We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portobello Motel

Agoda.com$87*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$87*
Great Deal
$88*
$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Portobello Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 430: English reviews
Start your review of Portobello Motel
 Click to rate
Montana
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights at this motel at the end of our month long travels around the south island. Our large, clean, comfortable room looked out onto the beautiful bay. The motel was self-contained, nicely appointed with curtains, lights, great bed, kitchen and bathroom. It included a touch of luxury which was a nice way to end our vacation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesadventures
KL
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in a quite peaceful area with amazing mountain and beach view from the room. As what posted by the travellers, the lady operating the place was very helpful indeed. She even helped to call up the Royal Albatross Centre to check on the timing for the penguin viewing tour. Even gave us a handy map and some great tips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location on the Otago Peninsula is great for visiting all the natural sites and having amenities of good restaurants and facilities. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. Each cabin has all that you need. The hostess is very friendly and knowledgeable about making arrangements for boats, penguins and albatross. I suggest you take the coastal road, although windy along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 74jeffz
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really nice cozy place with great views. Hosts are really friendly , I usually stay in Dunedin City but realised this is far more relaxing out of the centre of Dunedin. Very close to Larnach castle which is a must to visit. Not far from the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We're delighted we managed to woo you out of the city!! It is certainly very peaceful and quiet here with enough amenities in Portobello to keep most people happy!! Thanks again. Kind regards, Sue and Keith

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff we super helpful planning and arranging some of our events, this was much appreciated. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we felt welcome and comfortable. The rooms were immaculate and spacious. Everything we needed to cook family meals was available. There is a local grocery shop at the end of the drive, just remember the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank av197561
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

How very kind, thank you. You're right about the shopping if you are intending to eat in your accommodation it is better value at one of the big supermarkets. However, the Portobello Store is well stocked for any occasional items you may need. It sounds as though you thoroughly explored the peninsula and all it has to offer. We are...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stumbled upon the Portobello Motel by following a recommendation in Lonely Planet during our 2 week trek around NZ for our honeymoon. We had been traveling all day and needed a place to lay our head's so we gave it a shot and showed up without a reservation. The owners were the loveliest and friendliest people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckysell
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

We will welcome you back with open arms!!! It was a pleasure to meet you and be part of your special holiday. We hope you have taken home lots of wonderful memories!! Kind regards, Sue and Keith

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a little way up the Otago Peninsula about 20 minutes from Dunedin and it is well worth the trip out for a peaceful location with easy access to the sights of the city. The Otago Peninsula is really beautiful and has easy access to the wildlife areas - especially the penguins and albatrosses. The rooms at the Portobelllo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ka2mba
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will go home with some great memories!! Kind regards, Sue and Keith

Reviewed April 19, 2017

I have only just got back to the UK after spending my first ever holoday in New Zealand. I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! Keith and Sue are so knowledgeable about the locality without being pushy and they helped me plan my perfect break. The accommodation was so clean I could easily have eaten my dinner off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you here again. MAny thanks. Kind regards, Sue and Keith

Reviewed April 13, 2017

What a great place! The motel rooms are charming and very comfortable. The staff (especially Maureen) were incredibly helpful. They told us about and helped us to book a tour of the blue penguins, and they gave us very useful information about local beaches that we wouldn't have found with our guidebooks. Importantly, they helped us in our time of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. Keith and I are delighted that you received all the help you needed and that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Kind regards, Sue and Keith

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2017

The motel was a perfect introduction to the NZ system, though did spoil us for the remainder of our time in the country: not everywhere could match this for facilities, space, cleanliness and helpfulness of the owners. Everything necessary was to hand, including a rotary washing line. Mrs Rhodes gave excellent advice on the highlights worth visiting. We particularly enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a h
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're very pleased we set the standard for NZ motels for you!! It's very good to know that you had everything you needed both in the motel and around the Peninsula, to help you enjoy your stay. We hope you have lots of photos to remind you of what a special place this is!!!...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
7.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
714 reviews
7.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
326 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
273 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Motel is set back off the main road through the little village of Portobello. The setting is peaceful and quiet. Our 4 studio rooms have lovely views over Portobello Harbour.Our 2 one-bedroomed and 2-two bedroomed cottages, whilst not having harbour views, are both spacious and comfortable.All the units come fully equipped for self catering although the delightful 1908 Restaurant is situated just across the road from the end of our drive. The Hotel next door has a Bistro bar, providing good food and beer and the Penguin Cafe offers hot and cold snacks and picnics. The local shop is well stocked too.The Portobello Motel is only 20 minutes from Taiaroa Head where the Royal Albatross , sea lions,seals, penguins and many sea birds are to be found.There are some lovely walks in the area too. Bring your binoculars for wildlife watching! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello Motel

Address: 10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Price Range: $94 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portobello Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Portobello Motel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Portobello Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I can recommend the two bedroom suite for a family stay.”
ka2mba, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to bag a room with a view over the water - the balconies are fab!”
, Apr 19, 2017 | Read review
“Choice of one or two bedroom bungalows, both with lovely facilities and sitting out areas.”
P1103IJianb, Apr 8, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea view are worth it!”
KateMJ, Apr 6, 2017 | Read review
“All the individual cottages were quiet and clean.”
Mickey9568234, Apr 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$87* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$88
TripAdvisor$88
Official Site$88
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates