We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 710: English reviews
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

To be far this restaurant has a great ambience staff were lovely but the food was a let down. It was not terrible but just ordinary. I had fish and chips and have had nicer from the chipy. My friends meals were not much better. Just ordinary so for me over priced.

Helpful?
Thank Northyorksbeachbun
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We researched on trip advisor and thought the good reviews and the menu choices would guarantee a lovely meal... Now don't misunderstand me this meal wasn't terrible... But... My meal started with Chelsea and a locally sourced cheese Starfleet... Sounded heavenly, but it was nuked the pastry was that awful soggy mush that happens when pastry is microwaved not heated... More 

Helpful?
Thank libby529
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I would like to say a huge thanks to Andrew and the team for a wonderful time on my daughters wedding day on Saturday 24th Sept , the food and service was amazing and couldn't have wished for better . The day went like clockwork from start to finish which I can only put down to the excellent staff at... More 

Helpful?
Thank g12davies
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear g12davies, Thank your for your wonderful 5 stra review. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to help plan and provide your Daughter and her new Husband with their perfect day. I am so pleased that you were all able to have a stress free occasion and could enjoy their special day. I will pass on your comments... More 

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pleasantly surprised with our meals. Loved that a lot of the produce was sourced locally. The staff was friendly and efficient. The toilet facilities were very clean and spacious. All in all it was a very enjoyable and pleasant evening, my only issue was that the chocolate brownie was more like cake and a bit dry. But that's just me,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jazz2759
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jazz2759, Thank you for your wonderful response, I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable meal. As you are aware from your comments we source our produce from local suppliers within the area and it definately shows in our food. We are sorry to hear that you thought the brownie was a little dry, I... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

As a hotel for just one night it's all that you need. Easy check in, nice big room with a view of the Brecon Beacons, wifi, good shower etc. It just fell apart a little the next morning: newspaper went walkabout without explanation, wifi not working ('it's often like that') and a disappointing breakfast (no fresh fruit and the English... More 

Helpful?
Thank David J
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear David J, Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and were able to make the most of the stunning views over the Towy. It is disappointing to hear that you had some problems during your visit, I have investigated your points. We do provide fresh... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed overnight, in a twin room in April of this year. We had attended a wedding, and had decided to stay the night and book a room. The room was lovely, clean and bright. The beds were comfortable, and there was a kettle/tea and coffee etc. We both had a cooked breakfast in the morning, and it was to... More 

Helpful?
Thank anwen2016
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear anwen2016, Thank you for your brilliant review. Im so pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and although it was short its great to hear that you were able to relax. I will pass on your feedback to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Regards... More 

wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly this part of the world doesn't have much to offer in terms of good, well run, professional hotels, so it is a relief to have found The Plough! Rooms are spacious and well designed: facilities are spotlessly clean; food is good quality; the gardens and outside spaces are lovely. But what sets it apart is an understanding of good... More 

Helpful?
Thank FussyofWales
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear FussyofWales, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The team are passionate about meeting (and exceeding) expectations wherever possible so they will be thrilled to hear your feedback. I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Regards Andrew More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We dropped by for an evening meal during a holiday in the area (staying in Llandeilo) and ordered two starters (soup) and the fish & chips and lasagne for the main course. Overall the food was reasonable/good, but comes with an unreasonable price tag (£13+ per main). We felt that other local pubs and restaurants provided similar or better quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert O
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert O, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review of your recent visit. I am sorry that you believe we have an unreasonable price tag, as I am sure you are aware we do source all of our ingredients locally wherever possible and we do believe that this truly shines through in the quality of our... More 

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great lunch. Fantastic food and excellent service. Lovely environment and we will definitely go back. Had nacho and pulled pork - recommended. Restaurant feels bright and modern and well lit. Good range of beers.

Helpful?
Thank nickcopper
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear nickcopper, Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch visit. I will pass on your kind comments to all of the team and we hope to welcome you back to The Plough soon. Regards Andrew More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had afternoon tea for two and it was delicious. There was plenty of selection of cakes including Bara brith and scones, so much that we had to take some of the scones home. We had 2 children with us which they accommodated and they manage to eat the afternoon tea between them. I will certainly be going there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank pellis2016
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear pellis2016, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your afternoon team, all of our cakes and scones are homemade which we feel truly shines through in the quality. We look forward to your future visit. Regards Andrew More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

421 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (278)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (57)
Viewed
Classic Room (44)
Viewed
Executive Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel
Stradey Park Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llanelli
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Price Range: $154 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay