We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Peacock Bakewell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 443: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice pub food with a lovely beer garden! Inside is warm and comfortable. The peacock burger is a must and the homemade chips really make the meal! Worth stopping in for a bite sometime. Not cheap but worth the few extra pounds.

Helpful?
Thank Adam L
Yeovil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a cracking meal here whilst on holiday with the family. The portion size was huge. We both had beef and ale pies and oh my gosh, they were delicious! Wish we had stayed in Bakewell longer as we would have definitely eaten here again. Would definitely visit if I was in the area again

Helpful?
Thank NicholsYeovil
thepeacockbakewell, Victories that are easy are cheap. Those only are worth having which come as the result of hard fighting, (with Honesty) at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Oh my gosh - an amazing review..... Thank you NicholsYeovil, but you are correct in every notion, be it brief, but that's what we like in reality - Honesty 'cos them there pies are amazing!!! More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the peacock for 2 nights over the August bank holiday weekend. From the desciption and photos on the website we were expecting a much higher standard of service and quality of food. One of the biggest disappointments was the level of customer service. The owner was rude and when we mentioned that we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JustineChris
thepeacockbakewell, Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

So no wi-fi JustinChris and we are deemed to give poor customer service..... One thing in life you possess Justin or is it Chris is a lack of a sense of humour, because I was not in the slightest rude to you when you mentioned you couldn't obtain wi-fi in your room, I was simply trying to make light of... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here with a group of friends and a baby. Serving food all day, which is a total bonus when large groups get together. Good selection of beers and food. Large portions of very good food, we had a number of different dishes and all were really good, a challenge to finish everything we were given, but too good to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cici C
thepeacockbakewell, To forget one's purpose is the commonest form of stupidity, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

What more could be added Cici C, other than Thank you for saying it, and saying it loud, clear and simple! Thanks again! More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Third night in Bakewell. Third best meal of the three to date. Session bitter is excellent. Wife's prossecco good as well. I ordered southern fried chicken which is prepared chicken breast strips with a really nasty barbecue sauce, an OK salad and bought in coleslaw. My wife had the Yorkshire with sausage and gravy. She had asked for the sausages... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Davebwiseman
thepeacockbakewell, The greatest act of faith is when a man understands he is not God, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Not quite sure to start with this one but there is a famous quote 'wisemen say it looks like rain today', and Davebwiseman certainly has a rain affected approach when it comes to posting reviews...... I guarantee you will not find a nicer SFC than what we serve, it may not be the traditional Colonel Saunders recipe, (grease, bones and... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I were in Bakewell for a week's walking holiday and the peacock quickly became our choice for an evening meal. Initially I was put off by the cost of a main course, but my fears were quickly dispelled by the large servings. The steak and ale pie was tasty! I loved the small beer glass that came... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher_Deacon
thepeacockbakewell, It's faith in something and enthusiasm for something that makes life worth living, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Don't ever be put off by menu prices Christopher_Deacon, especially at the Peacock, because as you rightly found out we may not be cheap (and are we debating a pound or two only here), but we can certainly deliver so thank you for your kind words as you sampled our amazing steak & ale pie. Look forward to you next... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped by for a couple of sherberts with our little dog. The service was not bad considering the amount of people there. We didn't eat there but the food looked very good. The outside area was clean and the parasols looked new. The only downside is that as ever children are allowed everywhere screaming and shouting to their heart's... More 

Helpful?
Thank vickymanester
thepeacockbakewell, It is never too late to be what you might have been, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Not really much we can do about unruly kids in all honesty vickymanester, but thanks for the kind words on matters we can control - come and eat with us next time and you will understand why we get that amount of people! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently visited The peacock whilst on a visit to bakewell lovely looking pub from outside in full bloom only to be met by gloom inside. While trying to order drinks at the bar which wasn't that busy we were ignored twice then when finally ordering it seemed like a great inconvenience to them. We were intending to order food... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank smiggy91
thepeacockbakewell, Moderation in temper is always a virtue; but moderation in principle is always a vice, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

The gloom wasn't from us smiggy81, the gloom I feel is all about you as you found maybe our prices were't suited or more fitting of the happy campers you obviously have more of a feel for. We are a:) using your description 'a lovely looking pub in full bloom' that fyi also serves lovely food, which b:) unfortunately for... More 

Lincolnshire, UK.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great pub, great food. The food was delivered quickly and piping hot. Couldnt fault it. There was something for everyone. Limited choice for vegetarians but its like that in a lot of Country pubs. The staff are friendly and we were served quickly. You can't miss the pub if you go to bakewell its very pretty with beautiful flowers plants... More 

Helpful?
Thank TessTurner
thepeacockbakewell, A happy family is but an earlier heaven, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Guess you said it all TessTurner, but we thank you for saying it and especially from the children's point of view. Thanks again! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Waited at the end of the bar where it look like they were taking orders for food, after waiting a while we asked a member of staff if this was where we ordered food to be told you can order it anywhere at the bar and disapered, in doing so we noticed that several others came in after us and... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
thepeacockbakewell, The heart of every man lies open to the shafts of correction if the archer can take proper aim, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

With all due respect A TripAdvisor member ( after reading this review ) the first issue is with your English grammar and spelling as it leads me to confirm to you aren't the brightest button are you. You seem to want to make out we are the Bad Guys in this situation, well I can only apologise if we were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Viewed
Double En Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Superior Double (17)
Viewed
Superior Four Poster (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#2 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#8 of 46 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range: $126 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay