We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lopesan Baobab Resort

Save
Share
C/ Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (7191)
360
Panoramas (12)
Pool & Beach (1146)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Lopesan Baobab Resort
Updated 09/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Meloneras
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. The “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, and two pools for babies and children are specially outstanding. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second à la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 677 modern rooms. The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Boating
Babysitting
Children's playground
Parking garage
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Game room
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Bowling offsite
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Water park offsite
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
7,990Reviews1,171Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,140
  • 1,804
  • 659
  • 205
  • 182
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Oliver Widengren wrote a review Nov 2020
Frankfurt, Germany84 contributions8 helpful votes
Just returned from a 8 night stay at Baobab. This was my first time at this hotel. Visually, the hotel is impressive, with very large open spaces, nice decor and lighting. Reception went smoothly, however the receptionist, who was fantastic, spoke so fast I could barely process anything she was saying. They seem to be more focused on getting the queue moving than actually taking their time and explaining everything at a normal speed. I can understand this if it was a 2* or 3* hotel, but in a 5* hotel you would expect more. The pools are it's best asset. I really enjoyed them every day I was there and never had a problem finding a sunbed because the hotel was not packed due to COVID. The room has a more than decent size with a nice bathroom with a shower and a huge bathtub. Robes are provided but no slippers, creams or lotions which was quite surprising to me. Room comes with a empty mini fridge you can use which was nice. TV size was ok but not that big. The worst part of the whole stay was the mattresse and noise from the street. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of it's category and I was confident the bed would be comfortable. It felt like I was sleeping on a 20 year old box spring (it is box spring). You could literally hear the springs every time to moved around and at time could even feel them poking into you. I informed recepcion and they put a mattress cover which was too thin to provide any comfort. The noise at night from the bars/restaurants just in front of the hotel did not make things any better. In addition, on weekdays starting at 8 AM they started construction/renovation work on the hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras, also located right in front. So in my case there was no good rest during my stay there, which made me feel constantly fatigued. Breakfast was very limited and not really appealing. No good selection at the bread/bakery section. Muffins were dry and doll size. I really did enjoy the bowles of fresh fruit (watermelon/papaya/melon or mixed fruits) and freshly made juices, the juices were quite small so have to go back several times. You also have boiled, scrambled eggs or omelette, bacon, cooked mushrooms, tomates, crepes or waffles with whipped cream and hot homemade chocolate sauce or mixed berries in addition to the cold cut, cereals and yogurt section. Everything very limited in choice though. Coffee is served without a teaspoon and you must ask for one every time, unless you want to use the large spoon which they already provide you with. Waiters were sometimes forgetful. All in all, it was an ok experience but it didn't reach my expectations nor blow my mind away. If it wasn't for the bed and noise, I would consider returning, but as they say, the first impression is what counts. And unfortunately mine wasn't good enough to want to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, We highly appreciate your comments published on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Lopesan Baobab Resort. Thanks also for your review and we would like inform you that we have taken note of your comments and we will work hard to improve them. We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our hotel facilities. We would like to inform you that we have forwarded your comments about the quality of food and supplements for extra service to the department in charge. In our daily improvement process the comments of our guests are one of the most important part for being able to continue fulfilling wishes and expectations and we apologize to hear that in your case we didn’t manage it. If you want to inform us about anything else, please contact we us per mail and we can go deeper in your comments. Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel. Best regards Guest Relations Department
Read more
Elliot Ruff wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions
Where do I begin... I have seen this hotel before on previous holiday searches and on this occasion booked a very last minute stay due to the rapidly changing UK Travel Corridors. To briefly mention some recent reviews. The hotel does have 'suite' style rooms with some additional services, but given that the hotel is not running at full capacity, you can fully understand that not all restaurants and services are available. As with many hotels providing suites, club lounges are often available, but I have rarely seen a hotel which allows you to go to the club lounge and take food and drink away. Therefore a recent review criticising this seems rather unfair and unjustified - this is normal practice. I believe what they are comparing to is an All-inclusive, which this is not! So, back to my review. I travelled with my family, which included 2 young children (aged 5 and 3) and from the day we arrived we were made to feel incredibly welcome. We did stay in a suite, which did have some extra benefits which we were unaware of at the time of booking. This included a welcome drink, a complimentary room service drink, a massage, and complimentary drinks/snacks from the reception bar. The room was in good condition, very clean and very spacious with a lounge which had a sofa bed for the children and a separate bedroom for ourselves. There was only 2 buffet restaurants open, but the hotel is at reduced capacity given COVID and limited number of guests arriving. The food was a little repetitive, but it was very tasty, we enjoyed it, the chefs were always very helpful. I would like to shout out the restaurant staff at this point - they were incredible. Very attentive, very friendly, remembered my children's names and made us feel very welcome. Thank you! Another asset of this hotel is the very numerous pools to choose from, one with a lazy river, a few with zero entry (fantastic for young children who aren't strong swimmers) and it was heated! Thank you so much for making us feel welcome, it was a holiday well needed. I would certainly recommend this to anyone and would no doubt consider visiting again in the future. Thank you again. COVID-19: Please note, the hotel was very assertive regarding COVID, temperature checks everytime you enter the hotel, lots of hand sanitizing units, clear queues for the restaurants, timed meal sitting to avoid crowds of people, masks throughout by everyone. Very reassuring.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We had a Junior suite - well worth it for a little more space if more than 2 of you.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Family, First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on the website Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our environment and the service. Your detailed description and the professional analysis of your travel experiences are not only valuable for other travellers, but also a wonderful feedback to share with all members of our team. Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel. Kind regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Wessert Diana wrote a review Nov 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel all round. The design is so amazing and has so many details. The Staff was always friendly. There are multiple pools at the hotel (all nice and clean). The rooms are also very Beautiful. The only think we didn’t like: We had an appointment with a friend who stayed in a different hotel in Gran Canaria. We wanted to have a drink with her at the Hotel but due to the Covid 19, our friend didn’t have the right to come inside. We don’t understand why.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your detailed review concerning your most recent visit here at Lopesan Baobab We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel facilities and service. We would like to infom you that currently due to Covid-19 safety restrictions only hotel guests are allowed to enter the hotel facilities. Again, thank you very much and we do look forward to welcoming you back next year! Warm regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Abadri12 wrote a review Nov 2020
Brussels, Belgium8 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed one week in the hotel (family of 5) Very good food and good quality. Excellent fish and home made desserts. Rooms are spacious but good be bigger. Very nice pools and friendly waiters I would definitely recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to Gran Canaria. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with other holidaymakers and for your comments giving us ideas for our future. We hope that we will see you again at the hotel. Kind regards, Public Relations Department.
Read more
Daniel wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for a week with the family. Senior Suite, 700 euros a night including all meals. The hotel is getting rather old and it was a while since renovated for sure, but still ok. Pools were nice, especially the one for suite guests only. However, that is where the good parts stop. Dinner and especially lunch is absolutely terrible for an adult. Kids that mostly eat french fries like it, but as an adult, very booring options and most rasten the same. Also as soon as there is as issue, most men at the hotel is very unwilling to help, absolutely terrible service. And not to mention all the small things...... full board for 700 eur per night for example gives you a free bar in the reception. But if you get a coffee in a take away cup, you have to drink it there and can not take it to the room or sun chairs, then you have to pay extra. So unbelievably stupid. No, STAY AWAY from this hotel. It was long since it was 5 star, and food and service today is not more than 2! Choose something else, this will just give you a bad Experience!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gisele Gómez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Lopesan Baobab Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Lopesan Baobab Resort during your holidays on Gran Canaria. We are glad you enjoyed the pools. We are sorry for the inconveniences that you have experimented and we have forwarded your comments to the responsible departments. However, we would hve liked to have the chance to speak personally to you regarding the issues. We would be glad to become a second chance in a future. Best regards, Public Relations Department.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lopesan baobab hotel maspalomas
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsGran CanariaMeloneras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
677
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lopesan Baobab Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Nearby attractions include Quad Maspalomas (0.1 miles), The Mint Company Luxe Meloneras (0.3 miles), and Chester Meloneras Club & Lounge (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include K1 food&lounge, Mezzaluna Pizzeria Trattoria & Cafe, and Restaurante Bandera Tapas y Copas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Lopesan Baobab Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Lopesan Baobab Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lopesan Baobab Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lopesan Baobab Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.