We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Church Rd, Roch, Haverfordwest SA62 6AQ Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$258
Travelocity$258
Priceline$258
Hotels.com$258
Orbitz.com$258
Tripadvisor$258
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (339)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (10)

About

#1 of 4 in Roch
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Roch Castle is a five star AA and Visit Wales Guest Accommodation offering award winning breakfast. Spectacular and dramatic, 12th century Roch Castle sits high above the Pembrokeshire landscape offering panoramic views over St Brides Bay and the Preseli Hills and is just a few minutes drive to Blue Flag Newgale beach. Six characteristic ensuite bedrooms hide away within the protective walls, while the jewel of the castle; the Sun Room, located on the fourth floor, has floor to ceiling glass walls and an alfresco viewing platform, affording guests a scenic and special space to relax. Rates include breakfast, VAT, parking and complimentary WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Adults only
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
471Reviews3Q+A97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 453
  • 11
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David F wrote a review May 23
Sidmouth, United Kingdom2 contributions
Had a three-day stay in Roch - absolutely wonderful. Quite stunning location, exquisitely-presented building, fantastic rooms, great staff - what more can I say? We had one night in one of the lower rooms, then were offered the other two nights in Ap Gruffydd on the third floor - a very good move. Very comfortable room, with all one could ask - lots of small details attended to as a matter of course. Wholeheartedly recommend treating yourselves. Without exception the staff could not have been more helpful and engaging.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have good views, but Ap Gruffydd has double-aspect windows, with one looking over the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sarah W wrote a review May 22
1 contribution
What an amazing stay we had, loverly staff that couldn’t do enough for us. The rooms are fabulous in every sense. There was not one thing They could improve on. The views were amazing. We will definitely be staying again. Thank you so much
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both one day in the future. Cofion Cynnes Adelle Sutherland., Roch Castle Manager.
Read more
pagesinuk wrote a review May 7
Faro District, Portugal22 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed two nights at this magnificent castle hotel and loved every detail . It is beautifully maintained and combines original features with more contemporary mod cons with subtle elegance. The staff are warm and friendly but never intrusive . This was the best hotel breakfast we have had in a very long time and we are well travelled.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
What a fantastic review to read. We are so pleased that we were able to deliver you such a great service. Our team will be overjoyed that all there hard work has paid off. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Cofion Cynnes Lily Stokes - Roch Castle Supervisor.
Read more
Joshua Harmer - woodage wrote a review Apr 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom11 contributions
+1
This was a long awaited visit, like most people i wanted some different. Me and my partner stayed for two nights with the engagement package (she had no idea) in the Ap Gruffydd room, such a beautiful room. Id had been organising the proposal with Stephen Garvey Marketing and Events Co-Ordinator, I couldn't of asked for more, he was extremely helpful, answered questions and emails with solutions and made my idea a reality. He helped me organise music, rose petals and lighting in the honesty Bar, when the time presented itself it was beautifully decorated and private. On top of this the room was also decorated with a personal card, chocolates, rose petals on the bed and breakfast in bed in the morning. The stay up to, and after this event was peaceful and extremely private. The staff were very professional and invisible (you thought you were alone in the castle). We did dine at the Blas Restaurant in Twr y Felin the sister hotel of Roch castle. This was also absolutely lovely, the food was beautifully presents and tasted amazing. It was very professional and really was worth every penny. I couldn't rate the stay enough, you will not be disappointed!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you kindly for allowing us to be apart of such a special occasion! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to get everything in order for you to be able to propose! Cofion Cynnes Adelle Sutherland Roch Castle Manager
Read more
Nia R wrote a review Apr 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
Incredible 3 night get away at Roch castle! Lovely warm welcome and chocolate bunnies for Easter! The room was incredible and bed was amazing! Staff were all fabulous and very friendly and attentive! Had breakfast delivered to our room for the 1st morning due to it being our honeymoon which was a lovely touch and the food was delicious! The views were incredible and the honesty bar was a real luxury! Absolutely loved our stay and will highly recomend! Made us feel like royalty for a few days! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
WOW! What a lovely review to read and I'm so glad that we were able to spoil you on such a special occasion such as your honeymoon! We all wish you both the best for the future and hope you visit us again soon! Cofion Cynnes Adelle Sutherland, Roch Castle Manager
Read more
Karen wrote a review Apr 2022
thatcham17 contributions2 helpful votes
After growing up in Roch as a child and playing in the grounds of Roch Castle, it has always been a dream to stay in it since it was made into a hotel. My stay didn't disappoint, amazing place, amazing room, amazing staff and lovely views over my childhood village. Lily was vey attentive, a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was awesome, piping hot and delicious, thank you Julie. On arrival in our room, as it was Easter weekend, we had chocolate bunnies with a lovely welcome card, a lovely touch. The only problem, was we didn't want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving a review and for choosing to stay with us over the Easter Break! Please pop in for coffees whenever you like seeing as you're in the area! I will pass on your lovely comments to Lily and Julie whom I'm sure will be thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Cofion Cynnes Adelle Sutherland, Roch Castle Manager
Read more
Sam B wrote a review Apr 2022
Nuneaton, United Kingdom57 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
We had a really lovely few days, we would have liked to have extended our stay if we could. Friendly and helpful team, clean and comfortable room, in a beautifully renovated castle. Good quality and choice of breakfast. It was a lovely experience. We were extra lucky in that we were one of only two couples staying and we really only saw them at breakfast, meaning once the staff went home in the evening we very much felt like we had the castle to ourselves. We really enjoyed the lounge and sunroom space and honesty bar, it was a well stocked and nice offering for a quiet evening after a day of exploring and dinner. We were slightly disappointed that the room we believed we had booked that was higher and had a sea view from bed, we had been moved out of due to work being done on the roof. BUT the room we were given instead was lovely and we ended up spending less time in there anyway because of the access to the lounge space. The castle is a great base to explore from. We really enjoyed our time in Tenby, St. David’s and walking along the coastline. Our only point we wished we’d known was the cost of taxi to and from the castle to the sister hotel for the Blas Restaurant. For a 13 minute journey each way it cost us a total of £60. Ridiculous cost. We thought it was £30 total when we booked a return pick up, and felt unable to challenge when we were brought home. We had a nice evening but should have just driven ourselves as we didn’t drink anywhere near enough for it to be worth it. We have heard that there used to be transport between the hotels included to visit the restaurant but that it’s been stopped. A shame! A lovely taxi driver, nothing against the journey or service, just a super high cost for such a short journey when recommended by the hotel. Overall we absolutely recommend a stay here and will very likely return and bring friends/family. We’ll just not use taxi’s! :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: - Avoid taxi use unless needed - high price
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are overjoyed that you had a lovely time whilst staying with us her at Roch Castle, and we thank you for your patience in accepting the room upgrade due to the roof works at the time of your stay. Thank you for your comment about the taxi cost, unfortunately this is something we cannot change and is the standard price here in Pembrokeshire however, we will endeavour to find new companies to use or see if we may get a special rate for our guests for future journeys. Cofion Cynnes Adelle Sutherland, Roch Castle Manager
Read more
Sophie L wrote a review Apr 2022
Narberth, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
My fiancé booked us to stay in Roch for my birthday and it was absolutely perfect. They were extremely generous and gave us a complimentary upgrade for our room and I had a card and little box of chocolates from the staff which was a lovely touch. The decor was lovely everywhere and it was such a relaxing place to be. The lounge is gorgeous and you get stunning views of the Pembrokeshire coast and countryside out on the sun deck. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were incredibly attentive during our stay. I also had a treatment and it was such a relaxing experience I felt amazing afterwards! I don’t think there’s enough words to praise the staff and the hotel it was so wonderful and we’ll definitely be back and can’t wait to try the sister hotels!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Thank you for your kind words regarding Roch Castle and our team. We are delighted that you wish to try Twr y Felin Hotel and Penrhiw Priory next time.
Read more
victoria o wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Wonderful stay in the Lucy Walters room. Seeing the castle from the distance was stunning and the inside was even more impressive. It was luxurious, great service, beautiful artwork, lovely breakfast. I stayed as a girlie weekend with 14 year old niece and we both loved it. A treatment with Fey is an absolute must and in our case this was a bespoke massage. There are loads of narrow steps inside so you have to be mobile but it is worth it. Eating out in the evenings you really have to drive somewhere. we walked to the Victoria Inn nearby and weren't impressed but a short drive to the Duke of Edinburgh in Gleneagles was a delight with tasty steaks, a lively atmosphere and a dream caramel sundae.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: the more expensive rooms are spacious but are at the top of the castle so cheaper room means less...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Thank you for highlighting that as 12th Century castle, built on igneous rock, Roch Castle does indeed have many flights of steep stairs, specifically when choosing to stay at the top of the castle as your did. It is also so helpful of your to highlight that Roch Castle is a great base to explore the only coast la National Park by car. For those guests who wish to explore by foot, we recommend our sister 5 star Guest Accommodation Penrhiw Priory located iin the smallest city in Britain - St Davids. Also in St Davids is our 4 star Hotel Twr y Felin (Windmill Tower), which is fully serviced with its own bar/lounge and a 3 Rosette fine dining Restaurant named Blas. Cofion cynnes, Paula Ellis - Group General Manager.
Read more
Tak H wrote a review Jan 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the hotel on an exclusive basis for a special occasion. The whole experience from the quality of the building, to the welcoming and extremely helpful hotel team, all contributed to a weekend everyone will remember. With just 6 rooms and a limit of 12 guests, exclusive use is ideal for groups and gives a very special and relaxed feel that is not possible in an ordinary hotel. Due to covid, we organised our own.chef, although in normal times the hotel can organise one
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Twr Y Felin, Other at Roch Castle Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2022
Wow! What a lovely message to read! We are so glad we were able to give you such a great experience whilst staying with us here at Roch Castle. I will pass along your kind words to all of our team that assisted you that weekend, and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you all again one day in the future. Cofion Cynnes, Adelle Sutherland, Roch Castle Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPembrokeshireHaverfordwestRoch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roch Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Roch Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wales Coastal Path (4.9 miles), Newgale Beach (1.7 miles), and Solva (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Roch Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Roch Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Roch Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roch Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sand & Stone Kitchen, Pointz Castle Ice Cream, and The Haven Brasserie.
Is Roch Castle Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the center of Roch.
Are there any historical sites close to Roch Castle Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Solva (4.7 miles).
Does Roch Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.