We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Aquarius Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Aquarius Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was very clean and tidy. The new owners were very friendly and nice. They had only taken over running the place 3 weeks ago when we visited. We found the room to be comfortable and fairly quiet. We stayed in upstairs room with a bit sea view. The location is quite good, 2-min walk to the beach and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashly223
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such kind welcoming hosts and great value. Took me in at 9.30pm when I could not travel any longer, lovely clean room and comfy bed. I highly recommend supporting this motel, great location, next time I will return for longer. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marsha2016
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Situated towards the eastern end of Ohope Beach. Very quiet and just a couple of minutes walk across to the beach and a short drive to the picturesque Ohiwa Harbour. Honestly the most comfortable bed we could recall sleeping on (and that includes our own!) Sincere thanks to Chris & Yulia for such a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris T
Bay of Plenty, NZ
Reviewed September 6, 2016

I had good recommendation from friends for this motel. Friendly, comfortable, inexpensive. Book 2 nights off season , get one free. Going by web sites We expected to pay for 2 nights "from NZ 90 p.night) Were quoted 3 x NZ 95 ie NZ 285. Wasted several phone calls to get it straight and to be helpful to newish owners....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roosters_9
Craig J, Owner at Aquarius Motel, responded to this review

This person was offered a one bedroom unit that is priced at $125/night with the third night free. He insisted that the price advertised was for $90/ night with the third free. I advised him that this was for a very small studio. We offer good value and I am not interested in negotiating with charity seekers. This person did...

Auckland
Reviewed July 7, 2016

A great motel to stay at. Chris and Yulia were very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and modern with all that we needed (incl wifi for the teenager). The units are quiet and only a short walk to Ohope beach, yet close enough to the main town for those evenings out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMo75
Tauranga
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Spent 1 night at queens birthday weekend. Friendly welcome, clean room, comfortable bed, was offered choice of room on arrival. Surprisingly quiet as well, at far end of ohope beach. Good value, off street parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montyTauranga
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

We spent two days over Easter in this motel. Good value for money, friendly staff, and close to the beach. We had a room on the lower level. Couldn't believe what we got for our money. Spacious lounge, kitchen, bedroom and nice bathroom. Definitely worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMalpass
New Zealand
Reviewed March 29, 2016

We stayed at the Aquarius during our Easter break. Our studio, although not huge, had everything we needed and we enjoyed our stay. Being able to take our dog with us was lovely. The location is good with the beach only a short walk away. The employees were friendly and able to give us good tips on where to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finntastic
Craig J, Owner at Aquarius Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We try to offer good value and friendly service. Unfortunately not everyone appreciates this and expect to stay at the Hilton for $125.Most of our customers are like yourselves and are happy however there is about 2% of the travelling public, that are usually retired couples, that have elevated screwing moteliers to a perverse form...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Good rooms, good price and a great location for swimming, kayaking and other activities. An easy place to hang out whatever the weather although it was sun all the way for us. The owners are very friendly and easy-going and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue I
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Close to town, but not too close. We were in the family room closest to the beach and it was good value. However, being the furthest away from the wi-fi server, it was hard to get on the internet. Chris and Yulia are both very nice people. Not a beachfront hotel, but certainly close enough. Didn't need shoes to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
Craig J, Owner at Aquarius Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. We are fixing the internet problem.This message is from Chris & Yulia. The site displays the previous owners name as tripadvisor have been unable to resolve this for us.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohope
4.7 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 13 in Whakatane
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
1.8 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Surfs Reach Motel
Surfs Reach Motel
#7 of 9 in Ohope
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
69 reviews
3.0 mi away
Driftsand Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aquarius Motel is on Harbour Road, Port Ohope in the beautiful Eastern Bay of Plenty. The property offers excellent motel accommodation only 15 minutes drive from the coastal town of Whakatane and 2 minutes walk to Ohope Beach. Special off season rates are also available. Affordable, comfortable and friendly accommodation at the beach featuring: - 7 Family and 2 Studio units - 2 units with spa baths - Kitchen Facilities - Free DVD Library - Sea views - 100 metres to beach ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aquarius Motel

Address: 103 Harbour Road | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Price Range: $68 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aquarius Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Aquarius Motel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aquarius Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms upstaris with bit seaview, quiet, good beds”
 of 5 bubbles ashly223, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“My room was near the road, but still had a good sleep”
 of 5 bubbles marsha2016, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Pleasure spoiled by poor attitude of Manager”
 of 5 bubbles Roosters_9, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“We were room 5 I think, downstairs, away from main/servicey part of motel”
 of 5 bubbles RabidGinFairy, Feb 3, 2016 | Read review
“We preferred upstairs rooms -good air flow and some views, , although downstairs have nice outside green area to sit”
 of 5 bubbles RosemaryP54, Feb 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay