We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silverdale Guest House & Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skinidin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Silverdale Guest House & Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Central Florida, Florida
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We only had one night at Silverdale, but I so wish we had many, many more. We had "Room 2" which is really an apartment unto itself. The place was beyond comfortable (sheepskin rugs were a new and wonderful experience for us) ! I can be a bit particular about cleanliness and I had absolutely no complaints at Silverdale. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katlamons
silverdale99, Owner at Silverdale Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. It was great to meet you.

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

We booked this place for 3 nights as it was close to the Three Chimneys and because it had great reviews. However on arrival at the cottage behind the main house we had obviously made a mistake with our booking as we were extremely disappointed. The cottage was outdated and very dirty. The good reviews must be about the studio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
silverdale99, Owner at Silverdale Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Silverdale cottage. The reviews that say they are of the cottage are indeed that and as you can see people generally have a good experience. We do have more luxurious accomodation and hope to offer something that will suit a variety of tastes and budgets. We try to...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Silverdale was recommended by the Three Chimneys restaurant as it is an easy walk between both. Our bedroom was more a suite with sofa, tv and table and chairs in the attached room. Extensive pre-breakfast options were in the fridge, including yoghurt, fruit, cereal as well as tea, filter coffee and even prosecco! The bathroom had robes, slippers and lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
Llanferres, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We stayed 3 nights before travelling to the Outer Isles and were very taken with the cottage. Not large but very comfortable with everything we needed and a little more! Our Labrador was made most welcome although Skye isn't the greatest place for dogs due to free roaming cattle and sheep, plenty of places for enjoyable lead walks, bird watching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NWalesMutley
N Ireland
Reviewed August 10, 2016

My wife and I booked the cottage for three nights with the intention of dining in the Three Chimneys restaurant on one of the evenings. Jeni was there to welcome us and show us around when we arrived. The cottage was very clean, cosy and exceptionally well furnished. The views from the windows were fantastic. We had arranged for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey_JonesNIreland
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Main reason for booking was to dine at Three Chimneys as part of our honeymoon highlands tour. Couldn't be happier with our meal out and the silverdale house and cottages are both within easy walking distance (studio rooms are a tiny bit closer). The studio room we had was amazing. Very clean, comfy and well furnished with a kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnakebab1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

By good fortune we ended up in the unadvertised studio close to the Three Chimneys where we were eating. It was perfect. Great modern accommodation, but still cosy with wonderful views of the sea loch outside. A plentiful continental breakfast was provided for the morning, after a very comfortable sleep in a great bed. Would recommend a chat with Jeni...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carricklass
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 22, 2016

The Cottage was quaint, beautiful, and cosy. It was a self-contained cottage perched above the bed and breakfast that offers beautiful views out to Loch Dunvegan from the bedroom window, and lounge windows. There was plenty of light (skylights and windows), facilities (including full kitchen, washing machine, bathroom, fireplace, and electric heaters), and our host, Jeni was extremely welcoming, accomodating,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apostcardfromus
Arlington, Texas
Reviewed May 6, 2016

Just a four minute walk from the Three Chimney restaurant, we stayed in the Studio Room (essentially half of a duplex) for our one night on Skye. The owner is friendly and accommodating. This is obviously a very new place, and the interior is quite modern and very nice. The bathroom was large and very sleek, and we found that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rambler541
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2015

This is a home from home in a beautiful setting. You will receive a warm welcome and an excellent breakfast which you will eat looking out at a marvellous view. The accommodation is excellent. We will not hesitate to return here if we are travelling up this way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skinidin
21.1 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
333 reviews
16.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
931 reviews
37.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hillstone Lodge
Hillstone Lodge
#1 of 3 in Colbost
184 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Tables Guest House
The Tables Guest House
#3 of 10 in Dunvegan
145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 8 in Glendale
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Silverdale Guest House & Cottage

Address: Skindin | Colbost, Skinidin IV55 8ZS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Skinidin
Price Range: $101 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Silverdale Guest House & Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The standalone cottage is well worth it! Ideally suited for sunrise, the sunsets behind the crest.”
 of 5 bubbles Apostcardfromus, May 22, 2016 | Read review
“Studio room is about a five minute walk to the Three Chimneys so if you are a couple looking to have a few wines and not need to drive then this is the place for you!”
 of 5 bubbles JayneN14, Apr 26, 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question