We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at the weekend. Lovely clean, comfortable and warm room. Had a great sleep on comfortable bed. Breakfast was great with excellent local produce and also catered very well for my girlfriend who is a vegetarian. Close to the town centre and only a stones throw from the countryside. Plenty to see and do from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
babs2009_10, Owner at Cedar House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you. We are pleased that you found your time in our house pleasant and comfortable

Reviewed October 29, 2016

Very friendly, excellent service, tasteful decor. Best breakfast, fully caters for vegetarian and vegan diets. Charming room with quaint touches in room: TV, flower, dressing gowns, kettle, bottled water, coffee, tea, biscuits, chocolate bars. Very quiet. I go to Matlock monthly, and have tried many B&Bs. This is the best by far. The others should all learn from this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
Hertfordshire
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This guest house is in a good position for Matlock. It is set in a quiet road behind the High street and next to the river. There is a pedestrian bridge over the river to the park and all the amenities. The High street is full of restaurants, all within easy walking distance but you may need to book the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights, lovely welcome from the staff. Excellent choice of breakfast options. Comfortable bed. Good WiFi in our room (room 3). Quiet cul-de-sac very close to the park for early morning and late night walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Stayed recently having booked through booking.com for my girlfriend and myself. Arrived and checked in very simply and problem free. A lovely large room with an en suite, comfy bed and tea making facilities. TV also in the room. Wifi was provided but was a bit erratic, and didn't hit some areas of our bedroom but no bother at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2016

lovely welcome given as we arrived, the room was very spacious, light and spotlessly clean. The shower was brilliant and was really powerful (often a problem in older establishments) . all usual refinements were on hand, teas,coffees biscuits and spring water ( refreshed every day) The breakfasts were superb with a great choice, I can recommend the scrambled egg and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonymid
St.Albans
Reviewed June 4, 2016

Stayed one night and enjoyed it very much. Homely B&B with some nice touches (biccies, toiletries etc). Very welcoming and accommodating host. The room was spotlessly clean (did not bother to get out my mystery shopper telescopic "four in a bed" dust detector to check for inaccessible dust). Would prefer a duvet on the bed but that's a personal thing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grubhound
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 25, 2016

This place has a lovely location, in a little private road at the back of the main street with its own parking for four cars. The rooms are nicely furnished in a typical B&B style and we found it all clean and well-maintained. I would have liked some more drawers to store clothes, but for my 2-night stay it wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Viv
Fareham
Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Old outdated, blankets and sheets on bed no duvet. Broken bulb in lamp. Small corner sink to wash in. Not as clean as I would expect dust on high level, carpet stained, wardrobe door would not open on one side, paint peeling off Windows, yuk. Expensive for what you get. Don't go here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GazFareham
babs2009_10, Owner at Cedar House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am realy sorry to hear that you had such a bad stay! The room price was for 2 people staying, as explained to you, as you have booked through a booking agent, I could not reduce the price! I will look into your remarks of dirt, as we try to kerp our home clean. The cubbard door does open,...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We stayed here a few years ago and loved it so decided to book again. The welcome was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast choices were extensive and the full English was enormous, enough to keep us going until the evening. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
323 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#3 of 3 in Matlock Bath
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Temple
The Temple
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
190 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 50 in Matlock
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: $88 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cedar House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cedar House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book well in advance, it is very popular.”
 of 5 bubbles H301AFpeterk, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms may be prone to background noise on Saturday nights. Check if a shower cubicle is important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles Andy_Viv, May 25, 2016 | Read review
“We had the Sunny room”
 of 5 bubbles LynnA390, Nov 11, 2015 | Read review
“We had the River View room however the river was behind the trees. It was a nice quite room.”
 of 5 bubbles Rogere1960, Oct 25, 2015 | Read review
“all the rooms looked good!”
 of 5 bubbles failteCoventry, Sep 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay