We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of The White Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to go on a Friday evening rather than a steak night. I decided to try something a little different and chose of cheeks. This was a lovely rich dish, well presented with a good portion of meat with a ragout of vegetables and roast potatoes. As always the staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrahamSample
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Met up with old friends for a meal, and it was very very good we all had 3 courses and they were all cooked to perfection !!! Well done to the chefs, also the waitress was very good we will defiantly be going back again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
Terheijden
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Stayed her last week and had a wonderful time. Nice rooms with everything you need hairdryer, iron, toiletries etc. Warm and cosy pub and the food is delicious ! Stayed here before and will not hesitate to stay again !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoonTerheijden
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights . The welcome left much to be desired..just given the key with directions to the room. Had to pay balance up front even though they had card details from prior booking. Bedroom must have been under someone elses, perhaps the owners, as they arose at 6.30 am with the creaky floor boards given effect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David8295
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will thoroughly look into the matter and make changes for the future. Many Thanks, Tara

Hertfodshire
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Old quaint inn good service and lovely breakfast. Room as you would expect from this type of accommodation. Lots of character with an eclectic mix of room furniture. Nice touches in the room with tea coffee iron and hair dryer. Toiletries supplied in bathroom. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MapleHerts
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it :) Hope to have you stay with us again. Tara

Warwickshire
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

The room was filthy, we did have our small dog with us we had a downstairs room but even so no excuse, my husband ate here and it was of poor quality burger and frozen chips no atmosphere, staff not that friendly but breakfast was good however would stay ever again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DubbyWarwickshire
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we have thoroughly addressed the situation and hope you can try us one more time in the future. Tara

Reviewed October 27, 2016

A great place to stay - quaint an old. You wouldn't want it any other way. If you did then I would say you've chosen the wrong hotel and the wrong place to stay. We had a room at the front of the hotel which is situated in a quiet street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willem H
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Willem, Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you soon :) Tara

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We have stayed here before and was quite happy with the room, food and location. However, this weekend we feel that there was a total lack of interest from staff, to the point of rudeness. For example when we asked for larger wine glasses we were told they didn't have any and that we could just as easy drink wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lesley, Thank you for your review, since your last visit we have majorly addressed the situation and hope you can choose us again one more time in the future :) Tara

Reviewed October 25, 2016

Pleasant enough stay,room was tired and cold, due to a boiler failure which we were only told about when I commented on the cold, we were given a small electric heater. Food was ok the staff were rushed off their feet very busy night in the dinning room, we were dissapionted though when we called to say had left phone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, Thank you for your review, since you have visited us we have thoroughly addressed the situation :) Tara

Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff but Room 9 could do with a refurb. Basically clean but old and battered chest of drawers, stained dressing table holding tea/coffee makings and old wardrobe with carpet needing either a good steam clean or replacing. Room was at back of hotel (with kitchen area below) with small window in far corner of room so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HilarySimpson
TaraBirks, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Hilary, Thank you for your review, since you have visited we have addressed the situation and hope you can try us again soon :) Tara

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
3.9 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
356 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
806 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
2.7 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Horse in Boughton-under-Blean is a historic inn and restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream. Our locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with our chefs combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday lunches take place weekly and jazz suppers are a regular occasion featuring award-winning vocalist Christine Tobin. Located in a village but within easy reach of the channel crossings and many local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches, nature reserves and zoo's, the White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside. And if walking, there are many stunning walking routes on our doorstep. We welcome walkers, cyclists, dogs and families! Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, restaurant and bar. The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 246 The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range: $92 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Boughton-Under-Blean
The White Horse Inn Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid a room with anyone over the top.”
 of 5 bubbles David8295, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast served later than usual so may be an issue for business travellers”
 of 5 bubbles 759robinh, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms I would say either back onto the car park or onto the front street. Not sure which would be quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles Pigdigger, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“go to a canterbury b & b: maybe "castle house" !!!”
 of 5 bubbles klepkens, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
“No good rooms in our opinion”
 of 5 bubbles 988AnnM, Jun 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question