We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shrewsbury Lodge

Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (10)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shrewsbury Lodge is a quaint Guesthouse in the heart of the beautiful quiet conservation area of Oxton, minutes on foot to the small but welcoming village of Oxton and its wonderful old village pubs, yet only a five minute drive to the town of Birkenhead with its many shops and its most famous local Birkenhead Market We are proud to be one of only a few Wirral Guesthouses to have received a three star guest accommodation rating from the AA. We provide sumptuous comfortable surroundings with a sense of occasion in a welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere with strong emphasis on personal customer service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
58Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
204Reviews
68Photos
2Q+A
31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 50
  • 11
  • 9
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Whilst the car parking facilities and the lady on reception upon arrival were welcoming, the rest of our stay was dier. Firstly the room. We booked a family room, which was located on the very top floor had clearly not been cleaned professional as there were a number of cobwebs
Read more
Response from Julie_GM_13, Owner at The Shrewsbury Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
Hi, thank you for taking the time to create a Tripadvisor account to leave us this 'dire' review. Firstly i am pleased that you thought the lady on Reception was welcoming, along with the car park. The hotel is a large building built in the 1870's and has 4 floors, we were fully booked which is why the only room left was the family room, which you chose and you booked and paid for. I can assure you that the room was cleaned, by a professional and there was not an 'abundance of dust'. You had a choice of 3 beds to sleep in, two single beds and one brand new double bed, the beds don't 'bow' they are robust hotel beds, but i do apologise if you thought they were uncomfortable. At the time of your stay it was absolutely freezing so the heating was on, had you come down to Reception in the evening we could have turned down the thermostat for you but unfortunately you didn't mention this until you checked out. I can assure you that the lady on Reception did not say heat rises, the lady on reception apologised to you and said that she would report the fact you couldn’t turn down the radiators and would report it to maintenance and get them to have a look to see what the problem was. When you checked in you were asked if you would like breakfast, you are asked what time you would like breakfast, we explain to you that it is a full English breakfast and that is freshly cooked to order. You did not say that there was anything you didn't want at the time of check in. When you arrived 20 minutes late for breakfast, you were asked if you wanted tea or coffee and brown or white bread. You were shown where the cereals, milk, orange juice, jams, fruit and muffins were whilst your full English breakfast was brought out to you. During breakfast you asked if we had any toothpaste as you had forgotten yours and were going to a funeral, the lady you describe as 'abrasive' spent 5 minutes during a busy breakfast shift looking for a tube of toothpaste for you which we had received from a supplier as a sample. Unfortunately she couldn't find the sample so directed you to the shop just around the corner to buy some. The bathroom is a perfectly adequate size and i do apologise that there was a wall; and we don't have any baths at all in any of our rooms which is clearly stated when you book. Unfortunately we won't be offering a refund due to the length of time it took to clean your room after you had left, i hope you enjoyed your takeaway. You also left your toothpaste.
Read more
Went for lunch with friends..2 had fish and chips and 2 had gammon/pineapple and chips ..it was lovely..two of the party had a dessert and they were yummy ..Lovely visit..food and service Spent a very pleasant afternoon ..will diffninatly visit again
Read more
Very kind and friendly host gave us always helpful advice which made our stay there a great and unforgetable holiday. Our family room on top of the lodge had four comfortable beds (incl. one double bed), an own bathroom with shower, a wardrobe, tv and the usual items for
Read more
Response from Julie_GM_13, Manager at The Shrewsbury Lodge
Responded Oct 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family stay with us. We like to make sure you use a reputable taxi service and get to see all the wonderful things both Wirral and Liverpool have to offer to make sure your stay is as you say, unforgettable! The family room is perfect with 2 single beds and one double bed and the en-suite bathroom and we are delighted it worked well for you all. We hope you had a safe journey home and we will see you again soon. Kindest regards from all of the staff x
Read more
I recently stayed at the Shrewsbury Lodge B&B for three nights and it was lovely. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the shared lounge a real bonus. Great location, very good breakfast, beautiful dining room. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, giving advice on the
Read more
Response from Julie_GM_13, Manager at The Shrewsbury Lodge
Responded Oct 7, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is an absolute delight when we have guests as lovely as you all were and it was our pleasure to make sure you had a perfect stay with us. We really do love the Wirral and we want to make sure that you experience the very best it has to offer. I'm so pleased you enjoyed breakfast, it was lovely to see you all round the table together chatting away and the lounge is definitely a lot quieter this morning! Have a safe journey home and we really would love to see you again!
Read more
I have never given a negative review but in this case I'll make an exception. We've just checked out of this lodge and were very disappointed for the following reasons. 30 mins after checking in from a 25 hour long haul flight my wife wanted a shower to freshen up. She jumped
Read more
Response from Julie_GM_13, Owner at The Shrewsbury Lodge
Responded Sep 28, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I shall now try and address the issues you have raised, i will start with your first stay and will then address your return visit after your holiday in Greece. Firstly, we upgraded you from the standard double that you had booked to a larger double at no extra cost because we were aware how far you had travelled and wanted to make you as comfortable as we could. The shower in your room, as Alice explained was actually brand new and we still have no idea how it managed to break whilst your wife was in the shower. After you came down the three flights if stairs (We are a beautiful old house built in 1874 who clearly state that we do not have a lift) Alice immediately moved you to another room, again another upgrade and free of charge. The power, the lovely lady with three children in the room next to you tripped the electricity by accident and was beyond apologetic the next day. Reception closes at 8pm and as soon as we were aware there was a problem the electricity was switched back on. The blocked toilet, what can i say, honestly how can i answer this, i'm so sorry but how can this possibly be our fault? You came down to reception reporting that the toilet didn't flush and went out, a member of staff went upstairs and flushed the toilet in the usual manner and the problem was resolved. You left to go to Greece and to our absolute delight you booked in for a return stay in the exact same room were the electricity had tripped and the toilet didn't flush, so we thought we had resolved the situation as the problems you had encountered were really and truly out of our control. You returned and checked into your room again. How unfortunate it was that the water went off in the whole road, seriously you couldn't make this up. The weather had been absolutely atrocious and there was flash flooding absolutely everywhere so it could have been a natural assumption that the fact the whole road had no water was something to do with the floods. We offered all of guests tea and coffee with toast in the restaurant while we were on the phone to United Utilities trying to get the matter resolved. United Utilities came out and there was a blockage in the water supply which meant the water from the road could not get into the building, After just three hours the issue was resolved so by 11am all water was restored. United Utilities accepted all responsibility and assured us this was quite a rare thing to happen and left. We were happy, our guests were happy and we thought you understood that the matter was so out of our hands there was nothing we could do. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and had a safe journey home.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
View from room 15
Room 15 Bathroom
Room 15 comfy chair
Room 15
Lovely room
PreviousNext
123456
How far is the Shrewsbury to the ferry terminal?
About 10 minutes
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi - can you confirm if there will be dogs at the guesthouse this Sunday /Monday ? Tx
Hi Julie, No there will be no dogs. Laura-Jane
0 votes
"all rooms are great"
"Rooms to the side/rear are quiet"
"I was on the ground floor at the back which was quiet apart from when upstairs got in bed and used the toilet"
"So many stairs!"
"Nothing. N no air con as advertised"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWirralBirkenhead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing