We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This guest house is in a good position for Matlock. It is set in a quiet road behind the High street and next to the river. There is a pedestrian bridge over the river to the park and all the amenities. The High street is full of restaurants, all within easy walking distance but you may need to book the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela E
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights, lovely welcome from the staff. Excellent choice of breakfast options. Comfortable bed. Good WiFi in our room (room 3). Quiet cul-de-sac very close to the park for early morning and late night walks.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Stayed recently having booked through booking.com for my girlfriend and myself. Arrived and checked in very simply and problem free. A lovely large room with an en suite, comfy bed and tea making facilities. TV also in the room. Wifi was provided but was a bit erratic, and didn't hit some areas of our bedroom but no bother at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

lovely welcome given as we arrived, the room was very spacious, light and spotlessly clean. The shower was brilliant and was really powerful (often a problem in older establishments) . all usual refinements were on hand, teas,coffees biscuits and spring water ( refreshed every day) The breakfasts were superb with a great choice, I can recommend the scrambled egg and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonymid
St.Albans
Level Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Stayed one night and enjoyed it very much. Homely B&B with some nice touches (biccies, toiletries etc). Very welcoming and accommodating host. The room was spotlessly clean (did not bother to get out my mystery shopper telescopic "four in a bed" dust detector to check for inaccessible dust). Would prefer a duvet on the bed but that's a personal thing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank grubhound
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

This place has a lovely location, in a little private road at the back of the main street with its own parking for four cars. The rooms are nicely furnished in a typical B&B style and we found it all clean and well-maintained. I would have liked some more drawers to store clothes, but for my 2-night stay it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy_Viv
Fareham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Old outdated, blankets and sheets on bed no duvet. Broken bulb in lamp. Small corner sink to wash in. Not as clean as I would expect dust on high level, carpet stained, wardrobe door would not open on one side, paint peeling off Windows, yuk. Expensive for what you get. Don't go here.

Helpful?
1 Thank GazFareham
babs2009_10, Owner at Cedar House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am realy sorry to hear that you had such a bad stay! The room price was for 2 people staying, as explained to you, as you have booked through a booking agent, I could not reduce the price! I will look into your remarks of dirt, as we try to kerp our home clean. The cubbard door does open,... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

We stayed here a few years ago and loved it so decided to book again. The welcome was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast choices were extensive and the full English was enormous, enough to keep us going until the evening. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at this delightful BB. Nothing was to much trouble for the lady who owned it, she made us very welcome. Our rooms were really nice and the breakfast were more than enough.it was very central so you did not need to use the car to go out and have an evening meal.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Cedar House is ideally located near the centre of Matlock you can park the car and walk to the town and its wonderful park. WE had a 2 night stay in a lovely room at the back of the house. It was very clean and had a comfortable bed with en-suite bathroom. Nice touch leaving biscuits and Kit Kat for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rogere1960
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
2.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 49 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#8 of 49 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#3 of 49 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: $92 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cedar House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay