern looking outside. Downstairs lobby looked good clean tidy. Bit dated interiour but ok. We had asked for 2 twin rooms and large family room. Didnt happen! Parents both disabled. They got 1 double room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris E
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, further to your recent stay with us, I am sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I am sorry that your allocated rooms were not suitable for your requirements. The Holyrood plays hosts to many families over the summer months because of our excellent kids club and the entertainment we provide, I am... More 

Crossgar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a really good deal so decided to go for our wedding anniversary. In terms of quality this hotel is so close and yet so far it is frustrating. The spa therapists are fantastic and the treatments we got, a back massage and an all over body massage each, were really first class - no complaints about them whatsoever.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernie B, further to your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the spa. I am sorry that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that we take all customer feedback very seriously and your comments will be discussed at our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and i are just after a lovely relaxing two night stay-(this is our second occassion to stay at the Holyrood! )We were delighted with our room! We had the non-smoking refurbuished room which was very clean! The staff from arrival to leaving couldnt do enough for you! The food was fantastic and the spa was heaven! We personally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theresafins
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theresafins, thank you for your kind comments we really do appreciate such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you both again very soon. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

308 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (278)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
17.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 stars 3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Price Range: $97 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay