We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kenmare Failte Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kenmare Failte Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Midwest US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay here for only one night to launch our drive through the ring of Kerry. Great, no nonsense, clean and somewhat romantic older place but modern in conveniences. We had an ensuite room which was spacious and clean. The room was ready when we got there so we dumped our bags and explored all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mo-roc
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a lovely stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel is clean and feels warm. Staff is attentive and kind and everything has this home-like atmosphere. The place was a large house once (at least, it seems like that), so it has around six rooms, which are excellent regarding prices. You will, of course, sleep well and have a good stay. =)

Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you felt warm and cosy! We are a family-run Hostel so we do our best to make you feel at home. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You feel as if you enter your home as soon as you walk over the tiles in the entrance. Warm welcome by the staff. Our room in the highest floor unfortunately had the problem that water (sweaty or rain wet clothes) would mostly stay in the room. Well organized kitchen which invites to cook and stay there. Warmly furnished lounge... More 

Helpful?
Thank dellam0re
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a nice stay with us. Our bedrooms are not suitable for 'drying' clothes-we do offer to dry your clothes if you had asked. We also have designated areas to hang your clothes so they can dry! Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The value, location, and comfort of this hostel simply can not be beat. We stayed in a private room which was spacious, with comfortable beds and a view of the Main Street. There are two kitchens with excellent cooking supplies, dishes, and anything else you could need. It was a pretty social hostel and would be great for solo travelers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Wow-thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted we are one of the best hostels you have stayed in. We would love to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

very good value. central location. clean comfortable room with ensuite. ideal for families. wifi available. parking easily found in nearby car park. very friendly warm welcome. will definitely visit again

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Failte Hostel and the owner helped me out when I had been in a miserable situation. They had a bed for me as soon I asked them, and made sure everything was okay. The hostel is one of the best I ever wnt to, and it gives you more of a feeling being at home. Kitchen is big, tidy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank schani353
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

You are very welcome. We are glad to have been able to help you and make you feel at home. We hope you will visit us again. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while on the ring of Kerry. The hostel is located in the centre of the town but is still quiet at night. The dorm rooms were clean and in good condition as were the bathrooms. There is a spacious kitchen and common room downstairs with good facilities. The staff were pleasant and helpful and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MM6298
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Delighted you had a lovely stay with us and we would love to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Being in our 50's and on our first Euro vacation, it probably is not the best idea to stay at a hostel, but we took a chance and it was one of the best decisions we made. The price is incredible (for our own room!) and the location could not be better. So you have to walk down the hall... More 

Helpful?
Thank shorembo
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted we made your first stay in our Hostel - an enjoyable one! We hope you will visit us soon. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

We stayed in the dorm style room and were pleased with the room's noise level and temperature. The shower was hot and we enjoyed being able to have a kitchen to use and a living room to read or visit. The location of the hostel is very handy to walk to all of the town's main amenities.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

This was my first time staying at a hostel, and it was a great experience. The price was great and everything was very clean and well taken care of. It is in a great location, right off the main street and within in walking distance to some great sights.

Helpful?
Thank rkpropp11
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Kenmare Fáilte Hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back some day soon hopefully. Warm Regards, Aoife. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.1 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Fáilte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Fáilte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is FREE wifi provided in public areas downstairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Price Range: $42 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay