We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Brunel Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Brunel Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was lovely, nothing to complain about, had a good stay and would go back and certainly will be, the staff were very accommodating and welcoming, pub lovely and warm and inviting. Suitable for families.

Helpful?
Thank 702swoodward
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words & positive feedback. We are aware of our limitations and that the Pub & rooms need a revamp, and we do the best we can considering; hence the 'budget accomodation'; so it's always greatly appreciated when someone takes the time to give us positive feedback. Thank you again :) More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Was shown to room by friendly staff member and was told door wedged open with chair to air the room.this turned out not to be the reason. The reason was that we found out that the skylight window did not shut properly and when it rained on our second nights stay the rain came in and I got wet. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank barry171053
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Barry, Thank you for your review. However, I would like to correct you on your assumption & do sincerely apologise if you had a wet bed.... The reason I/we leave the doors wedged open is in fact to air the rooms upstairs, as there is only one window on the landing/corridors, and when Jim & I arrived here to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saltash hotels

Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016

I booked this B&B pub, after reading some poor reviews, which then appeared to be improving after new people had taken over. I was really looking forward to writing a good review, about how friendly and accommodating the new hosts were... After checking in on the 19th September 2016, The rooms were okay, clean mostly, and beds comfortable. The bath... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCowley17
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Really sorry about the bread!! We should check it each day, or maybe just do away with the facility which we introduced late July to make things a bit more homely for customers, as it would make my life a lot easier to be honest... :) Just to clarify, we do not own this Pub and this is not... More 

Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016

I would really recommend to have a meal here, food is excellent and served very quick and the people that run this established are very helpful and pleasant i myself have not stayed here but have been in many times for a meal, can,t fault them in any way. its a must try.

Helpful?
Thank 575lindy59
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your kind review, unfortunately we are not serving food at the moment, but Jim had great fun preparing it & we really enjoyed the fact that as far as we are aware everyone that are here left happy & satisfied! Thanks again for taking the time :) More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Arrived and checked in. This was the smoothest part of the visit. Room 10 was my room. No curtains or blinds at the window. Went to the bar and advised of this to which the member of staff said its budget accommodation..... Ummmm but curtains???? Anyway. He came to check out what could be done. As the Windows was on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jimmy C, thanks for your review, however you clearly weren't in Room 10 as Room 10 has curtains.... I presume you were actually in Room 9, which is unfortunately the only room without a block out curtain or blind, it was that way when we got here at the end of April. As Jim informed you, We manage The... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016

So we came down to Cornwall for a weekend, was the boyfriends first time in Cornwall. Saw the Brunel Inn and thought ooh! Cheap! The beds were slightly uncomfortable, we got given a room at the front, so suffered with a lot of noise for pretty much the whole weekend. The room itself was nice, pretty dated but sufficient for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly186298
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, not sure why you didn't shout for an additional towel?? It would have probably been an oversight, and we were also probably busy with doing laundry while the room was made up so may have run out at the time, as we have limited resources & manage the Pub on behalf of a holding company. We... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2016

A bit dated but clean and comfortable. Very good value for money @ £35 a night. ( eg. The Travellodge outside town wanted £68 per night). In the centre of town so handy for everything. Buses to Plymouth every few minutes from across the road , takes about 20 mins . Ideal cheap and cheerful base camp. Food looked good... More 

Helpful?
Thank alfLankyLad
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Check inn was very smooth, shown where our room was and left to it, spent a few hours in the bar in the afternoon, lovely friendly staff and great service, because of this we decided to eat our evening meal here, menu isnt vast but the quality of the meals we had were superb, we stayed in room 3 which... More 

Helpful?
Thank shaggyboy1971
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words... it's really very heart warming for us... Jim & I took over managing the Brunel very late in April & must admit that the previous reviews made us a bit 'nervous'... but we dived in & it makes it all the more worth it for us and our hard working staff when our... More 

1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

What an incredibly welcoming place to stay! Yes, the Brunel needs an update and a lick of paint. But other than that, it felt like a home from home. Jim and Claudia (the new managers) could not have been more welcoming. It can often be difficult to keep our full family 'happy', with a one year old and fourteen year... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marypr18
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thank you so much for your kind words!! It's been an absolute pleasure for all of us to have you & your family at the Inn & for to do our best to accommodate you. Moving countries / homes is never easy, & Cornwall is pretty new for us too & we're also loving it. Please don't be... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2016

This was a very good value for money place to stay. The rooms need updating but nothing too serious, a coat of paint and lighter coloured furnuture might help. Having curtains would be a must as soon s possible. The welcome we got from Jimmy and the staff was very good. The home cooked food in the bar was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Claudia K, Manager at The Brunel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for your kind review. Yup The Brunel Inn is definitely feeling a tad tired, and hopefully a revamp is on the cards in the not too distant future!! We're really delighted that you enjoyed the food & hospitality & hopefully you will pop by again! Thanks again Jim & Claudia :) (PS: I presume... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
2.6 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cardinals Hatt
The Cardinals Hatt
#8 of 11 in Saltash
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Brunel Inn is a family pub situated in the main high street in Saltash, Cornwall. We have 10 budget bedrooms at The Brunel Inn all with en-suite bathrooms. We cater for holiday makers, business people & contractors. The front of the Pub is situated on the high street (Fore Street) and at the rear is our car park for about 15 cars, and also a small decked area for outside drinking and smoking. The Brunel Inn is operated as a friendly local's pub. We have darts and pool and there is occasional entertainment on some weekends in the front bar. Food is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm & from 5.00pm to 8.00pm. Saltash is the first town you come to in Cornwall after crossing the Tamar Bridge from Devon on the A38. Saltash is a small Cornish town with a high street with some small restaurants, cafes and a few other drinking establishments along side the local shops. There are views along the Tamar river with boating and moorings available. Saltash is 5 miles from Plymouth and the gateway to Cornwall. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brunel Inn

Address: 83 Fore Street, Saltash PL12 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Price Range: $40 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Brunel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brunel Inn Saltash, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Brunel Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
21 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Brunel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It can be noisy at the front, but its a small village, so not too much traffic at night.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyCowley17, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is right at the front... avoid if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Holly186298, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 faces the Main Street no curtains at window very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Perkie1964, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms are on the front.”
 of 5 bubbles N5115PGrichards, Dec 18, 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother to visit ever”
 of 5 bubbles dave1667, Sep 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay