We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bridge

Save
Share
1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (204)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (32)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Huntingdon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, twice winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
665Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 448
  • 153
  • 44
  • 14
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael wrote a review Jun 16
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
First time visit certainly didn’t disappoint. From the extremely friendly greeting to the efficiency of the service, all was characterised by a “nothing is too much trouble” ethos. Then there was the food: excellent all round - presentation, taste and freshness. And to cap it all no one tried to move us on. For two friends who hadn’t met for 18 months this was precious. So much to catch up on and for nearly five hours chat we were plied with tea and scones to keep us fuelled. Our first time won’t be our last. This is a rare experience in today’s fast turnaround culture. Great stuff, people. Keep it up.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Take care of using the website postcode for SatNav - you may end up at the station! It’s...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you Climber, your positive review is much appreciated. You have put into words exactly what we are trying to achieve. It's not easy to get it right all the time, but it's good to know we often do! I hope you can find another reason to make the hour's journey from Birmingham to us soon. Kind regards
Read more
David wrote a review Jun 6
Alconbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
The fist time since September 2020 my partner and I ventured out for a meal and what an amazing experience. I choose the Old Bridge simply by reputation and previous experience and we were not disappointed. The staff are attentive and superbly trained in their craft. Great customer service makes the dinning experience so much better and these guys know what they doing. The food was excellent, my partner and I had the prawn starter, thankfully de-shelled and followed by steaks cooked to perfection, love Caesar salad side. We finished with a great selection of cheese and port. The cheeky Italian wine we shared (sorry I can’t remember the name) was delicious. Unfortunately I never took the names of the staff members who served us, but if the boss is reading this review we ate in the restaurant at 8.30pm 6th June, they were amazing and my our stay so special, they deserve a high five. The Old Bridge is the perfect place to take your loved ones for a well deserved treat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks DonnyDavid - I am reading! and delighted to hear you had such a great experience. Please come and visit us again soon. Best wishes from all the team at the OB. John Hoskins
Read more
TommoNorfolk wrote a review May 2021
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom245 contributions290 helpful votes
Have stayed before the plague, but this review is purely about my booking experience. We really, really need a break as one of us is on the Clinically Extremely Vulnerable Register, so we have been stuck indoors for many, many months. I love cooking, but it has become so repetitive I could climb the walls. Decided now that places are opening up again, to book a weekend break in July. Rang up and talked to Autumn, one of the most customer oriented people I have encountered. Not only did she explain everything about the room I wanted to book from an accessibility point of view, she also said it would be no problem to book DB&B and have lunch instead of dinner on the Sunday.. Autumn is a star. Please cherish her Old Bridge management.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Tommo thanks so much for this review. We are looking forward to seeing you in July. We will look after you as safely as we can - obviously we are a busy hotel so we can't shield you completely from other people, but we will take as much care of you as possible. We will also certainly thank Autumn, she is indeed a wonderful member of our team. Kind regards John Hoskins
Read more
Lucie C wrote a review Dec 2020
Huntingdon, United Kingdom14 contributions12 helpful votes
Me and partner enjoy coming to The Bridge, its lovely location and in the summer lovely to sit out (the chicken tarragon sandwich is probably the best sandwich in the whole world and I say that every time - its incredible1), and in the winter it's very cosy with the open fire. The staff are friendly and professional. However, we came in yesterday 19th December 2020 and were disappointed sadly on this occasion. I ordered cheese and biscuits and was disappointed as it came with only six small crackers and a tiny amount of cheese, and it could have been presented better for £9.50, very thinly sliced cheddar and a couple of thin sticks of celery. We had planned to come for lunch on New Years Day but very unlikely now.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded Dec 22, 2020
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel in general Lucie. I'm sorry you felt the cheese was poor value. However, I am afraid £9.50 is what we need to charge for 3 cheeses from Neal's Yard Dairy, who really do mature the best cheese in the country). I feel that 6 biscuits is enough for the amount of cheese served (with celery, apple and quince paste) but I realise that everyone is different so I will ask the team to make clear that you can have as many more biscuits as you like. The cheese is the key. This month we have Tunworth (brie-style, very soft); extra mature Lincolnshire Poacher; a new goats' called Elrick Lodge from Scotland; and Colston Bassett Stilton (we buy them whole to maximise the quality). Beyond that I suppose I need to say that £8-£10 is the minimum we need to charge for almost any dish (that isn't simply a nibble). As you know the hotel and the team well, you will understand that every guest has to help pay for a small proportion of the whole cost of running the business. I hope you will re-think your concluding remark, but in any case, have a Happy Christmas. John Hoskins
Read more
DeacsHampshire wrote a review Oct 2020
Bordon, United Kingdom92 contributions56 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed two nights in this marvellous hotel for my birthday. From check in to check out it was amazing. The staff are on top of their game. The food was fantastic. The breakfast was brilliant. We had room service for the breakfast, bang on time and piping hot. The lovely birthday touch was so appreciated and very thoughtful of the staff involved. We stayed in room six the four poster with an impressive en-suite. Please pass on our sincere thanks to all the staff at the hotel, doing a great job under difficult circumstances. All I can say is go and stay there and enjoy. Thank you The old bridge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded Oct 29, 2020
Thank you Deacs, those kind words are much appreciated. I hope you have the chance to visit us again soon! With best wishes John Hoskins
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$134 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the old bridge hotel huntingdon, old bridge huntingdon, old bridge hotel huntingdon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireHuntingdon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Bridge
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Bridge?
Nearby attractions include Cambs Lock Antiques & Collectables Centre (0.2 miles), St Peter's Church (0.2 miles), and Niche Comics & Bookshop (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Bridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Old Bridge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Bridge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Bridge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Bridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, Barney's Plaice, and Original Thai.
Is The Old Bridge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Huntingdon.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Old Bridge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Old Bridge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Old Bridge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Bridge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Houghton Mill (National Trust) (2.9 miles), The Manor (3.0 miles), and Island Hall (0.5 miles).