We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Lea Hall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Lea Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family gathering of 9 adults and 10 kids ranging in ages from 6 to 84 we spent a long weekend at Lea Hall (the property is referred to as Derwent Manor on Tom&Kates and some other websites.) The property comprises 2 lounges, a very large dining room, reasonable sized but very well equipped kitchen (we self catered but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonEParsons
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016

I visited this property with my boyfriends family and had to write a review as I had such a lovely time. The property is fantastic, It was comfortable and full of character. Mnay reviews have mentioned that it is unkempt. I completely disagree! Yes it is old but that is explained, it was clean and charming. We were supplied with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zara R
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend with our family. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful Lea Hall is! It is very difficult finding accommodation for such a large family as ours and each bedroom having a bathroom was a huge benefit. I can see some of the reviewers had a bad experience but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suejames12
St. Kitts and Nevis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

My family and I stayed from 15th-17th January 2016 at lea hall in Matlock. The house is in a Beautiful location, cosy on arrival and packed with historic features - good for history buff. No problems cooking yet another turkey dinner. All the bedrooms having there own bathroom made the stressful family morning a lot easier.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016

Perfect for our Christmas Downton Party weekend, just like stepping back in time but with heating and lights, we made good use of the huge dining table and beautiful Wedgewood table service, the décor was just my taste, all the bedrooms were en-suite and a great size apart from one which was a bit small compared to the others.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jab R
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I am only just recovering from the trauma of staying here in October for my sisters 40th birthday. On arrival, the house felt unclean and unkempt, despite the high price charged for the stay. The worst was yet to come when 2 nights in to our stay, a fire broke out at 5am, there were no fire doors and the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Hopesprings70
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Firstly, I’d like to apologise that you thought your experience at Lea Hall was not up to the standards we strive to achieve. We were devastated to receive the phone call informing us of the fire on the morning of October 11th the last day of your three night stay, and made our way to Lea Hall as quickly as... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

Don't be fooled by grade 2 listed building that look idyllic it's a façade. I was lucky to escape with my life and nearly lost 3 generations of my family. A portable electric de-humidifier left on in cellar with a sign saying "DO NOT SWITCH OFF". We followed this advice and nearly cost us our lives when caught fire in... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank nanasusue
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Please see "Death trap property" same group More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

I would not recommend a stay here. Pictures look amazing but we stayed for a 40th birthday. There was a fire in the cellar. Fire alarms did not go off. No firecexits. No fire doors. No fire escapes on higher floors. Windows bolted shut. Only thing that saved our lives was a light sleeping member of the party....without this 20... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SmiggerLiverpool
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Please see "Death trap property" same group More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Just back and must say although we had a good family get together was disappointed by lea hall. No one to pass over keys told where the keys were hidden. Couldn't get into house till after 4:00 pm but had to leave by 10:00 am. Arrived Friday left Monday morning. In room were only left one bath towel and one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank relax19
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Unfortunately we can not show every guest in due to late arrivals etc, instead we arrange a key collection system, the arrival and departure time is known prior to booking as are the linen/towels supplied, so were unsure as to why this is referred to in this review, we are increasing our gardening time, but Im afraid the lovely old... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

The first thing we did before booking was to look at the very impressive photos and write up for lea hall, the reality was quite different, there were 20 of us including children on a self catering weeks stay, i wont knock the place as everyone has their own expectations, but dont expect luxury surroundings, nice clean decor, or conveniance... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

We are very sorry you didn't think Lea Hall met your expectations, we also do not consider Lea Hall a luxury property and neither advertise it as such or charge luxury prices, it is a period building of great character and we have spent considerable time and effort to retain this, we do not advertise having a washing machine or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.2 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Temple
The Temple
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Greyhound Hotel
Greyhound Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#6 of 48 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
0.5 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Suites

Additional Information about Lea Hall

Address: Lea, Matlock DE4 5GR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: $1,164 - $1,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lea Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay