We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Donnington Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Donnington Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Overall my stay was good. Early check in. Very welcoming. I had two problems. Room being too hot as you wasn't able to open the window and the shower runs out hot/cold water and not the constant hot water as I would of wanted. This can hopefully get resolved. Room 9.

Helpful?
Thank dancarter1989
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely find we had a year ago! This is our second visit and would keep on coming. We will be booking room 1 again for our next visit. The room is massive and the bath is HUGE! The hotel is a great location - Truro, Penzance, Falmouth, Bodmin, Padstow and Mevagissy! Wonderful spacious rooms with a great breakfast.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EmmaTingey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had an appointment at Truro hospital and needed a place to sleep. It was a last minute booking so had a double room which did not work out cheap for one person but for two would be well worth it, it was nice and comfortable not as clean as i would like to but acceptable. The owner was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jolita L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here the night before Glastonbury, while traveling solo. They made me feel very welcome & even upgraded me to a double room, as they knew I would have a heavy week ahead of me. Very sweet couple & friendly staff in the morning. Would highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Johnnyboy1234
Yorkshire Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Stayed here on a two night stay, A lady with learning disabilities accompanied me, Unfortunately she made a bit of a mess, the owners were very understanding about this for which I am very greatful. The only downfall with this B&B is the steps to the bedrooms are very steep, so not recomended for people with mobility problems

Helpful?
Thank shoehappylinda
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

we stayed here as we were watching a concert in the hall for cornwall,on entering we were greeted by the landlady who showed us around and then to our room,we were surprised how spacious the room was with little touches like a fridge etc,they really have thought long and hard so guests have everything to hand,we slept really well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank james n
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised by the spacious room. Although our stay was for one night only we were made very welcome and had an excellent night's sleep. It was very comfortable and we had an excellent and hearty breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately, we did not have time to linger around Truro but it was very inviting and we would love... More 

Helpful?
Thank joan S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

This room was large clean and comfortable with all amenities provided. The welcome was friendly and business-like. There was no noise during the night. The guest house is a short walk up the hill from Truro train station. I will definitely come to stay here again if I am in Truro

Helpful?
Thank SarahBernice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

I was in Truro on business and had a single room (no.13!!!), so other rooms may be different judging on the other reviews. However, the room was small, a bathroom had been fitted into a cupboard with a poor shower and not 100% clean. The bed had no mattress protector and a very old and thin cheap duvet. Pillows had... More 

Helpful?
Thank BanNike
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review which we really appreciate. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our room 13 is small and that is the reason why it is very reasonably priced. We will triple check our cleanliness routine as this is very important to us and we were... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Wow what a barging! Extremely friendly and polite , was upgraded unexpectedly. Huge double room and a huge bathroom with a very large bath and a separate shower and all just for me . Chocolates and fluffy towels and a very comfortable bed . After a great nights sleep I went down to breakfast , so much choice and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caron U
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#5 of 5 in Truro
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 5 in Truro
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 38 in Truro
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: $71 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay