We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Darwin Forest Country Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Darwin Forest Country Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 851: English reviews
Start your review of Darwin Forest Country Park
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Reviewing as i spend my last few hours here celebrating my daughters 16th Birthday . From the minute we got here we knew we would enjoy it. At checking in the receptionist was so friendly and helpful - even telling us we could use their phone to order a takeaway (which we did the following night). We stopped in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stclanico
Hartford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was whisked away here by my wife and kids as a birthday surprise, and what a nice surprise it was too. The whole shebang comes across as more Austrian in nature than English - it almost feels alpine, which in my books is a welcome breath of fresh air. That said there a couple of kinks they need to iron...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thesquasher
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Darwin Forest. From the content of your review we are assuming that both you and your wife have reviewed the park simultaneously. The review by Anita B is almost identical in content to the one provided by yourself and so to view my response please see my comments...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lodge We went for a 3-day weekend break with our two children aged 8-10yrs and booked the lodge with a hot tub - we loved it! The lodge is great, comfortable beds, bedding, towels included (but not for the pool - so take your own) - the kitchen has everything you need, including tea towels, washing up cloths and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback you have given on your stay at Darwin Forest. We are sorry that your experience in the Foresters bar & restaurant did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, due to a diner choking on some food many of the staff were distracted from their duties and I apologise if this effected your experience. The diner in...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wifi is a poor excuse to mark a site down. I'm quite happy to turn off my phone and just relax. But with no signal whatsoever, it's hard to keep track of each other when in a large group. The wifi is present but times out or doesn't work 90% of the time. The site however is lovely. Found right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt A
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Darwin Forest for long weekend with my partner and our dogs. Word of advice don't arrive before 4pm on your arrival date as you can't have the key to your lodge before then as we found out as we sat in the car due to rainy weather for 1 hour. Our lodge was the Chatworth Elite 1 which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came with the mums and kids for a local ish half term break. Lodge fantastic, modern, clean and well appointed. Facilities lovely. Staff friendly too. My son went over the handle bars on his bike and his bike was broken. The staff looked after us, fixing the bike for free and raising a smile from a sad little boy. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharpsontour
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be clear, my 1 star rating relates solely to the misleading pricing policy Pinelodge Holidays have now adopted, and not the quality of the park or the lodges which are lovely. We have stayed very happily at Darwin Forest on 3 previous occasions but when I came to book a return visit this Easter I was nearly caught out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 537Clare
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review

Thank you for beginning by saying that our parks and our lodges are lovely and we are sorry that this experience has upset you. On the subject of pricing we do what a vast amount of travel and accommodation providers have done for many years, which is to vary prices according to demand at any point in time. If you...

Normanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second visit in 12 months to Darwin Forest. We had lodge 12, a three bed Chatsworth Elite Spa to celebrate my sons 18th birthday. I ordered an Asda delivery to save on 'packing' space! which worked out great. We checked in just before 4pm and the delivery arrived at 5pm. The lodge was warm and clean, just as expected....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a fabulous 3 night break with 7 girlfriends to celebrate two special big birthdays.we had a four bedroom lodge. From the moment we arrived to leaving, it was very special. The lodge was spacious,light and plenty of room in the lounge/kitchen for group meals and girly evenings. The hot tub was excellent however could only accommodate 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise2765
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing Darwin Forest. We are delighted you and your friends had a special birthday break.

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were eight of us and we had a four-bed lodge. Superb standards. Fully equipped and spotless. Main issue was lack of mobile phone signal and the WiFi is only OK. But then maybe it is good to be away from the demands!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrednGinger
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review

We are pleased you had a wonderful stay! Thanks for reviewing Darwin Forest.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

391 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (364)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
3:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (208)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
4.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
690 reviews
15.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,266 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the Peak District, Darwin Forest is a 5-star holiday park in a delightful woodland setting. Accommodation is in modern self-catering lodges with everything provided for a great family holiday. Lodges sleep form 2 to 8 people. Facilities include indoor swimming pool, indoor play area, bar/restaurant, tennis, beauty therapy, soft play and woodland walks. Darwin holds the David Bellamy Award for Conservation at Gold standard and a Visit England Award for Excellence. Handy for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall and all the sights of the Peak District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Darwin Forest Country Park

Address: Sydnope Hill | Two Dales, Matlock DE4 5PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: $130 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Darwin Forest Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Darwin Forest Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darwin Forest Country Park Hotel Two Dales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Darwin Forest Country Park staff and other travelers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from Darwin Forest Country Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for lodges with a hot-tub :)”
 of 5 bubbles Thesquasher, 1 week ago | Read review
“All of the lodges appear to be great.”
 of 5 bubbles FrednGinger, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“All cabins looked lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 339nickyp, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Book well in advance... and speak to the staff - they'll do all they can to help!”
 of 5 bubbles allbuttmisscheryla, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All the lodges”
 of 5 bubbles 303MartinS, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question