We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterberg Guest Farm

Save
Share
149 Farm Okosongomingo 30 km east of highway B1, 22 South Side of Hwy C, Okakarara Namibia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (218)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (15)

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Okakarara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Massage
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Internet
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
149 Farm Okosongomingo 30 km east of highway B1, 22 South Side of Hwy C, Okakarara Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport129 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
382Reviews1Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 184
  • 106
  • 49
  • 29
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ellen wrote a review Aug 2019
Zemst, Belgium11 contributions
We had the 2 standard rooms as one family room, they are clean and the beds are good. Unfortunately, you don't have a nice view. The food was very nice and the staff was very friendly. Only thing we didn't really like was the gathering around the campfire with the owners. We are very social people, but it felt 'forced' for us. We also had the impression that the owners were only interested in the German-speaking guests. At the dining room, you have to sit at a long table with the other guests, which felt like you are at school. Not our thing, but other families may like it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
ekolla165648 wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
Room 11 is certainly the worst room of the Farm, a room w/o windows in a hidden yard of the facility. The room was extremely cold. In the bathroom it was only one flacon of shower in the shower box, no any soap at the lavatory. The isolation of the door of the cabin was not corretc, tha water spilled out - and due to the extreme cold it was no any chance of evaporation. The mosquito net in the bathroom was very old, and at least in two place with holes. When I compalined at the reception, the guy was only smiling, no any excuse from his side. 150 € for a room like this, is really unfair. Fortunately all the other accomodation during our roundtrip was excellent, and finally we survived the night. The social program is interesting, which is the Cheetah Conservation, but we spent to long time at the buffet while drinking and eating some snacks, therefore the safari back to the Farm was not satisfactory at all, even there were interesting animals, but the too autonomous driver stopped only if he wanted.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
mfuwe wrote a review Jul 2019
Isle of Man, United Kingdom44,834 contributions504 helpful votes
+1
My companion was booked in here so when I joined him on the trip it was natural that I should do so too. Downside was that it was 30km off our route but the road was tar and crisscrossed with wildlife. Reception was pleasant and friendly and my room ready on arrival. Rooms/tents are quite spaced apart so a distance from the main communal areas. This may be a nuisance if you felt it too far to walk and needed to use your car. The paths were lit but on a timer so you had to be fairly spritely to get home before they went out. Hey Baas, not all your guests are fit 20 somethings uphill. The staff were all very friendly and helpful as were the owners so the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Initially I did not care for the idea of a communal formal sundowner before eating at a communal dinner table but overall it was Ok and a good icebreaker. The 'room' was set on the hillside on a platform with steps to the door. Inside there was lots of space and two large beds. Washbasins and shower behind a screen at the rear of the beds and then a further door or doors to access the open shower and the WC. Maybe too many doors for an old man in the night?? but no trouble really. Plenty of storage and sitting space plus the stoop outside. Lots of birds in the grounds and baboons ass through so keep tings closed. Lots of space in the formal restaurant and a bar and snack area by a nice pool. Overall I would happily return here should I be in the area. Access to Windhoek and Etosha is good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Pioneer13622052319 wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
I have been staying with Harry and his team at Waterberg Guest Farm since 2009. Every stay is enjoyable. They have added a brand new room which is VERY nice, and the kitchen put up splendid meals, both at the lodge as well as picnic breakfasts and lunches.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Ghentfreak wrote a review Jan 2019
Hanoi, Vietnam292 contributions64 helpful votes
We stayed one night. We took the farm tour we liked a lot because of the enthusiasm of the guide. We did the morning game drive and we had a look at the foot prints of dino’s. The diner was very poor most guest didn’t finish their plates. We got a good takeaway breakfast. The overall organisation was bad. We got the feeling to be exploited, everything had to be paid even a guarantee for the keys. Even the drinks during the farm tour had to payed. On top we had to eat on the same table with other people who were speaking German amongst them. Overall conclusion is that this place has a lot of potential but that it’s managed as a farm and not as a hotel. The visa didn’t work another trick to avoid to pay a percentage. You’re very stingy as a management of a hotel. You can learn a lot from other lodges in Namibia!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterbergGuestFarm, Owner at Waterberg Guest Farm
Responded Jan 12, 2019
In a perfect world one would wish that reviews on this forum would stay fair and reasonable. Accusing us of exploiting and cheating our guests and being “stingy” is neither fair nor reasonable. To be charged for your drinks is normal practice all over the world. The room-key deposited is not a charge, it is indeed a deposit – meaning you get it back at the end of your stay. This practise is a management tool which has been introduced after numerous occasions where guests have accidently taken their room keys along at departure leaving us to constantly having to cut new keys or even changing door locks. The fact that this nominal key-deposit amount (N$100.- or Euro 6.-) is required is indeed indicated on our booking platforms - so it would not be a surprise at arrival of our guests. Talking of which - all our advertising (printed or virtual) explicitly indicates that we are a guest farm – not a lodge or “hotel”! This means we are an active agricultural farming operation in addition to our accommodation facilities. This does not mean, however, that a guest farm is of substandard quality to a lodge/hotel from an accommodational point of view – not at all! It does mean, that the combination of farming and guest operations inevitably has an effect on the character and the focus of the operation as a whole. In fact that is part of the attraction of a guest farm in the first place. How else does a tourist get in contact with a true Namibian farm? The classification as a lodge, hotel, guesthouse, guest farm etc. are categories made by the Namibian Tourist Board and the fact that we are a guest farm is indeed emphasised on all of our advertising platforms (website, Tour-operator’s information etc.). On the same advertising platforms it is also clearly indicated that our guests have their dinner at a common table. This has been our concept for 20 years in hospitality. In all this time it has never occurred to me what could possibly be wrong with also having German-speaking guests at that table. What is wrong with German-speaking guests? How could it possibly reflect negatively on Waterberg Guest Farm that German-speaking guests also come and stay here? Whatever prompted this remark, I would not dare to even speculate. For the credit card swipe device not to work consistently in rural Namibia – a developing country with its 2.3 million population and about one person living on 3 square kilometre! – has nothing to do with a trick to “avoid paying percentages”. To have stable cell phone and Internet connections is unfortunately just not a given in this part of the world and is just another factor that adds to the challenge of running an operation catering for developed world expectations in a developing world environment. In the same light, even if your dinner on one specific night was below your personal expectations be assured that this is an exception and not the rule. We are usually complimented for our good food – as you could read up in reviews on this forum. But if that is what you felt that night - and of course this not acceptable – kindly accept my apologies. We are truly working hard on avoiding such exceptions to the rule. To refer back to fair and reasonable reviews in a perfect world, I would wish that the writer of such a review would at least properly motivate his/her claims or have gotten his/her facts straight. At least then I could take this as constructive criticism. How long can it take to read the information given on the webpage of an operation you are about to visit? Why travel at all to countries outside the comfort zone of the developed world if not with a mind open to things being done slightly differently - or when you dislike Germans for that matter. You’ll probably find German tourists all over the world but for obvious reasons, you’ll find them here in Namibia. Just google “Namibia” and find out why.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$32 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Otjiwarongo District
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionOkakarara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterberg Guest Farm
What are some of the property amenities at Waterberg Guest Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Waterberg Guest Farm?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterberg Guest Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterberg Guest Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waterberg Guest Farm?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Does Waterberg Guest Farm have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.