We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Naivasha, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was at the prestigious facility for one week on a workshop. One enjoys all the best in terms of conference halls and amenities, cool sea breeze, ample space with safe parking, spacious selfie rooms, friendly proficient staff, delicious meals served in different styles, outdoor games facilities and one gets to watch the mad sea waves at a close but safe... More 

Helpful?
Thank 767emily
Pune, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

The place is quite elegant to stay and you will enjoy its hospitality and ambience. There are variety of rooms available for stay, one can chose the type they want to. The place is located in between supremely natural beauty.

Helpful?
Thank Abhijit W
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

The hotel looks great from outside; however, rooms are poorly kept up. More mosquitos than I saw anywhere else in Kenya, including remote areas. Would not recommend. We stayed the next night at the Nairobi Hilton, which cost $95/night less than this place!

Helpful?
Thank MMSinCLT
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

First and foremost, may I sincerely apologize for this. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic expectation. I also suspect that you may have confused us with our sister property that is indeed located in Limuru. Jumuia Kanami is in Kilifi County, at the coast. May... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mtwapa hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

Hi was at jumuia limuru for a conference. The staff are friendly. The place has a football pitch,basketball court among others. Pretty good for out door activities. There is free WIFI which is strong in the rooms and fast. But the rooms need some work.paint job,the water is cold had to take a cold shower,tv sets.Due to the cold at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Reubenkimani
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Hi Reuben, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to note that you had to take a cold shower. All our rooms now have hot showers and we will be very glad to host you once again. More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

My family and I decided to try this hotel as we were looking for a place to stay for only one night. The cost was affordable and so we stayed here on Friday 21 November. When we got to the place we discovered it was a nice location. However the road leading to the hotel is not very good. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edmond O
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Hi Edmond, thank you for your feed back. We also have rooms away from the beach front that are much quieter. Our rooms now have new nets and renovation works to improve the overall look of the place is a constant thing. We will be very delighted to host you once again. More 

Gualala, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel is really two different locations. Kanamai is on the Indian Ocean, where the Jumuia conference and Beach Resort is located. Limuru is about 300 miles northwest and is the location of Jumuia Conference Center and Country House. They are operated by the same company but are two very different properties. It's very difficult to tell which property is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChristieMcManus
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Hi Christie, thank you for your keenness and observation. We are resolving the profile issue of name and location that got it mixed up in the first place. More 

Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Even after going through the reviews I decided to risk it and much of what was stated earlier by previous guests is true. The staff is really friendly and helpful, they make one want to stay longer and surely go out of their way to ensure you have the best- few hotels I have stayed in beat this. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank wamae
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Hi Wamae, thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your last visit. We are in the process of getting new and modern television sets with digital connectivity. The internet service has been improved as well. Your comments about our food have been noted and I would like to give my assurance... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

It's my first of 4 nights here and I'm already thinking of leaving early. The buffet at dinner had such minimal choices - not to mention the food was cold and tasted 'questionable'. There are improvements though, such as air con and Wi-Fi. Oh, but the dinner entertainment was too loud, it hurt my ears, and the lighting there was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jude M
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Dear Jude, providing the best service to our guests is at core of what we do and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic expectation, please accept my sincere apology for this. Our food offer, guest entertainment and general restaurant ambiance has greatly improved, as evidenced by our guest feed back. The sliding windows and door rollers plus... More 

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was at the resort in December 2011 and didn't like the experience. First no proper air conditioning in the room, using a desk fan instead of a proper air con. Second, the rooms were dingy with the only source of lightning coming from the door. Third the positioning of rooms from the beach is too far. I could barely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Hi Muya, thank you for your feed back. I am terribly sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations and please accept my sincere apology. The areas you have brought into light have been noted and frankly a lot of improvements have been done to address the same issues. Our food offer has been revamped, and... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The location is way out of town and was very ideal as it was a great getaway place. The kids have plenty to do for 2 days before they get bored. It was just unfortunate that the communication is terrible and that no one ever tells you of all the other hidden charges BEWARE!!

Helpful?
2 Thank enjoroge
Ernest K, Manager at Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai, responded to this review

Hi Njoroge, May I thank you for your review. I would be very happy to get clarification of the areas you were misled by our staff team. Providing great and memorable experience to our guests is the core of what we do and your feed back will be highly appreciated. I also look forward to hosting you should you travel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtwapa
2.7 mi away
Beaumont Resort
Beaumont Resort
#1 of 3 in Mtwapa
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
5.5 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
9.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,715 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jumuia Beach Resort Kanami is set on the pristine sandy beach along 300 meters of palm fringed beach frontage and rose-colored sunsets, guests can enjoy mesmerizing views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel boasts a well manicured garden, 2 banquet halls and offers free WiFi to all guests. All rooms at Jumuia Beach Resort are fitted with a bed draped in mosquito netting and tastefully decorated. Each room has an air conditioner, a TV with satellite reception, a telephone, an ornate lampshade and an en-suite bathroom. The elegant restaurant which offers a breathtaking view of the sea offers continental meals in full menu or buffet and a variety of soft drinks. Guests can enjoy long swims or sip on cocktails while basking in the sun on recliner chairs by the pool. The hotel houses a volley and basket ball pitch. The hotel features an event facility which can accommodate between 200-400 people. City shuttle, airport pickup, car hire, baby sitting and laundry services are provided for a surcharge. Safety deposit boxes are available for safe keeping of Valuables. Onsite and nearby parking is available. The premises are guarded round the clock. The hotel is in short drive away from Haller Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai

Address: Kilifi County, off Malindi road | 7km north of Mtwapa Town, Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mtwapa
Price Range: $56 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai Hotel Limuru
Jumuia Conference And Beach Resort, Kanamai
Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai Mtwapa, Africa - Kenya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay