We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

La Vieille Auberge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Vieille Auberge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Souillac is not what you would describe as a French Chocolate Box town. It's badly in need of employment opportunities and directly opposite La Vieille Auberge is a run down four storey building with planning permission on the wall dating back ten years to before the global financial crisis when the construction firm or investors obviously ran out of cash.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dawidka1
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

I didn't stay in this hotel but the restaurant is fantastic - it must be the best in Souillac. The prawn starter and the chocolate desert were the heros for me. That said, my main of sea bream was very good and my friends enjoyed their lamb. I would have returned if I had a longer stay. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank baggot14
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very comfortable for a 2 star hotel. The interior was fairly modern with tastefully painted walls and simple furnishings. It had a large window which provided lots of light into the room and an automatic shutter system to shut out the light when you went to sleep. It had a comfortable bed, and a good sized bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at La Vieille Auberge in Souillac and will definitely stay there again when we pass through the Dordogne. We had booked our dog in with us, therefore we didn't really expect the lovely large warm, carpeted bedroom (with a super walk-in shower) that we were given. The evening meal in the restaurant was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank heleninfrance
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

very nice place to stay.bedrooms nice and bright. bedding fresh. had evening meal and breakfast both large portions and good value. no lift so had to climb stairs . secure parking in locked garage for 7 euro well worth it . free onsite parking is available.

Helpful?
Thank petrolpump44
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We have eaten here before but thought that this time we must do a review. The restaurant must be the best in Souillac. The food it beautifully cooked, the staff are very friendly -really smiley humans - and the food lives up to the standard of the presentation. Make the effort you will not be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank dancinggreen
Mumbles, Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Souillac was one of those places I had passed through many times, stopped for coffee, maybe, but never had stopped there. This time ended that as we stayed in this hotel. It is well away from the main street which takes the through traffic so it is in a quiet area of the town. Adjoining the hotel is another one,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerjealin
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile

We spent the first night here before collecting our bikes and heading off on a 7 day cycle circuit the next day. We arrived late because our train from Toulouse was cancelled due to storm damage on the tracks and we traveled by bus instead. It was a chaotic start to our holiday. The welcome was warm when we finally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I'l review the restaurant separately. It's extraordinary. I found my room, two floors up, to be a little drab, not that that's a big deal. Even changing the tint of the fluorescent lighting would be a good start. I was there in the midst of a terrible heat wave. The room had only an overhead fan, but that was just... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeisenbergCT
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

The staff were friendly and quite helpful. The hotel rooms were large and well maintained. Food in the restaurant was exceptional and showcased the local specialties. I believe some rooms are in the roof section of the building which may be an issue for taller guests, may be worth giving a "heads up" in advance of a stay. Wifi was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_review
auberge46, Responsable réception at La Vieille Auberge, responded to this review

Thank for your notice. You are right, it is always a good thing to call the hotel when you have a special requirement. You have enjoyed your meal at the restaurant. Valerie ,the chef, love to work with the regional Producer (ex : the smooked trout of the Blagour, near Souillac) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Souillac hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge du Puits
Auberge du Puits
#6 of 9 in Souillac
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
Hotel du Puy d'Alon
#3 of 9 in Souillac
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pavillon Saint Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Promenade
Hotel de la Promenade
#9 of 9 in Souillac
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De Souillac
Grand Hotel De Souillac
#4 of 9 in Souillac
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Quercy
Hotel Le Quercy
#7 of 9 in Souillac
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about La Vieille Auberge

Address: 1 rue de la Recege, 46200 Souillac, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Souillac
Price Range: $78 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vieille Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your La Vieille Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille Auberge Souillac
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay