We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ripon Spa Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 7 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ripon Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ripon Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 653: English reviews
Sedgefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Visited the Ripon Spa for the "umpteenth" time a couple of weeks ago for a "Winter Warmer" weekend break and, as usual, it didn't disappoint. The Hotel staff were welcoming and efficient, as always, the room - perfect with lovely view over gardens, the food - wonderful! Looking forward to visiting again in the first half of next year. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to announce that our 2 and 3 night winter warmer breaks (including a £25 voucher to spend in the Turf) are back by popular demand in 2015. Thanks for posting your review and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a christmas dinner here friday food and staff where excellent we all had a fabulous time. Decorations looked lovely we were escorted into the lounge for pre dinner drinks where there was a lovely real fire all in all lovely time

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey A
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Sally says thank you! We all agree she has done a wonderful job with the Christmas decorations again this year. More 

Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent the evening here, at an organised big party dinner. The hotel was decorated for the season of Christmas but the staff were all rather subdued. We went through to our room, it looked lovely, but the temperature was far too low,...and most of the assembled 28 were all feeling it! The food served was delicious, obviously cooked fresh on... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladiesabouttown
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable evening left you feeling chilly. We certainly need to ensure that in winter that the Garden Room is as warm and inviting as the lounge with the open fire where you enjoyed your welcome drinks. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Arived Arrived in a cold night in December The spa in the name is misleading I think the spa is the old swimming pool next door bur there is no actual spa in the hotel . The hotel has lots of history and is clean but looks like it could do with a facelift and a proper hotel carpet. the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoyalPiper57
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you were cold, the temperature did drop dramatically last week, but the hotel should still have been warm so please accept our apologies. We are very proud of our name and its heritage dating back to the 1900’s when Ripon tried to improve its economy with a scheme to bring sulphur spring water to the city.... More 

Bedale, North Yorks
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Just had a very successfull black tie dinner, 100 guests, all looked after very proffesionally, food provided was of an exceptional standard, the Ball Room was decorated for christmas which added to the occasion, my Wife and I have received a number of thank you's and very favourable coments, in fact the venue has been booked already for next year.... More 

Helpful?
Thank colinandkath
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to all the staff and for choosing the Ripon Spa Hotel for your dinner again next year. With very best wishes and see you in a year’s time! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

If you want a relaxed country hotel with excellent personal service, spacious lounge and dining rooms, a cosy bistro bar all with log fires and surrounded by lovely gardens then this is for you! Some of the outside looks a bit tired but the warmth of the inside makes up for it. The team work like a family, and nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthea C
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for comparing us to a family – we hope that every guest feels welcome and at home here at The Ripon Spa Hotel. Hope you will visit again next year. More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This was our 4th stay this year and we have never been disappointed. Our room was clean and warm with crisp white bedding and plenty hot water for a nice soak in the bath before bedtime. Being able to sit and relax with a coffee and a book by a roaring fire in the lounge any time throughout the day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Norma N
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Finney Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review and for your loyal custom throughout this year. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2015. With kind regards from all the staff More 

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 nights break as advertised on their web site and have to say it was excellent value for money. The hotel was warm and clean, our (upgraded at no cost) room was very spacious as was it's bath / shower room. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and the full... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank simon A
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for spreading the word about our 3 nights’ winter warmer break, only available direct from the hotel, and at £199 for 3 nights’ bed and full English breakfast for two plus a £25 voucher to spend in the Turf Bar & Bistro on one evening no wonder they are so popular! More 

Tenby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We held my mothers 90th birthday party here at the Ripon Spa. The hotel offered us their 'Garden Room' which was ideal for the occasion. The food served, a three course lunch, was excellent and the service was very attentive. All of the guests were very impressed and my mother was delighted with her day. A big thank you to... More 

Helpful?
Thank RiccardoTenby
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

So glad to hear that your mother’s 90th birthday was a great success, congratulations again to the birthday girl from all the staff! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

the staff were friendly and helpful, I agree with comments made by others, re shower not the strongest water supply but it worked. The building is dated, and this is part of the ambience of staying in this type of hotel. Lovely views of the garden to the rear of the property. The room was clean and tidy, decoration was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review and we hope you will stop off again on your next trip north! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#4 of 7 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 4,099 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Moorhouse
The Moorhouse
#1 of 1 in Kirkby Malzeard
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Price Range: $101 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay