We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Swinside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At 3pm I was planning a 150 mile trip to Derwent water for a Paddle board session and to see some friends who were staying on the Lingholme Estate... This Inn was a possible location for my stay the weekend before for a wedding, the reception of which, was held on the Lingholme Estate....in the event we stayed in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank George H
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely (and poetic) review of The Swinside Inn. I particularly love your "you just know it's a busy Inn, it's not jaded by neglect, it is worn by scores of customers". You can come again! Lucinda, on behalf of Ben and Sharon More 

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked three nights at this hotel as a late wedding anniversary celebration and chose the Swinside Inn on the recommendation of friends. What a disappointment. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was fine, but our room was poky, badly in need of a makeover and definitely needed a good deep clean. I cleaned the window on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gillian, What a shame that you were disappointed - we'll investigate to try to work out which room you were in from your description, and have housekeeping have a look at it. It's true that you would have been able to hear music from below until about 11pm, as we are a pub, but I am sorry that you... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

Excellent friendly,a room with a view,huge bathroom very clean,will recommend highly food was very good a beer garden for children to enjoy the fresh air and ducks

Helpful?
Thank u2kezza
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Had a lovely weekend break at this Inn. The food was great and very good value.. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our bedroom was over the pool room. Lots and shouting , screaming and banging on the Friday night. When I went down to complain I was told firmly by the Landlady that if I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolinehodgson6
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Thank you for your honest review. I'm really sorry that you were disturbed. We are aware that there can be residual noise from the bar below the room you are in, and although we can serve drinks until midnight, we always ask people to move into the main bar by 11pm. On the night in question, we had... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We bought the voucher from a deal website and were not disappointed at all and will definitely return. Lovely big bedrooms with great views. Food was amazing, massive portions! Good drinks choice too. Breakfast included was plentiful. Short taxi ride to Keswick. Definitely one to stay at!

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting after the floods last winter - we really appreciated you coming, and it's great to hear that you had a good time. Make sure you're on our mail list to hear about our 2016 December celebration package. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Will be back loved every Monet thank you to the owners and staff so friendly nothing is a problem always ready to help feel like you have known them for ever wish them all the best and we will see you again. Hope you are lucky in finding your family dog

Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Caroline. Hope we see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Stayed for 1 night during C2C cycle ride. First the positives: -Spectacular location and views. Quiet location a few miles outside Keswick with breathtaking views from the hotel. Really outstanding. - We had a very good meal in the hotel . Delicious fish. Good service too. -Good storage for our bikes. The negatives: - Although room/bathroom was clean, poor interior.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HJxxx2016
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm trying to work out which room you were in - it may be the one which we are actually upgrading as I type. I shall look into this further. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

A bank holiday weekend away with the hubby and what a treat! The room borrowdale was spacious and clean with some gorgeous views The breakfast lasted us all day and was very tasty Our evening meals were of equally good quality and the local ales very much appreciated after a couple of walking days! Excellent location for walking into Keswick... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin w
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Haha, yes we're used to seeing people a little weary. Thank you very much for your 5 star review. hope you return. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon More 

London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

We have been using the Swinside Inn for many years and the quality of service and food has been inconsistent to say the least. however things have changed and we have just had a short break when we have been treated to tasty, well priced food. The menu is interesting with a curry of the day described by one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that all our hard work is worth it More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

We had a great time at the Swindake Inn. Good dinner, good beer, good breakfast (understatement !) friendly welcoming staff, great location with fabulous views. One day we walked Causey Pike, the next we walked High Spy and didn't need our cars (hooray !). We had the 'Causey Pike' room which was superb for our purposes (four mature, actually 'immature',... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wocky48
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Really glad you all had a good stay More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Two bars, with open fire place. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Swinside Inn Newlands Valley | Keswick, Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: $115 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swinside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Inn Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay