We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Makaira Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Makaira Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved every minute of our stay at Makaira. Gorgeous views from our private and comfortable Bure with easily accessible snorkeling right out front and spectacular views to the distant islands were just the half of it. At Makaira we were welcomed like family. Hosts Roberta and John and their beautiful local helpers Lucy, Lala, James, Vanni, Mary, Taru, Clara... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally P
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an absolutely magical stay at Makaira. The location, set on a hill above the sea, is spectacular, offering great panoramic views of Taveuni, with easy access to the sparkling water (and amazing snorkeling) right below. The bures are comfortable and well-stocked to make you feel at home, all of them have little pools for cooling off. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank mamasfolly
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Your family is lovely. Your children were wonderful, so polite, curious and open to the whole Makaira and Fijian experience. Your whole stay with us was delightful for all of us. Personally, my best memory was taking you all snorkeling and watching your son and daughter... More 

Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

Went to Taveuni with a friend, fishing. He claimed all along that it wasn't a fishing trip & in the end I agree. If you don't enjoy yourself at Makaira, it is your own fault. Magnificent views of the Somo Somo straights. Makaira burgers. Anyone who can appreciate the magic hour doesn't need an explanation. I'm not a big massage... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank arrow2016
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. You guys were so much fun I think we should give you both a 5 star guest rating. You are definitely members of the future Makaira Club along with so many of our other fabulous guests. Anytime you are ready to come back... More 

Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

My stay at Makaira was an unreal experience. The view from the property was straight from a post card. The food was great , The snorkeling and the beach is just a short walk from the property. Makaira is world class all the way.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us that great review, it is so appreciated. I hope you got out of Fiji in the knick of time before the cyclone hit? I hope you got to see the Kadavu reef before it hit, because I heard it really sustained some damage. You were great fun and we... More 

Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

Well you may ask what is coral gardening? I will tell you but and I hate buts, but this one is necessary. Like many reefs the world round the coral reefs in Fiji are threatened. Pollution, storm surge, and Crown of Thorn starfish plagues are some of the causes, The reefs out the front of Makaira have been badly damaged... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara-iti
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that wonderful review about our coral gardening project. As you know we just got hit by the devastating cyclone Winston. We were very lucky and are up and operational. After we cleared the rubble on the resort James and I went out with much trepidation to see what was left of all our hard work... More 

Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

The location, accommodations, staff, food, and atmosphere was amazing!!! We can't wait to go back and scuba dive on the rainbow reef some more. John took us out fishing and made sure we had a great time and we couldn't stop laughing.

Helpful?
1 Thank rachelllowe
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. You were a great group with superb organizational skills to make the best of your time on Taveuni. We hope you will join us again when you come back to do some serious diving on the Rainbow reef. Taveuni is truly like practice heaven. More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016

When we originally booked our stay here, it was for 7 nights. We thought that would be "plenty". After about day 5 we were already "longing" for more time. Roberta and John had asked us several times to stay longer. It was not a difficult decision. There are many reviews of Makaira on Trip Advisor. They almost all have "rave"... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank leecap
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. But in all fairness you both also had the right attitude. I notice with guests that come to Taveuni with an open mind and ready to embrace the tropics and the whole experience which is often quite different then from where they came from with tropical weather and a few extra bugs.... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Just spent eight nights in Taveuni, and so glad we picked Makaira. Great location - a short walk to one of the best small beaches on the island, across the street from Tramonto if you get tired of self catering and want a tasty pizza, two kilometers from the Matei airport and grocery store, and a perfect base to shoot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blueskyguy
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I must say you did a brilliant job of summarizing all the highlights which really helps future guests to know what is around us and what they can do at Makaira and on the island. When our guests write these lovely reviews it really does inspire... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

I am so happy I booked to stay at Makaira Resort. Not only were we upgraded to the amazing Villa with Sea view (which was a amazing surprise for my 30th bday) but the owner Roberta baked me the best chocolate birthday cake I've ever eaten (I do not lie about things as serious as chocolate!). We only stayed 3... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kazwalcott
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Yes I agree your stay was far too short:-). But we will consider this a recon trip and so look forward to seeing you both again and maybe even with friends. We enjoyed you both so much and I am so glad you had a good 30th and good fun fishing with John and Baba.Thank you so much for visiting... More 

Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

People say "oh I just got back from Fiji" I say where did you stay thinking it will be some exotic destination and the answer is often "Denarau". You might as well go to the Gold Coast or any other generic resort world wide. Sure they got shops and spas and 5 star restaurants but they got no soul. If... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tara-iti
BulaHula, Owner at Makaira Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that great review, you really hit the nail on the head and it really will help future travellers decide if Makaira suits their vision of their perfect holiday. We truly are suited for the nature loving traveller who wants to get away. They can decide how much they want to do or not and still... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

320 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (233)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
5:55
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
0.3 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#6 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
23836.3 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23822.9 mi away
Paradise Taveuni
Paradise Taveuni
#4 of 10 in Taveuni Island
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
9.7 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
10.1 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Makaira Resort

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makaira is an affordable getaway on an island getaway. 3 accommodations only on a 4 acre property overlooking panoramic ocean views and white sandy beaches. The Grander is two bedroom two bath. The Villa is the ultimate in romance or can accommodate a group of 4 friends and the Marlin is a cottage built for two. We specialize in privacy, romance, serenity, adventure and a kicked back island life style. Makaira is the best of both worlds with self contained cottages or our guests can choose to have meals prepared for them complimented with organic vegetables, fruits and herbs from our organic garden. Aside from a stunning location, we offer lots of free amenities, airport transfers, WiFi, breakfast, snorkel gear, snorkel tours, reef gardening lessons, glass bottom kayak, private phone, DVD movies, a fabulous full time Fijian staff to look after our guests needs. We also offer Fishing charters for all types of deep sea fishermen, boat snorkel tours and upon reservation dinner at our galley restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makaira Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Matei, Taveuni Island +679, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Price Range: $199 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Makaira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makaira By The Sea Hotel Taveuni Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay