Casona Santo Domingo

C. de Santo Domingo, 32, 38500 Guimar, Tenerife Spain
Traveler (69)
Dining (16)
Suite
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 inn in Guimar
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
3.9
This rural hotel is located in the historic center of Güímar and is considered Monument of cultural interest due to its 16th century architecture. This house has been carefully restored to maintain its architecture and traditional Canarian style, becoming a cozy space that retains the charm of its noble origin. It also enjoys an excellent location in a natural setting and is ideal for outdoor activities such as hiking. It is strategically located 8 minutes from the sea and at the foot of the mountain, being also halfway between the north and the south of the island of Tenerife. It has a famous restaurant in the valley for its exquisite tapas, the possibility of tasting the best local wines and succulent dishes prepared by chef Joachim Van Wambeke, member of the "Eurotoque Community of International Chefs" since 1994. "La Casona" Is the ideal place to enjoy a different and quality holiday.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars

Location

C. de Santo Domingo, 32, 38500 Guimar, Tenerife Spain
Name/address in local language
103Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 52
  • 19
  • 4
  • 6
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DarioSaraB wrote a review Jan 2023
Rome, Italy3,259 contributions240 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The house is wonderful, the atmosphere is great and the pet friendly room we were given was spacious and clean. The man at the reception was friendly and helpful.
On the other hand, it was freezing cold and even with the extra blankets given we didn't spend a relaxing night because the air was iced and they weren't thick enough. We checked in late, so we didn't want to disturb, therefore we couldn't even have a hot tea during the night, because nothing is provided: not a kettle, nor a single bag of tea. A little heater, at least for the morning shower -getting undressed has been a challenge- would be advised, the towels are so small that coming out of the shower is a nightmare! Maybe you just need to ask for it (we didn't) to spend a good night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zanaboby wrote a review Sep 2010
Milan, Italy720 contributions124 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in a historic well preserved building with a very nice internal patio, a well decoraded environment with pretty Canarian flavour.
We had a very well welcome (even if we arrived well after the standard closure for check-in) and enjoyed simple but excellent breakfast (included in the pricing).
The room was roomy and clean, with very nice furniture in old-canarian style, perfectly in line with the overall location. Unfortunately the bed creeked a lot and it was really difficult to slip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucyduck13 wrote a review Jul 2017
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain79 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked here very last minute as we were let down by another hotel. We only stayed one night, but the experience was pleasant. The hotel is in an ideal location to hop on and off the motorway, going both south and North. When we arrived it was closed, but after a few phone calls we gained access to our keys, and were pleasantly surprised by the quaint charm of the room.

Friendly staff, both on the phone and in person
Pillows were very comfortable
Surrounding area was lovely to wander, and enjoy the peace and quiet
Parking very close

Housekeeping let the stay down, as the one of the complimentary bottles of water was already half empty, and there were a pair of dirty socks on the chair. Both minor things, but should have been picked up on. The bed was very uncomfortable, and I did wake feeling like I had slept on a concrete floor. Also the details of how to get the keys if reception closed could have been emailed over before hand to save the phone calls, but overall our stay was lovely, and we would return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne N wrote a review Feb 2020
UK42 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here two years ago and gave a glowing review.  Sadly I cannot do the same this time.  We booked for two nights and ate in the restaurant the first night.  The next day there was a wedding reception.  We only found out about this as our bikes were moved.  The wedding party were very happy which was good.  However, they were extremely noisy until quite late at night and the restaurant was closed.  We should have been warned earlier and asked if we wanted to cancel.  At the very least we should have been told on arrival but we weren't even told on the day.  When we were ready to retire for the night we asked how much longer the noise would be.  The answer was one hour but it was at least two.  We were told that our bikes would be put back but they weren't.  There was no one around in the morning so we had to search the rooms for our bikes, dreading that they would be locked away.  We are not party poopers and are in favour of a happy wedding party but it was clear that the management didn't care about their hotel guests.  We will not go again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from nathalie-tenerife, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear Client, Thank you for your comment, always very important for us. We have to explain you some of details about your stay. We had a wedding during the day7th , the wedding started at 15.00 to eat and finished at 22.30. At the beginning they were in the restaurant they were 14 persons, and later from 18.30, they will be outside, to can serve clients from the hotel and outside...the restaurant was not closed, we had a lot of clients during this night. It's true that it was noisy because they were dancing outside...but till 22.30, it was not possible to tell them tu cut before. About your bicycles, we had to move them, because later than the breakfast you gone out and at 12.00 you hadn't come back, and the bicycles were outside where we had the wedding....just in the entrance...it was not possible for us to let these bicycles during the wedding, and it was most sure for the bicycles to put these in the garage closed....it was not possible for us to tell you before to change these, because we thought that during the day, you would take your bicycles with you but it was not the case....at 12.00 the bicycles stayed in the entrance and you were not in your room...we decided to move. when you had come back at 14.00 we told you that we moved the bicycles and all was ok... For us "Clients are rey", and it's really not true that we don't care them, we are the same than 2 years ago and we want continue like this. Put them "1" it's very strong and doesn't seem our job and our hotel...it's our company and for sure we care our clients.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian Russell wrote a review Dec 2018
22 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stopped at this hotel before and it's okay but this year I have been ripped off. Firstly I was charged twice and it took a few weeks to get the one refund back. I was to stop in October but unfortunately because of flooding my booking was cancelled with a promise of a full refund. Almost 2 months later after lots of emails and phone calls no refund. The hotel was through booking.com and their customer services were most unhelpful. My comment is stay clear.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Date of stay: October 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Don't pay in advance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YannNathalie, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Dec 25, 2018
Dear Sir, It's true that you had been charged twice, but it was a problem with credit card system and, we had refund you quickly. Your reservation had been canceled because we had a problem with hot water this day, we propose you an other hotel, and i spoke with booking . com to refund your money without fees....i know that it's more than one month but i can't do more quickly, you will be refund by booking.com and not by me...you had booked with them. I'm so sorry for this situation i explain you all by email and directly by phone to ...and this morning during christmas day with booking.com i confirmed your refund...it was not necessary to put a new comment in trip advisor or just to make pression.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nickmcw wrote a review Jun 2016
Edinburgh28 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An old, beautifully maintained building in the historic centre of Guimar, an interior of polished wood, inviting shared sitting areas (alas not enough time to enjoy them), a small courtyard, a friendly welcome, and an exceptionally good dinner - we felt very lucky to have spent our last night on Tenerife here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ETMadrid wrote a review Jan 2010
London, United Kingdom9 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent just a couple of nights in this beautifully kept hotel. It is small and feels as is if in the depths of the countryside, although it is now in what appeared to us the rather uninspiring town of Guimar, though our judgements on the town itself are not to be taken seriously as we did not explore. It is well positioned for visiting all over the island and in our case within easy access of both north and south airports.

The house has stunning Canarian pine flooring and staircase, all lovingly preserved. They do creek, but that in my books is not a problem when you can imagine the history of the people who have walked on them over the ages. There is an upstairs sitting room with bookcase, inner patio, a small bar, and the house wine was stunning - so much so that we came away with bottles in our bags - it turns out that the local vineyard has won awards. A very pleasant room, and not overpriced. But where this really stands out above all is the food. We had one evening meal there and it was absolutely delicious.

It was quiet and decorated by someone who has an artistic eye, in keeping with the homely feel of the inn. Other hotels of a similar nature I'd tried had all been full at this busy time. I couldn't find any reviews and had found it on the internet, but the pictures looked good and it did not disappoint. It was far better than we'd dare hope.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2010
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Jacklin-Edward wrote a review Jan 2019
Oxford3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately we had a near identical experience to the reviewer (BrianR3611) below.

When we initially booked our stay, the hotel charged us twice. We requested a refund, which they were extremely slow to process.

On the day we were due to arrive we received a Whatsapp message saying that there was a water problem, and they had 'upgraded' us to another hotel. Unfortunately the new hotel was another 30min drive away, and appeared to be someone's private home, a 2km drive from the replacement hotel. There was no hot water, no wifi, the 'pool' was a pond, the area was not very nice, there was no on-site restaurant, and it felt very dated and tired.

We immediately contacted the original hotel (this one) and they said they would find a replacement in the morning. We weren't happy to spend a night there, so stated we would arrange our own accommodation and we agreed they would give a full refund. I have contacted the hotel several times since, where they have assured us a refund has been given, but almost two weeks on and there is no sign of it.

Whilst I sympathise with the problems they had with the water, the replacement they arranged, and their subsequent handling of the issue has been extremely poor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miranda J wrote a review Sep 2011
Oxford, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved this place, friendly staff greeted us with a box of chocs, gorgeous chartacterfull building, comfy room and gormet dinner. Resonably priced too. While in guimar do see the pyramids too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John A wrote a review Jul 2018
Wincanton3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Breakfast and dinner served in an open air atrium - or inside depending on your preference

Rooms in old Spanish style with polished floorboards

Central location in Guimar in a relatively quiet street but only a short walk to town square.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YANN V, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Jul 4, 2018
Thank you very much for your comment....we hope see you soon Best Regards Nathalie and Yann
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oliv58 asked a question May 2021
Paris, France403 contributions137 helpful votes
Bonjour, y a t il un sèche cheveux dans les salles de bains? Merci
Answer from YannNathalie
Tenerife, Spain1 contribution2 helpful votes
Bonsoir. Oui, toutes nos chambres sont équipées d’un sèche cheveux
Rossbac asked a question Oct 2018
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland2 contributions4 helpful votes
Quelle chambre choisir, nous sommes un couple, il nous faut des lits séparés (je serai à 6 semaine d'une pose de prothèse de genou...)
Answer from YANN V
Ne vous inquiétez pas pour le choix de votre chambre- En mettant cette phrase sur votre réservation, nous ferons au mieux pour vous donner une chambre accessible tant au niveau des escaliers qu'au niveau des lits séparés
SharonT489 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Tenerife, Spain14 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a "suite". It was dark, but it's an old hotel. Spotlessly clean. Old, small, creaky double bed."
Read full review
Inspire66993649469 wrote a tip May 2019
Fegersheim, France1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suite Double Bed"
Read full review
Brian Russell wrote a tip Dec 2018
22 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pay in advance."
Read full review
johnshepCornwall wrote a tip Nov 2017
Cornwall3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 6 is secluded, on the far side of a sunny court yard."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Guimar area.
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Rural Casona Santo Domingo
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeGuimar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASONA SANTO DOMINGO - Prices & Inn Reviews (Tenerife/Guimar)

Frequently Asked Questions about Casona Santo Domingo
Which popular attractions are close to Casona Santo Domingo?
Nearby attractions include Piramides de Guimar (0.5 miles), Bar Cafetería San Pedro (0.10 miles), and Iglesia de San Pedro (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casona Santo Domingo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Casona Santo Domingo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casona Santo Domingo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casona Santo Domingo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rincón de Tara, Restaurante Finca Salamanca, and Bodegon Cha Juana.
Are there any historical sites close to Casona Santo Domingo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Candelaria (3.6 miles) and Plaza de Patrona de Canarias (3.7 miles).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars