We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Glenavon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glenavon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Edwinstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been staying here whenever I travel to Cookstown on business for the past 20 years. I have always had a great reception and have stayed in many rooms all as good as the rest. The evening meals have always be of a good standard so I don't eat anywhere else. Added bonus is the pool and gym. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank billyd2657
Belfast N Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights bed breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast was ordinary, it was the evening meal that was the huge disappointment. Not only was the meat tasteless along with the gravy but the vegetables were of an unknown origin. The mashed potatoes were smash and everything was placed on the plate and sat before you.I would not even give... More 

Helpful?
Thank bfgiant
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bfgiant We were very disappointed to learn that you were unhappy following your meal recently in the hotel. I understand that your dissatisfaction was not brought to the staffs attention at the time which is very unfortunate as we would have been more than happy to take the necessary steps to remedy whatever shortcomings there were. I trust that... More 

london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

First class accommodion, food was great, pints and pool was great also. Staff lovely excellent value, safe parking, easy to get to. Spa lovely, bedrooms very clean and had a fab rain shower head very refreshing

Helpful?
Thank doc813
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear doc813, Thank you for your comprehensive and "straight to the point" review , we loved it! Glad you enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Paula Wilson More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently got married in Malta and decided to have our "home party" / evening reception in the Glenavon. James Whylie who looked after us was a gent from the very start and made sure all bases were covered so that the evening ran smoothly. Being in the Glenavon on a regular basis with using the gym and leisure facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dwayne M
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dwayne M Thank you so much for your very kind review following your recent wedding reception in the hotel - James is indeed a great asset to the business making sure everything goes to plan! Danny and Aidan will be delighted at the special recognition too. Wishing you and Natasha all the very best in your married life and... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here on there dinner bed and breakfast deal which i thought was good value .included use of the leisure facilities which we took advantage of and enjoyed all and all a very good hotel and very hard working staff who are polite and friendly. only problem we had was our dinner reservations were booked for 8.30pm and we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ian d d
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ian d d Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and indeed for your kind comments. We are delighted that you were pleased with most aspects of your stay - apologies again for the delay in being seated for dinner, unfortunately a number of earlier bookings arrived late and that pushed everyone... More 

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the minute we entered the hotel, we were greeted by a stylish foyer and a warm smile at hotel reception. The staff were amazing! We knew immediately it was the perfect venue for our special day. James (our contact) couldn't of done enough for us. Nothing was a problem. Everyone commented on the hotel and the food. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank mattlas1
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mattlas1 Thank you for your very kind review following your recent wedding in the hotel. Your kind comments in particular about James our Banqueting Manager and your high recommendation are very much appreciated as endorsements such as yours are important to us going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back for your wedding anniversary meal if not before... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment I enquired about booking the hotel staff where so helpful...nothing was too much trouble...when I arrived I couldn't believe how beautiful the hotel was...our room was massive the bathroom was beautiful and spacious...I thought the food might not be great as it can't have everything but I was wrong it was also beautiful!We were all really well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh C
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashleigh C Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent stay in the hotel - we were delighted to hear that your stay surpassed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel. Thanks for taking the time - much appreciated :) Kind regards Paula Wilson More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and I can honestly say it's an absolute gem. The staff are very friendly and you get the impression they actually enjoy working there. This hotel is listed as three star but it felt more like a five star hotel. It's often hard to put you finger on what makes a hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris H Wow - what can we say? We are overwhelmed not only at your kind words but the comprehensive review which must have taken some time to write! I really appreciate your very kind comments about the staff - I know only too well how good they are and that they make the hotel what it is. I... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived early to attend a wedding near by the hotel was able to let us have the room before midday. Room was very pleasant overlooking the river. Nice touch to have bottles of water in the room. Just had a snack at lunchtime bread was very fresh so sandwich was lovely. Breakfast was very good with loads on offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz J Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and for your kind comments. I am pleased that reception were able to accommodate an early check in and you enjoyed your lunch & Breakfast. Kind rgeards Paula Wilson More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive,made me feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable, everything I needed was there. Food was excellent and very well priced. If I am ever in the area again, I will stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Koekoo
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Koekoo Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and indeed for your kind comments. We are delighted that you were pleased with all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Paula Wilson More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
23.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
3.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Price Range: $104 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay