We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 238: English reviews
Gold Canyon, AZ
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to treat my visiting parents for breakfast at the resort. We ate in the bar/dining area, as the dining room was closed. We could order off the menu which was good. Here's the issue: Very poor service. (And, high prices for breakfast.) Our waiter was nice enough, however, we waited for everything. It was NOT that busy for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
relaxatgcgr, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review

Pam T, Thank you for bringing this unacceptable incident to our attention in a timely manner. We strive to provide exceptional service to go along with fantastic dining options and we are disappointed that you were subject to this experience. Our management team will use your feedback to ensure proper steps are taken in order to correct these mishaps and...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had fun playing the diverse Dinosaur mountain course. Greens and fairways in good condition, with generous rough very shallow. Replay policy however is very different from the norm and quite unfriendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernard821
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed October 21, 2016

We stayed here on a Monday night which was supposed to be for 2 nights but we checked out after one night. I couldn’t wait to leave. We didn’t sleep due to the very noisy air conditioner which we had to run since it was 95 degrees during the day. But the worst part were the animals in the ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GFFoodWineLover
relaxatgcgr, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review

GFFoodWineLover, We are disappointed to hear that during your recent stay you encountered these issues that led to an unexpected early departure. With our resort being set in the beautiful Superstition Wilderness, it offers us the pleasure of being surrounded with various types of wildlife. Unfortunately, with our setting there are occasions where unwanted wildlife will make their way onto...

Fort Mohave
Reviewed October 7, 2016

The location is way out against the mountains. Quiet and relaxing. The rooms were different. I was expecting something a little more comfortable. No kitchen just a small fridge under the counter. No microwave , only a one cup coffee maker and no sink at the wet bar area. The only sink was in the bathroom which was also quite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nina W
relaxatgcgr, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review

Nina W, Thank you for bringing these comments to our attention as we value our guests opinion the most when making improvements. We are disappointed that we were not aware of the displeasure you encountered with your casita during your stay as we would have immediately rearranged your reservation into a more satisfying option. It is unfortunate that you feel...

Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Wow! Passed the resort a few times over the years but finally stayed for a business retreat. Rooms are large and really nice - think they really compare to Scottsdale/Sedona resorts but at a more reasonable price. Very impressed. Food was prepared for our group (pre-determined menu) but was very well prepared and delicious. I'd definitely come back. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Palmtreeaz
Beaufort, North Carolina
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

We checked in September for 6 days and had a wonderful time. After checking in we met friends for dinner and sat outside to have great meal and watched the sunset. We played golf 3 days on Gold Canyon's 2 outstanding courses. All the employees were courteous and very nice. We stayed in room 1061 which was very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beaufort0105
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Gold Canyon is a great place to plan a golfing vacation. My husband enjoys the golf and I enjoy the spa. The desert views are beautiful. While golfing you have a clear view of Superstition Mountain. It is breath taking when you see it. The beautiful colorful sunrise or sunset are a must see. The restaurant is good. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlexandreaB28
Gaijin_Mom
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple of nights at this resort. Bright the family along for a conference held here. Our camily of six stayed in a room with two queen beds and a pull out couch. The couch was nice in that it was a full sized couch, not a love seat size. This made for a larger bed than the average...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gaijin_Mom
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We stopped here for drinks and wish we had stayed for dinner. Outstanding property, beautiful views of Superstition Mountain and great service. Prices are very reasonable, and the menu is varied. Summer specials are available.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Srsignore
Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip. The rooms are large and clean which is great when you are working as you can spread out and set up your desk etc. The food is well priced and the portions large, good bar selection and very friendly staff. Randy at the bar will help with anything...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chris c
relaxatgcgr, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review

chris c, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent visit with us, and as we are disappointed you had to spend your days handling business, we are thrilled you were still able to enjoy most of our amenities here at GCGR. We look forward to seeing you around the property again soon!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
20.4 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
14.7 mi away
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
18.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Gilbert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gold Canyon Resort's 85 unique Hotel rooms offer a variety of amenities such as Indoor or Outdoor Private Spas, Suites, Wood Burning Fireplaces and Private Patios with splendid views of the majestic Superstition Mountains. This unique setting provides us with spectacular views of the famed Superstition Mountains where many have attempted to find the Lost Dutchman's' gold. Natural wildlife to the area can be encountered right outside your door. Carved out of the foothills of the scenic Superstition Mountains, the 36 holes of Desert Mountain Golf at Gold Canyon offer two distinct playing options. Dinosaur Mountain, rated Four and a Half stars by Golf Digest takes golfers into the high Sonoran Desert with dramatic tee-to-green elevation changes. Sidewinder, Four Star Rating by Golf Digest, runs through the land's natural arroyos and dry creek beds, providing a pristine desert golf experience.Amenities include Hiking, Biking, Swimming Pool, Massage and Spa Services, and much more! Enjoy spectacular views while dining at Kokopelli's Restaurant, The Bar & Grill or The Ledge at Dinosaur Mountain. Over 10,000 feet of Distinct Full Service Meeting and Banquet facilities for functions ranging from 10-200.Located just 35 minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, this very special mountainside resort is close enough to the Valley of the Sun, yet far enough away to let you experience the peace and unmatched beauty of the high Sonoran Desert. We strive to create an experience that you will not soon forget. Come and enjoy a true Arizona Golf Resort experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Address: 6100 S Kings Ranch Rd, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118-4679
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Price Range: $112 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gold Canyon Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Canyon Golf Hotel Gold Canyon
Gold Canyon Resort
Gold Canyon Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gold Canyon Golf Resort staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gold Canyon Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid room #1063 or any room for that matter”
 of 5 bubbles GFFoodWineLover, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Depends on if you want to be by mountains and wildlife or on the golf course and get hit by gold balls. Our patio was not safe to sit on.”
 of 5 bubbles 499ninah, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“VERY badly needs total remodel”
 of 5 bubbles tb0507, Jun 3, 2016 | Read review
“April is the ideal month to visit Arizona, cool nights, sunny skies and warm temps, not always hot, during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles sunbunnie2016, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“Pricey and old.”
 of 5 bubbles carolyng355, Mar 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay