We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed recently having booked through booking.com for my girlfriend and myself. Arrived and checked in very simply and problem free. A lovely large room with an en suite, comfy bed and tea making facilities. TV also in the room. Wifi was provided but was a bit erratic, and didn't hit some areas of our bedroom but no bother at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

lovely welcome given as we arrived, the room was very spacious, light and spotlessly clean. The shower was brilliant and was really powerful (often a problem in older establishments) . all usual refinements were on hand, teas,coffees biscuits and spring water ( refreshed every day) The breakfasts were superb with a great choice, I can recommend the scrambled egg and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonymid
St.Albans
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Stayed one night and enjoyed it very much. Homely B&B with some nice touches (biccies, toiletries etc). Very welcoming and accommodating host. The room was spotlessly clean (did not bother to get out my mystery shopper telescopic "four in a bed" dust detector to check for inaccessible dust). Would prefer a duvet on the bed but that's a personal thing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank grubhound
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

This place has a lovely location, in a little private road at the back of the main street with its own parking for four cars. The rooms are nicely furnished in a typical B&B style and we found it all clean and well-maintained. I would have liked some more drawers to store clothes, but for my 2-night stay it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy_Viv
Fareham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Old outdated, blankets and sheets on bed no duvet. Broken bulb in lamp. Small corner sink to wash in. Not as clean as I would expect dust on high level, carpet stained, wardrobe door would not open on one side, paint peeling off Windows, yuk. Expensive for what you get. Don't go here.

Helpful?
1 Thank GazFareham
babs2009_10, Owner at Cedar House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am realy sorry to hear that you had such a bad stay! The room price was for 2 people staying, as explained to you, as you have booked through a booking agent, I could not reduce the price! I will look into your remarks of dirt, as we try to kerp our home clean. The cubbard door does open,... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

We stayed here a few years ago and loved it so decided to book again. The welcome was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast choices were extensive and the full English was enormous, enough to keep us going until the evening. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at this delightful BB. Nothing was to much trouble for the lady who owned it, she made us very welcome. Our rooms were really nice and the breakfast were more than enough.it was very central so you did not need to use the car to go out and have an evening meal.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Cedar House is ideally located near the centre of Matlock you can park the car and walk to the town and its wonderful park. WE had a 2 night stay in a lovely room at the back of the house. It was very clean and had a comfortable bed with en-suite bathroom. Nice touch leaving biscuits and Kit Kat for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rogere1960
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Very limited parking, poor attic room on top floor was not the one booked so was disappointed. Breakfast was the one high point but dining room lacking and uncomfortable. We would not go back as there are much better B & Bs in the area.

Helpful?
Thank northeastfoodie2014
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Very warm and friendly welcome, Lovely room with a very comfortable big bed. Lots of extras which we thought were a lovely touch. Plenty of choice at breakfast, cooked fresh and presented well.Best cheesy scrambled eggs ever.Would definitely recommend to family and friends, we will be going back.We had a perfect stay, couldn't fault it.

Helpful?
Thank Karen A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.1 mi away
The Temple
The Temple
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#6 of 48 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#9 of 48 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 6 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#3 of 6 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: $92 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay