We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Barn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilltop Barn
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Barn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Wimborne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay here and from the minute we arrived everything was simply perfect. The owners couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable during our stay. We were offered tea and cake upon arrival but regrettably we didnt have time to take up the offer. Breakfast was a plate of fresh fruit followed by a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcparrin
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
368 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Taken over by groom's relatives for a couple of nights. Wonderful place, wonderful people and a great breakfast in a beautifully restored old barn. Highly recommend for a R&R. Difficult to find but then that was the best part of being there.

Helpful?
Thank peter_glazier
Swanley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Amazing place. Beautiful converted barn. Very clean, comfortable rooms all individually designed. Lots of personnel touches by Shan and Bill. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We were given tea and cake on arrival then shown to our rooms. Bill went out of his way to give me another room because I... More 

Helpful?
Thank m16cen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Clean, comfortable, friendly with delicious breakfasts. Highly recommended (bring your own sunshine...) We stayed in the Willow room which is a little small but lovely and quiet as it is at the back of the house with views on to field with horse, rabbits etc The Botany Bay pub is within easy walking distance and serves excellent meals.

Helpful?
Thank notusedtomoaning
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Lovely place, nice and warm room, charming owner. Looking forward to be back in the area so I can stay there again. Freshly cooked breakfast and they'll do it earlier for you if you need to leave early. Also- walking distance to nearest pub :-)

Helpful?
Thank maciekkf
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

Lovely place to stay only here for one night. The owners were great cup of tea and cake on arrival was a nice touch. Rooms clean and comfy and a fab breakfast. Will stay again if in the area!! Romm keys will be posted back tomorrow. Sorry about that!

Helpful?
Thank PhillyB77
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

After reading the previous comment I just had to write. I took my mum last year and it is the best b&b we have ever stayed in. We arrived after an awful jounney and after being shown our wonderful room we were served tea and cake downstairs in the lovely hallway. The room was amazing..everything you could wish for down... More 

Helpful?
Thank VINTAGEROSE1
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

The room was so full of stuff that you could hardly move. Now to be honest everyone has different taste but this wasn't ours. It was stuffed full of ornaments, nick knacks and items that were just unnecessary. The bed was covered in a heavy quilt and the pillows were so heavily covered in embroidery that they left an impression... More 

Helpful?
Thank gam8le
hilltop100, Owner at Hilltop Barn, responded to this review

We are sorry your room was not to your taste. Had you told us at the time we would have offered you alternative accommodation. There is no substitute for communication. The problem with the Tripadvisor review process is that reviewers can say what they like irrespective of accuracy. So we will respond to the points you have raised to correct... More 

Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

Our trip the the UK was far to short! Yet the family here at Hilltop Barn made us feel so very welcome! The beauty of the location and the feel of the home was without a doubt the highlight of our trip! We definitely want and will be back! Simply beautiful in its restoration and conversion! We felt so warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. J. B
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Great B&B and such a welcoming couple. Bill provided tea when we arrived fairly early and Shan's sponge cake was delicious. Excellent accommodation so much more of a homely atmosphere rather than the boring boutique hotels of late. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Ideally placed for so much exploring in the area. The peace and quiet of the countryside was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuccaSiena
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterborne Zelston
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bassets B&B
Bassets B&B
#2 of 3 in Winterborne Zelston
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Launceston Farm
Launceston Farm
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Launceston
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilltop Barn is situated in the picturesque village of Winterborne Zelston just 1/4 mile from the A31 between Wimborne Minster and Bere Regis.Peacefully located on the edge of the village with outstanding views of the Dorset countryside. An ideal location for exploring “Hardy Country”, Rural Dorset and the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. Hilltop Barn offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an imaginatively conceived barn conversion, retaining much of its original character, a wealth of beams and rustic charm. Each bedroom is individually designed and where possible incorporates the original features of the Barn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Barn

Address: Hilltop Barn Hilltop Barn | Near Blandford Forum, Winterborne Zelston, Blandford Forum DT11 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Blandford Forum > Winterborne Zelston
Price Range: $92 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Barn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hilltop Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay