We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maple Bank Country Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maple Bank Country Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maple Bank Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We never knew what to expect as we were Malaysians traveling on our own. Tommy and Rhona make it a wonderful stay with their warmth and friendliness. Thank you for recommending good restaurants that serve food that would be hard to forget . Even now my son still think of the dessert. Parking is not problem and the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 863Lily863
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Bank you were all a delightful family to have in our home. We hope to visit Malaysia some time in the future and your tips and advice will be appreciated and we will make sure we look you up. Rhona Tommy and Amy.

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Tommy and Rhona were wonderful hosts who made our stay with them a real pleasure. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast superb. Maple Bank was a great base for a few days sight seeing and cycling and Tommy accomodated the bikes in the safety of their garage. All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viv H
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review we are delighted you and your son enjoyed your stay and the breakfast.

Aylesbury Bucks
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in Maple Bank with my son as a base for a walking break in the Lake District. The welcome we received from Rhona was very friendly, the romm was very clean and the location was excellent for what we wanted to do. We received helpful advice as to local places to eat and the breakfasts were excellent. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy P
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Carl and Lil Thank you for the review we look forward to catching up and your next visit.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for comfortable and clean rooms,lovely views,super breakfasts and friendly hosts then look no further than Rhona and Tommy's Guest House,Maple Bank.We have just spent 3 nights there (our fourth visit).We always enjoy our stay(s) but this time the superb weather added to another wonderful visit.Over the years we have stayed at lots of different places in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Folks thanks for writing a lovely review for us, its much appreciated, Tommy and I look forward to seeing you both again soon. Rhona and Tommy x

York
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The 5th time my Mother &I have stayed with Tommy & Rhona, & we have never been disappointed, infact their standards just go up & up. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them. The fruit salad at breakfast is the highlight of every morning for me! Much cheaper to book directly, ignoring internet agents. We will definately be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yorktriper
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for writing a lovely review, We always look forward to you and your mums visit and look forward to welcoming to both again next year. Thanks for the book I have finished it, much better than that 50 Shades rubbish. Love Rhona and Tommy x

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My partner and I had wanted to see the Lake District for some time and staying at Maple Bank was perfect. Keswick was just down the road and the scenery was out of this world. Breakfast was done brilliantly and the owners were really friendly. We heard no noise at night either. If we come back to Lake District we'd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca_Lobb
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Were delighted that your first visit to the Lake District was with us at Maple Bank and that it was so memorable and enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you Rhona and Tommy

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Yet another wonderful stay with Rhona & Tommy. Guest House as immaculate as ever, breakfasts even better than last time! Top tip for those booking, PHONE DIRECT and book wih Rhona or Tommy. We saved £38 on our stay just booking direct an cutting out the commission from the agents! Will definitely be back visiting in Septemeber, fingers crossed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cally-D01
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us a wonderful review, I'm sure we must get all the nicest people coming to stay with us, I feel sorry for the other guest houses!! It was lovely to see you all again. Thanks for the wine, chocs and banter, we really enjoyed our evenings, I will have to give my liver a rest in time...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 12, 2012

4 of us stayed 2 nights at Maple Bank. really easy to find just past Keswick on A66. 5 mins walk to Braithwaite. great house, lovely people, and very comfortable. all felt very relaxed. try the Royal George in village for good grub and real ale. would love to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorna s
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you and your family and were delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to our home again some time in the future. You seem to have created a new pub for us in the village 'The Royal George'? Just so other guests don't get confused it's 'The Royal...

St.helens, Merseyside. United Kingdom
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and my husband stayed for 2 nights. Rhona and Tommy were very welcoming and very accommodating. Rhona gave us the choice of 2 rooms, we opted for the one at the front with the incredible views. The room was immaculate and had everything we wanted. The shower was just perfect. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a lovely review for us Tommy and I always strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible, and were delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Rhona and Tommy.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Last winter a group of us drove up on a Friday night from London to do some winter climbing in the lakes. We arrived late and the landlord had been very kind to stay up for us. Also, he and his wife were fine to serve breakfast earlier than usual, as we needed to be out early to get up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShingleBeach
Management response:

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your climbs were successful. We'll look forward to welcoming you and your friends to our home again next year and we will, of cause, endeavour to accommodate all your needs. Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#10 of 12 in Keswick
196 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Price Range: $96 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Maple Bank Country Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
uk

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Maple Bank Country Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Keswick a 5 minute drive away”
 of 5 bubbles BernadetteW_11, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“The stairs are quite steep for elderly visitors.”
 of 5 bubbles Daveg21, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Great views from rooms at front.”
 of 5 bubbles davidsQ4279VZ, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“there are 7 rooms - the ones we have used are all very good”
 of 5 bubbles 857mr, Jun 4, 2016 | Read review
“Book front facing rooms for the views.”
 of 5 bubbles 26RobinG, May 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question