We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Camino el Melozar 1, 38500 Guimar, Tenerife Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (39)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Guimar
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
3.9
This rural hotel is located in the historic center of Güímar and is considered Monument of cultural interest due to its 16th century architecture. This house has been carefully restored to maintain its architecture and traditional Canarian style, becoming a cozy space that retains the charm of its noble origin. It also enjoys an excellent location in a natural setting and is ideal for outdoor activities such as hiking. It is strategically located 8 minutes from the sea and at the foot of the mountain, being also halfway between the north and the south of the island of Tenerife. It has a famous restaurant in the valley for its exquisite tapas, the possibility of tasting the best local wines and succulent dishes prepared by chef Joachim Van Wambeke, member of the "Eurotoque Community of International Chefs" since 1994. "La Casona" Is the ideal place to enjoy a different and quality holiday.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
96Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 19
  • 3
  • 5
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anne N wrote a review Feb 2020
UK37 contributions19 helpful votes
I stayed here two years ago and gave a glowing review.  Sadly I cannot do the same this time.  We booked for two nights and ate in the restaurant the first night.  The next day there was a wedding reception.  We only found out about this as our bikes were moved.  The wedding party were very happy which was good.  However, they were extremely noisy until quite late at night and the restaurant was closed.  We should have been warned earlier and asked if we wanted to cancel.  At the very least we should have been told on arrival but we weren't even told on the day.  When we were ready to retire for the night we asked how much longer the noise would be.  The answer was one hour but it was at least two.  We were told that our bikes would be put back but they weren't.  There was no one around in the morning so we had to search the rooms for our bikes, dreading that they would be locked away.  We are not party poopers and are in favour of a happy wedding party but it was clear that the management didn't care about their hotel guests.  We will not go again. 
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from nathalie-tenerife, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear Client, Thank you for your comment, always very important for us. We have to explain you some of details about your stay. We had a wedding during the day7th , the wedding started at 15.00 to eat and finished at 22.30. At the beginning they were in the restaurant they were 14 persons, and later from 18.30, they will be outside, to can serve clients from the hotel and outside...the restaurant was not closed, we had a lot of clients during this night. It's true that it was noisy because they were dancing outside...but till 22.30, it was not possible to tell them tu cut before. About your bicycles, we had to move them, because later than the breakfast you gone out and at 12.00 you hadn't come back, and the bicycles were outside where we had the wedding....just in the entrance...it was not possible for us to let these bicycles during the wedding, and it was most sure for the bicycles to put these in the garage closed....it was not possible for us to tell you before to change these, because we thought that during the day, you would take your bicycles with you but it was not the case....at 12.00 the bicycles stayed in the entrance and you were not in your room...we decided to move. when you had come back at 14.00 we told you that we moved the bicycles and all was ok... For us "Clients are rey", and it's really not true that we don't care them, we are the same than 2 years ago and we want continue like this. Put them "1" it's very strong and doesn't seem our job and our hotel...it's our company and for sure we care our clients.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SharonT489 wrote a review Jul 2019
Tenerife, Spain14 contributions24 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for a specific night's stay away with our dog. I emailed the hotel first before booking, to ask whether they could cater for our requirements. We specifically wanted a hotel with a restaurant, where we could eat outside with our dog. This was the whole point of choosing this hotel, as we have our own home in Tenerife. They replied to confirm that we could stay with our dog, and that we would be able to eat outside. I booked via booking.com and paid in advance for our stay. We also notified them of our arrival time, and they replied via booking.com to say that this would be fine. We arrived at the said time (3pm) to a closed and locked hotel with a notice on the door saying that the restaurant was closed for 3 days. We had to ring the telephone number, standing outside on the street with our luggage and wait to be let in from the inside by an old Spanish man. If we hadn't paid in advance I would have left at this point, but the lady who owns the hotel told me on the phone that she would be back later and tell us where we could eat with our dog. The old Spanish man gave us the keys to a room, and we let ourselves in. It hadn't been cleaned from the last guests. The bed was unmade, dirty glasses and dirty towels on the floor. I rang the owner again, who told the man to give us another room. I waited for the owner to ring me, or appear to tell us where we could eat. She didn't, so I rang her a couple of times, and texted her, but she didn't answer. We were left to find somewhere in Guimar where we could buy some food to take away and take back to eat on the hotel patio. We had a Chinese takeaway out of the cartons with plastic cutlery. Not at all the night we had imagined. The room was spotlessly clean, and quaint. The bed was fairly comfortable, but small and very creaky. Every time you moved it creaked and woke us up. It was supposed to be bed and breakfast, but as the owner hadn't returned my calls, we had no idea whether this would materialise or not. As soon as it was light at 7.15 am we quickly packed, got in the car and drove home. I cannot begin to describe how disappointing the whole experience was. The owner had said she wasn't aware of the booking, but they had replied both to my email, and the check in request via booking.com It's a pretty little hotel, and if it is open and running properly, you could probably enjoy a nice night here, although the bed needs renewing. If you do book here, I would email, ring, text to confirm your booking and that the hotel is actually open. We basically spent a night in a hotel that was closed! No staff, no service, just nothing. Very, very disappointed. Angry too really. We definitely didn't get what we paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: We had a "suite". It was dark, but it's an old hotel. Spotlessly clean. Old, small,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YannNathalie, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Aug 23, 2019
Dear sharon, Thank you for your reservation and your comment. I need explaining some informations about your comment. When you arrived the hotel's door was locked because i was outside with cooker. He had a health problem 2 days before and it was not possible to open the restaurant. It's true that you had reserved a table to eat outside with you dog but it was not possible to open the restaurant and, i explained you all on the phone when you called me.... you decided to enter and to stay. You reserved a suite with wood floor (16 century)and with a rotweiller i decided to give you an other suite... it was 13.00 and this room was not cleaned yet... you gone to the suite with the wood floor.... as you reserved. It's a very beautifull historic room with xvi and xviii century. I was preparing the breakfast for the hotel (it was full) and i saw your husband with the dog... he didn't tell me nothing it was 7.30 a.m.... one hour later i saw that you were not in your room. The room is always paid in advance, it was written in booking.com conditions. In the case you wouldn't want to stay without restaurant, we would can speak join and find a solution about a refound... but in your case... nothing just this comment in this social medias. It's our small company and we intent to do our best. Sorry for these inconvenients and hope see you. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inspire66993649469 wrote a review May 2019
Fegersheim, France1 contribution
Being treated like family members on a foreign island in a beautiful place is worth the money. The owners, Nathalie and Yann know how to handle every kind of situation and they will make you feel at ease. Second time there. Surely will be a third and a fourth and so on. Enjoy the island in this comfy place filled with charm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Suite Double Bed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YannNathalie, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Aug 23, 2019
Merci pour votre commentaire. Trés heureux que notre travail et notre "vieille casona " vous ait plu. Espérons vous revoir trés bientôt à La Maison....
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric P wrote a review Apr 2019
Bordeaux, France156 contributions38 helpful votes
A nice small hotel with plenty of allure. Only 5 rooms then the owners welcome your very warmly and you immediately become somehow part of the family and feel at home. This is extremely pleasant. Spacious rooms. Bedding a little bit too old. Big bathrooms but lacking an Italian shower ( according to my wife). All the hotel is very typical and has of lot of allure. An old Spanish house. Breakfast is great but no buffet.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YannNathalie, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Thank you for your comment...we intent to do our best with our guests. We hope see you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheridan Jacklin-Edward wrote a review Jan 2019
Oxford3 contributions2 helpful votes
Unfortunately we had a near identical experience to the reviewer (BrianR3611) below. When we initially booked our stay, the hotel charged us twice. We requested a refund, which they were extremely slow to process. On the day we were due to arrive we received a Whatsapp message saying that there was a water problem, and they had 'upgraded' us to another hotel. Unfortunately the new hotel was another 30min drive away, and appeared to be someone's private home, a 2km drive from the replacement hotel. There was no hot water, no wifi, the 'pool' was a pond, the area was not very nice, there was no on-site restaurant, and it felt very dated and tired. We immediately contacted the original hotel (this one) and they said they would find a replacement in the morning. We weren't happy to spend a night there, so stated we would arrange our own accommodation and we agreed they would give a full refund. I have contacted the hotel several times since, where they have assured us a refund has been given, but almost two weeks on and there is no sign of it. Whilst I sympathise with the problems they had with the water, the replacement they arranged, and their subsequent handling of the issue has been extremely poor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brian Russell wrote a review Dec 2018
22 contributions42 helpful votes
I have stopped at this hotel before and it's okay but this year I have been ripped off. Firstly I was charged twice and it took a few weeks to get the one refund back. I was to stop in October but unfortunately because of flooding my booking was cancelled with a promise of a full refund. Almost 2 months later after lots of emails and phone calls no refund. The hotel was through booking.com and their customer services were most unhelpful. My comment is stay clear.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Date of stay: October 2018
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Don't pay in advance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from YannNathalie, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Dec 25, 2018
Dear Sir, It's true that you had been charged twice, but it was a problem with credit card system and, we had refund you quickly. Your reservation had been canceled because we had a problem with hot water this day, we propose you an other hotel, and i spoke with booking . com to refund your money without fees....i know that it's more than one month but i can't do more quickly, you will be refund by booking.com and not by me...you had booked with them. I'm so sorry for this situation i explain you all by email and directly by phone to ...and this morning during christmas day with booking.com i confirmed your refund...it was not necessary to put a new comment in trip advisor or just to make pression.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John A wrote a review Jul 2018
Wincanton3 contributions1 helpful vote
Breakfast and dinner served in an open air atrium - or inside depending on your preference Rooms in old Spanish style with polished floorboards Central location in Guimar in a relatively quiet street but only a short walk to town square.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from YANN V, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Jul 4, 2018
Thank you very much for your comment....we hope see you soon Best Regards Nathalie and Yann
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnshepCornwall wrote a review Nov 2017
Cornwall3 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a clean, comfortable small hotel in a quiet town. The patrons are a delightful French couple who are genuine, professional, good fun, and who speak Spanish, French & English. The hotel has private off road parking, and is tucked away on the edge of a small market (Sundays) town that has local shops and amenities. There are no night clubs, all night drinking or rowdy holiday makers on the streets. Just friendly locals. Our room was en-suite, clean, bright & cool. It was tidied and the beds made every day and towels changed every three days. The breakfast was the fairly standard croissant, bread, juice, coffee etc, but there are other choices which can be ordered for a couple of euros extra. Breakfast can be served in your room or in one of the two sheltered and warm morning sun court yards. The establishment is primarily a restaurant. This is where it gets really good. I can honestly say the Santo Domingo Restaurant is one of the best three bistros I know of world wide. The food is sublime, the service is excellent and the ambiance is relaxed, informal and thoroughly enjoyable, all helped along with the locally grown wine. A truly excellent hotel for peace & quite, excellent service, superb food and value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 6 is secluded, on the far side of a sunny court yard.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from YANN V, Propriétaire at Casona Santo Domingo
Responded Nov 14, 2017
Thank you very much for your stay , and thank to be as you are...we have a lot of work but we intent every day to do our best for our clients. We hope you will come back soon. Nathalie and Yann
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucyduck13 wrote a review Jul 2017
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain79 contributions65 helpful votes
We booked here very last minute as we were let down by another hotel. We only stayed one night, but the experience was pleasant. The hotel is in an ideal location to hop on and off the motorway, going both south and North. When we arrived it was closed, but after a few phone calls we gained access to our keys, and were pleasantly surprised by the quaint charm of the room. Friendly staff, both on the phone and in person Pillows were very comfortable Surrounding area was lovely to wander, and enjoy the peace and quiet Parking very close Housekeeping let the stay down, as the one of the complimentary bottles of water was already half empty, and there were a pair of dirty socks on the chair. Both minor things, but should have been picked up on. The bed was very uncomfortable, and I did wake feeling like I had slept on a concrete floor. Also the details of how to get the keys if reception closed could have been emailed over before hand to save the phone calls, but overall our stay was lovely, and we would return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MrsMRR wrote a review Apr 2017
Kendal, United Kingdom57 contributions16 helpful votes
It was a truely rustic experience, which I realise some people crave, but not at the expense of the following; The room was large, with very poor lighting ( I was unable to read properly) that was tentatively wired. There were uneven, 'potholed' wooden floors covered with large rugs. The windows were difficult to open. A fire safety nightmare!! There was a four poster bed that was hardly a double and it was so high off the ground that I was fearful of falling out of bed!! The shower was small with no non-slip base. There was no TV or other means of knowing what was happening in the world. There was no lift and it was often difficult to find staff to help with luggage or other enquiries. WiFi intermittent. The car park was not next to the hotel, it was up a steep hill by to the hotel. The car park area was rough and stony, not surfaced for parking. The town had little to offer. We were due to be there 3 days, but we relocated to Santa Cruz after one night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Rural Casona Santo Domingo
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeGuimar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASONA SANTO DOMINGO - Prices & Inn Reviews (Guimar, Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Casona Santo Domingo
Which popular attractions are close to Casona Santo Domingo?
Nearby attractions include Piramides de Guimar (0.5 miles), Bar San Pedro (0.1 miles), and Iglesia de San Pedro (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casona Santo Domingo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Casona Santo Domingo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casona Santo Domingo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casona Santo Domingo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rincón de Tara, Restaurante Finca Salamanca, and Goymar Cafeteria Restaurante.
Are there any historical sites close to Casona Santo Domingo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Candelaria (3.6 miles) and Plaza de Patrona de Canarias (3.7 miles).