We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Glenavon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glenavon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Leicester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a business trip and was very impressed with the appearance of the hotel. Looks very grand on arrival and the staff on reception where great. My room however was a little dated and situated above the kitchen. As it was quite warm I opened my bedroom window whilst taking a shower, when I came back into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Treacle2010
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Treacle 2010 Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and for your kind comments. I was sorry to hear about your experience with the fans from the kitchen - it can be difficult in situations like this especially when the wind is blowing in a particular direction! The breakfast menu does offer... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Rooms are very warm and comfortable. The breakfast and lunch are fairly substantial. I did find that after eating breakfast and lunch here that I didn't need to eat till the next day. Maybe I'm a fat glutton but no matter.

Helpful?
Thank rockyeveryday
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rockyeveryday Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit and for your very kind comments. Kind regards Paula Wilson More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent hotel - large comfortable rooms, good food, a very good spa/swimming pool, spacious and elegant public spaces, ample parking and nice grounds which make the hotel quiet and peaceful. The staff are friendly and helpful, the welcome is genuine. We enjoyed our stay greatly and the hotel met or exceeded our expectations. The one slight criticism... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_from_NM
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John_from_NM Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay in the hotel. I was delighted that you were happy with your stay and that we exceeded your expectations - in particular thank you for kind comments about my staff and their welcome. I have been looking into the issue with the smell of frying as I... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Glenavon last week for a business stay. The entrance is really beautiful. The rooms are very spacious, in fact probably one of the biggest hotel rooms I stayed in. Breakfast was very nice and had a good selection of good food products. Staff were friendly & helpful. The pool & gym open at 6:30am in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank N8BOH
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear N8BOH Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. We were delighted that everything met with your approval. Thanks also for taking the time to review the hotel - it is always good for our customers to read of the experiences of our recent guests :) Kind rgeards paula Wilson More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Irish Hospitality at its best,we have stayed many times at the Glenavon,each time we are met with delightful staff would recommend it to everyone👌The restaurant was very good.As was the location it offers wedding venues,business meetings,coffee mornings for local groups, the hotel is always buzzing and busy with different social groups.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan C Thank you very much for your kind comments following your most recent visit to the hotel in particular about our staff who work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a very enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel. Kidn regards Paula Wilson More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Glenavon for 3 nights. The room had only one window out of two that opened, and only then a small way. When I complained, I was not told the entire truth, as it turns out that several of our party also had only one window that opened. The loo seat fell off in the bathroom, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I have to say we were very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the food in particular as the only other comments we received from the London Guild of Weavers group were extremely positive. The menus were drawn up in consultation with... More 

Edwinstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been staying here whenever I travel to Cookstown on business for the past 20 years. I have always had a great reception and have stayed in many rooms all as good as the rest. The evening meals have always be of a good standard so I don't eat anywhere else. Added bonus is the pool and gym. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank William D
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill D Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your most recent stay - we always enjoy welcoming back our valued customers who as you know get treated just like family! Your repeat business over the years and your endorsement is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you to Cookstown for many more years... More 

Belfast N Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights bed breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast was ordinary, it was the evening meal that was the huge disappointment. Not only was the meat tasteless along with the gravy but the vegetables were of an unknown origin. The mashed potatoes were smash and everything was placed on the plate and sat before you.I would not even give... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bfgiant
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bfgiant We were very disappointed to learn that you were unhappy following your meal recently in the hotel. I understand that your dissatisfaction was not brought to the staffs attention at the time which is very unfortunate as we would have been more than happy to take the necessary steps to remedy whatever shortcomings there were. I trust that... More 

london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

First class accommodion, food was great, pints and pool was great also. Staff lovely excellent value, safe parking, easy to get to. Spa lovely, bedrooms very clean and had a fab rain shower head very refreshing

Helpful?
1 Thank doc813
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear doc813, Thank you for your comprehensive and "straight to the point" review , we loved it! Glad you enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Paula Wilson More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

We recently got married in Malta and decided to have our "home party" / evening reception in the Glenavon. James Whylie who looked after us was a gent from the very start and made sure all bases were covered so that the evening ran smoothly. Being in the Glenavon on a regular basis with using the gym and leisure facilities... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne M
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dwayne M Thank you so much for your very kind review following your recent wedding reception in the hotel - James is indeed a great asset to the business making sure everything goes to plan! Danny and Aidan will be delighted at the special recognition too. Wishing you and Natasha all the very best in your married life and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
23.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
3.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Price Range: $105 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay