We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Donnington Guesthouse

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Donnington Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here the night before Glastonbury, while traveling solo. They made me feel very welcome & even upgraded me to a double room, as they knew I would have a heavy week ahead of me. Very sweet couple & friendly staff in the morning. Would highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Johnnyboy1234
Yorkshire Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a two night stay, A lady with learning disabilities accompanied me, Unfortunately she made a bit of a mess, the owners were very understanding about this for which I am very greatful. The only downfall with this B&B is the steps to the bedrooms are very steep, so not recomended for people with mobility problems

Helpful?
Thank shoehappylinda
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here as we were watching a concert in the hall for cornwall,on entering we were greeted by the landlady who showed us around and then to our room,we were surprised how spacious the room was with little touches like a fridge etc,they really have thought long and hard so guests have everything to hand,we slept really well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank james n
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised by the spacious room. Although our stay was for one night only we were made very welcome and had an excellent night's sleep. It was very comfortable and we had an excellent and hearty breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately, we did not have time to linger around Truro but it was very inviting and we would love... More 

Helpful?
Thank joan S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

This room was large clean and comfortable with all amenities provided. The welcome was friendly and business-like. There was no noise during the night. The guest house is a short walk up the hill from Truro train station. I will definitely come to stay here again if I am in Truro

Helpful?
Thank SarahBernice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

I was in Truro on business and had a single room (no.13!!!), so other rooms may be different judging on the other reviews. However, the room was small, a bathroom had been fitted into a cupboard with a poor shower and not 100% clean. The bed had no mattress protector and a very old and thin cheap duvet. Pillows had... More 

Helpful?
Thank BanNike
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review which we really appreciate. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our room 13 is small and that is the reason why it is very reasonably priced. We will triple check our cleanliness routine as this is very important to us and we were... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Wow what a barging! Extremely friendly and polite , was upgraded unexpectedly. Huge double room and a huge bathroom with a very large bath and a separate shower and all just for me . Chocolates and fluffy towels and a very comfortable bed . After a great nights sleep I went down to breakfast , so much choice and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caron U
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

The lady who answered the door was very nice Altho we felt she had other things to do When showed to our room the door had been painted that morning so newspaper still under and paint smells still lingering On first glance at room it was very spacious with a large bathroom There was a view of the cathedral from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We were sorry there was an issue during your stay and thank you for mentioning that we called a plumber straight away. We had completed work that day which we had followed with a deep clean. We think some dust settled after. We do encourage any... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night in twin room nice and clean and easy arrival with ample parking. great breakfast in the morning cerial, toast and english cooked breakfast.nothing to complain about at this price great value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

Stayed 2 nights to see sights around Cornwall. Below standard accommodation, No WI FI available needed to go to pub 700 mtrs away, old rooms with poor quality beds, bathroom in need of renovation. Not up to the standard of a lot of B and B in England. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank CorneliusM35
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our guesthouse. We are delighted you mention our excellent breakfast and friendly staff. We have four main aims at the Donnington: 1) Friendly staff, our team are kind, caring and have years of experience. They are wonderful. 2) A full-cooked tasty breakfast included in our rate to set our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#5 of 5 in Truro
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 5 in Truro
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#3 of 38 in Truro
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 38 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay