We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Swinside Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

What a wonderful find near to Keswick and Borrowdale. Found this country inn whilst staying near Keswick with the family. Wonderful food and a great atmosphere. Well worth the short trip from Keswick. A real Lakeland pub and inn. The menu has a wide choice, enough to satisfy two fussy teenagers and the portions are enough to satisfy the walkers.

Helpful?
Thank Matt R
Leafield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went early on a Sunday evening for a meal, we hadn't booked and despite being busy they found us a table (we were able to take our well behaved dog in with us). Extensive menu with options for all. Traditional home cooked food arrived after a 15-20 minute wait, which was reasonable given how busy they were. Super portion... More 

Helpful?
Thank h0neybadger16
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely traditional pub with great views ! We have had several evening meals at the Inn in the last couple of years, the most recent being last week and always find the service and quality consistent. Staff are friendly, we are always able to get a table reservation and the food portions are generous and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank BucksCoriander
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Swinside farm, so as the Swinside inn was just over the road we ate both nights there. We got 10% off the bill too .Lots of choice, hearty portions although they do smaller light bites. Very reasonably priced, all the staff were very attentive and friendly. Would recommend the steak and ale pie and the fresh salmon with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clitheroekid57
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just went in for lunch after coming off Catbells. Fortunately we were just in time; food is only served until 2pm at lunchtime. The barman was very patient while I sampled all the beers. I ordered one of the vegetarian options from the menu and it was absolutely delicious; simple but so well cooked and tasty. Broccoli id do... More 

Helpful?
Thank IanBBBBB
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Had a lovely weekend break at this Inn. The food was great and very good value.. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our bedroom was over the pool room. Lots and shouting , screaming and banging on the Friday night. When I went down to complain I was told firmly by the Landlady that if I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolinehodgson6
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Thank you for your honest review. I'm really sorry that you were disturbed. We are aware that there can be residual noise from the bar below the room you are in, and although we can serve drinks until midnight, we always ask people to move into the main bar by 11pm. On the night in question, we had... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We bought the voucher from a deal website and were not disappointed at all and will definitely return. Lovely big bedrooms with great views. Food was amazing, massive portions! Good drinks choice too. Breakfast included was plentiful. Short taxi ride to Keswick. Definitely one to stay at!

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting after the floods last winter - we really appreciated you coming, and it's great to hear that you had a good time. Make sure you're on our mail list to hear about our 2016 December celebration package. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Will be back loved every Monet thank you to the owners and staff so friendly nothing is a problem always ready to help feel like you have known them for ever wish them all the best and we will see you again. Hope you are lucky in finding your family dog

Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Caroline. Hope we see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Stayed for 1 night during C2C cycle ride. First the positives: -Spectacular location and views. Quiet location a few miles outside Keswick with breathtaking views from the hotel. Really outstanding. - We had a very good meal in the hotel . Delicious fish. Good service too. -Good storage for our bikes. The negatives: - Although room/bathroom was clean, poor interior.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HJxxx2016
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm trying to work out which room you were in - it may be the one which we are actually upgrading as I type. I shall look into this further. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

A bank holiday weekend away with the hubby and what a treat! The room borrowdale was spacious and clean with some gorgeous views The breakfast lasted us all day and was very tasty Our evening meals were of equally good quality and the local ales very much appreciated after a couple of walking days! Excellent location for walking into Keswick... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin w
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Haha, yes we're used to seeing people a little weary. Thank you very much for your 5 star review. hope you return. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
0.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#2 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland Inn,a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Two bars, one with pool table and both have open fire place. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Swinside Inn Newlands Valley | Keswick, Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: $116 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swinside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Inn Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay