We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
00230
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$478
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/24/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$478
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/24/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$392
View deal
Travelocity$478
Priceline$430
Prestigia.com$572
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2016)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (487)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 12/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Diamonds Thudufushi
Updated 12/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Kick off your shoes and unwind at Diamonds Thudufushi, a little piece of paradise on its own private island in the Maldives. Set on a white sand island within the turquoise waters of a shallow lagoon, Diamonds Thudufushi offers luxurious accommodation and outstanding levels of service. Located on the south-western rim of Ari Atoll, just a 35-minute seaplane flight south of Male' International Airport, the resort is secluded and tranquil, providing optimum privacy in unspoilt surroundings. The natural beauty of the island has been retained and enhanced. Our Beach Bungalows have individual verandas and private beachfronts along the coral-sand shore. The large sized Water Villas offers a fantastic experience over water with the rich ocean life up close. Experience the diversity of the Maldives by pairing your visit with a stay at Diamonds Thudufushi, offering intimate village charm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Private pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Wifi
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Infirmary
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic, German, Italian

Location

Full view
Contact
00230
Getting there
Villa Intl Airport23 miSee all flights
Male Intl Airport62 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1077Reviews157Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 876
  • 145
  • 35
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tracey Lowthian wrote a review May 16
Gloucester, United Kingdom2 contributions
From the moment we stepped off the sea plane this has to be the best holiday i have ever had. I’m actually struggling to put in to words how amazing my stay was and where to actually start!! From the get go our welcome from the staff and owner was incredible for them to take time out of their busy schedule to walk us off the boat. We had a lovely drink and towel whilst we checked in. The staff are what makes this place so magical. We were then shown to our water villa ! OMG what a wonderful and beautiful place to stay. It’s spotless clean and everything is white and beautiful. The decking is huge and spacious. You can access the water to see the reef from your villa anytime which i highly recommend i couldn’t get my husband out of the sea as there was so much life to see! We swam with turtles sharks cuttle fish the list is endless to the marine life right under your feet. Magical and very beautiful. Now to the staff who were all incredible! They really can’t do enough for you they are worth their weight in gold. Rascal,Elaan,Saafiu to name but a few (sorry I didn’t remember all of you ! All of you deserved a mention, were all very attentive. I highly recommend you do the Maldivian night and have a taste of excellent food and the table is just for two which was extremely special. Make sure you make use of the golf cart that runs you from the water villas to the bars and restaurants as these two guys were so accommodating and funny. We had the choice of using the al a carte and the buffet you wont be disappointed with either! Incredible food! we loved the fact at the a la carte you weren’t over faced with lots of food and what was served was top class cuisine and it was delicious top marks to chefs, as not like the waiters we did get chance to thank them personally but because you don’t often see the chefs id like to say a big thank you to them also. Would i visit again? Most definitely!! This place is paradise and by far the most beautiful place I’ve ever been fortunate to visit. Another thank you to the lovely lady who sang some nights she was extremely good, and the choice in music was very appropriate. Thank you Thudufushi I hope to see you again very soon. Xxx
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Water villas 1-9 are better for snorkelling
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Tracy, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Diamonds Thudufushi. Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff, we are very proud of our team, and we will convey all at the praises received. One thing that make us unique, is our spacious water villas with large terraces and we are elated to read that you enjoyed this to the full. We boast a magnificent house reef, and we are so happy that you could experience this first hand. Our biggest compliment is to receive guests for repeat visits, so we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sunny island greetings
Read more
Adri J wrote a review Apr 2022
Somerset West, South Africa15 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This was my second visit to Diamonds Thudufushi and I will go back a third time! The staff are there for all your needs and nothing is too much asked. They helped so much with my 18 month old grand daughter, especially Akash, Thusitha and Mauween! The island is clean and small and one feels at home from the moment you step off the seaplane where there is someone from management to welcome you! The food made by recognized chefs is meticulously prepaired for each meal! The problem is to decide what to eat!! The cocktails made by Khalil and Akash were the cherry on top! Thanks guys for an unforgettable 12 days in paradise, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Do not take a lot of clothes, costumes and sarongs will be the only things you need! Take a lot...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Adri, Thank you very much for your great review of your second visit at Diamonds Thudufushi. We really enjoyed welcoming and hosting you and your family. We are happy to read you felt at home and enjoyed the cuisine we have to offer in our all-inclusive package. I will send your compliments to our Team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to Diamonds Thudufushi. With warm sunny regards, Your Thudufushi Team.
Read more
Clare F wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions8 helpful votes
We have sadly just returned home after an amazing week at Thudufushi! It was our silver wedding anniversary on the 17th March & we have always said we would like to return to Thudufushi for our 25th (we had our honeymoon there in ‘97!). Lots has changed in 25 years, mainly the water bungalows which were not built on our first visit, also the nightly entertainment 25 years ago was predominantly hermit crab racing! The beach bungalows are also completely different to the ones we stayed in originally. We stayed in a jacuzzi water villa & it was absolutely perfect! we had a perfect view of the sunset each night which was amazing. The room & deck were huge, tastefully decorated & clean. You walked straight down your steps from the deck onto the reef which was the most amazing abundant reef ever! in one week of snorkelling on the house reef we saw a huge 3-4 metre white spotted eagle ray, 3x turtles, 5x eagle rays & 2x 1 - 1.5 metre reef sharks as well as so many bright & colourful fish of all shapes & sizes it was like we were living in an aquarium! The staff at Thudufushi are amazing, ‘Russ’ who drove the beach buggy to the water villas was lovely & friendly & remembered everyone’s names! he was always about asking if we wanted a lift. Jaleel our housekeeper did a fantastic job of cleaning the villa every day & being friendly with it. We had an issue twice with our electrics & both times we rang reception & the electrician was with us within 5 minutes & the problem sorted both times within half an hour. I am vegan (my husband isn’t) & it is generally a problem at most places… well it wasn’t on Thudufushi! I have never been anywhere ever where staff have been so helpful & accommodating! On our first visit to the water villa restaurant Anil came over & told me exactly what could or couldn’t be adapted on the menu & also told me if there was nothing on there (as it changes daily) the chef would make something for me. Mauween was our lovely waiter for the week & went over the menu for me each visit, on two occasions the ‘main’ options couldn’t be adapted & the chef made me something separate. We booked a meal at the Japenese restaurant one night for a treat (though every night was a treat anyway!) & the chef there was amazing, cooking something different for every course & telling me exactly what it was. We were also lucky enough to time our visit while Thudufushi had a visiting Michelin star chef from Slevenia visiting the island & hosting a ‘Gala Dinner’, well what can we say?! this was just fantastic, a 6 course (I think… I may have lost track!) set meal with paired wine that was just superb & again the chef cooked me a seperate menu that was second to none! Our whole experience at Thudufushi was better than we imagined/remembered & was so special. The island, the weather, the water villas, everything was perfect. It was a completely relaxing ‘away from it all’ holiday which was made all the more perfect by the attentive & helpful staff. Thankyou for living up to/exceeding our expectations & who knows we may visit again (sooner than 25 years!)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Dear Clare and Leon, Thank you very much for your fantastic detailed review of Diamonds Thudufushi. I am so happy to read your expectations were exceeded especially on dinners and Vegan dishes. We are focused on sustainability in our day to day operations as well as in our restaurants, it was wonderful to have Chef Luca Kosir here for our "Dining with the Stars" evening and to share his views on sustainable dining. I agree with you, the Team is amazing and we are committed to provide our guests with warm Hospitality true to the beautiful Maldives. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. With Warm Sunny Regards Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
David V wrote a review Feb 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom96 contributions65 helpful votes
My wife and I just returned from 10 nights at Diamonds Thudufushi. We stayed in a Junior beach suite. Wow what can I say ? It was simply beautiful, To open the doors on our own veranda leading out onto the pristine white sands only 10 meters from the crystal clear waters. The suite was perfect with outside bathroom and air con, Mini bar filled daily. The walk to breakfast in a morning was heavenly, paddling all the way with baby lemon sharks in the shallows. Herons waiting to snap up a little fish, so beautiful. You do not need any shoes in this resort. The food in the main restaurant was fabulous, Loads of choices and very tasty, The Maldivian evening was our favorite. However we also paid for the Teppanyaki meal with some friends we met in resort, this was a great night. ( tip don't eat anything before as it was 5 courses). The head chef Thusitha was entertaining and absolutely superb cooking for us, He is from sri lanka and the food was extremely tasty!!! The entertainment was subtle and not forced upon you. The staff in the resort seem happy and are very friendly, they cannot do enough for you. Hussein our main waiter in the buffet restaurant was very attentive and always on hand. Brilliant service! Frankly the staff are lovely people and helped make our stay so wonderful. Oh and the snorkeling directly from the beach suite/ bungalow was excellent, turtles and loads of fish/ small sharks. This was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Simply beautiful barefoot bliss.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Feb 19, 2022
Dear David & Joanne What a lovely review to read! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your Diamonds Thudufushi experience. Our island is very special with the fantastic house reef and nature all round. We are so happy that you could experience this first hand. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our food and beverage offering, this will be passed on to Chef Thusitha and his team. We hope to welcome you back to paradise soon! Sunny island greetings, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
Arevalob wrote a review Jan 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Our luxury beach suite was perfect and very comfortable and we had a chance to upgrade after three nights to the water bungalow. So we enjoyed the best of both worlds. Being a mainly Italian resort we benefitted from outstanding quality food and bar service and the main buffet was outstanding. Wide variety of food served in a genuinely warm and friendly manner with imaginative culinary flair. The Maldivian evening was outstanding. A new resort general manager ( couple ) made our stay very enjoyable. My wife needed to see a doctor and Carla the General Manager made every effort to assist in arrangements and showed interest and genuine care afterwards. The reception was attentive as was the entire team who are clearly well led by a highly serviced and competent team. During our stay nothing was too much trouble for the team from skimmed milk for my wife’s coffee to arranging a wakeboard excursion for my son. Look this is a five star resort and you pay for it but you don’t come away feeling cheated. Luxury, comfort, ambiance and service as well as quality food and beverage service. As our week came to and end we were so impressed with the resort and by the team who made every effort to deliver a memorable experience. They say the small things matter, on the boat trip to the jetty to catch the seaplane, we were accompanied by Carla and Jaco the general manager who made the effort to see everything went well for us and came to wish us a pleasant trip home. Super impressed with this five star service and it made a hugely positive experience very memorable. I highly recommend this hotel resort as a must do experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book early and don’t doubt the decision
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Feb 19, 2022
Dear Michael & Beatriz, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Diamonds Thudufushi. It was our greatest pleasure to have had you here, and share in our very special piece of paradise. Thank you also for the positive comments regarding the food and service, these will be conveyed to our respective teams. It will be an honour to welcome you back to Thudufushi for your 2nd visit in the near future. For now, sunny island greetings, and a happy 2022! Best regards, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
luca b wrote a review Jan 2022
Turin, Italy2 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing island, reef and fantastic yoga training at sunset with Anisha. It was my first time I tryed Yoga and i really loved it. Thank you so much Anisha Sing for your amazing Yoga lessons. Hope to come back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Jan 10, 2022
Dear Luca, Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay at Thudufushi. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the Yoga classes with Anisha. One of the many great activities to do at Thudufushi, with beautiful views of the sun setting over the ocean and on the over water deck. - I will pass your comments on to Anisha. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for many more happy memories. Kind regards, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
Craig B wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This place really is paradise. We stayed in an East facing water villa which had spectacular views over the house reef. The villa was superb, very spacious, with ample seating and sun bathing beds on the deck. 4 poster bed, which was very comfortable. Well stocked mini bar and coffee machine. Shower leads out onto the deck, which was perfect after dip in the sea. The room didn't have an apple iMac as advertised, but that didn't bother us really as spent almost all the time outside. Unlike the pictures on the website, there were no privacy curtains or rain shields (for the wet days) on the desk, probably due to the high wind at this time of year. Again, didn't bother us. The staff here are incredible. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so very welcome. All the staff always had a smile (behind their masks). There are too many to mention them all, but a special shout out to Say who looked after us at meal times (more about the food shortly). Nothing was ever too much trouble for him and he really did make every meal special. When you stay in a water villa, you get exclusive access to the water a la carte restaurant. The food was amazing. 4 course meal for lunch and dinner, with a great variety of option to suite most tastes. The local fish was mouth watering (said by someone who until now hasn't really liked fish). The food was always beautifully presented and tasted great. Breakfast was a treat in itself. You could choose to have your breakfast delivered to your villa at a time that suited you, or you could go to the restaurant if you fancied. A great selection of fruit, bread, pastries, cereal, meat, English breakfast, pancakes and more.. all freshly prepared along with a wide selection of drinks. If you are keen snorkeler or diver, this is the place for you. The hotel provides snorkeling kit which you can borrow. The house reef is beautiful. Huge variety of reek fish, sharks, Turtles and stunning coral. All just a step from the deck. For divers, the iDive team based on the island will take you to out to some spectacular spots, we saw giant manta rays, turtles, plenty of sharks and a big variety of coral and reef fish. The island isn't very big, you can walk all the way around it on its prestine white sand in about 15 mins. As you walk around, you may see young black tip reef sharks stalking the small fish in the shallows. On the island you may see fruit bats, small parrots (maybe love birds) and maybe even a few lizards. In summary, this has been our best holiday to date. If you are thinking of booking a holiday to the Maldives, this is the place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear Craig, Thank you so much for this wonderful and very detailed report. We are very happy that you captured the essence of the Maldives and our Island so well and we thank you a lot for your trust and the wonderful compliments towards Thudufushi and our team. We truly hope that you can hold fond memories of this holiday and we all wish to welcome you back to paradise one day. With warmest regards from the Indian Ocean, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
LisaL wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
+1
Nothing can prepare you for how incredible this island really is. We had the most idyllic 11 days and are already planning a return. There is nothing we could fault, the food was outstanding and catered to everyone's needs and the staff were incredible, no request was too much. They go out of their way to make you feel like you are on holiday, there are too many to name but the manager Shameen, was outstanding, friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and he seemed to know all of his guests personally. Khalil and Elaan the barmen were very entertaining and accommodating. Everything at the resort runs smoothly and is organised. The diving is amazing and there is loads to see. This is without a doubt our best holiday and was made even more special with the effort made for my birthday. Thank you for everything, it feels like you went above and beyond. A piece of my heart definitely remains with you. Until next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Dec 15, 2021
Dear LisaLourens, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and we are especially thankful for your kind words towards our team-members, they are the heart and soul of Thudufushi. We truly hope to welcome you back to our small patch of paradise in the Indian Ocean soon and until then we send you very sunny regards, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
888werner wrote a review Dec 2021
Schweiz2 contributions2 helpful votes
For the third time we had a wonderful stay in this amazing all inclusive resort. Especially the excursions with Raul were a unforgettable esperience. His Knowledge about sea life is amazing. Thank you. Also a big thank you to the very friendly and helpful Thudufushi staff We will see you again Yvonne Patrick
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Dec 15, 2021
Dear 888werner, First of all, thank you so much for your trust and loyalty. We are so happy that especially you as a repeater enjoyed your stay again to the fullest and thanks a lot for your kind words towards our incredible team, this is very much appreciated. Hopefully until soon in your second home in the Maldives, warmest regards, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
Jarek K wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The island is really small and there are some reconstruction works done with one of the bar and with some of the beach villas - they are using the sand production machines The beach and the sand is nice The beach villas are usually toshare by two famillies - so you are very close to each other what could dsiturb your privacy. In many beach villas there not bathtubes, tv nor jacuzzi. Water villas lack intimacy - every one know what you are doing on the deck! What is main problem is very poor restaurant services., especially the breakfasts which is every day the same and if you come little bit late there is a lack of many things including even tomato and bread. Very small wine choice 2-3 different kinds. Poor qualities of drink in the main bar. The servis or the welcome is not so cozy as you can expect on Maldives. Those who like to swim in the sea there is virtually not a good place for swiming because of tides , rock and shallow waters. . The reef is not bad
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: the biggest villa is 24
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi
Responded Dec 3, 2021
Dear Jaroslawk777, We truly thank you for your constructive review. Yes, we are currently repairing our main bar which was damaged during an unusual intense storm in the Maldives. These renovation works are now at final stages and will be finished on 20th December 2021. Services were although not interrupted and we informed all our travel partners and on all other booking channels well in advance. As well the remark regarding privacy on the Water Villa decks is well noted and we will install new privacy curtains in the coming weeks. Regarding our food & beverage offering, we were partly still affected by the COVID compromised supply chain to the Maldives, but as well this is a point that is now getting resolved with alternative suppliers. At the same time we are very happy that you rate your overall experience still as very good and we hope to welcome you back one day to our little patch of paradise. Thank you again for your comments, with sunny regards from the Maldives, Your Thudufushi Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$557 - $1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamonds thudufushi beach & water villas hotel thudufushi island, diamonds thudufushi beach and water villas, thudufushi hotel south ari atoll
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollThudufushi Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diamonds Thudufushi
What are some of the property amenities at Diamonds Thudufushi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Diamonds Thudufushi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Diamonds Thudufushi?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Diamonds Thudufushi?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a private pool, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Diamonds Thudufushi have airport transportation?
Yes, Diamonds Thudufushi offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Diamonds Thudufushi located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the center of Thudufushi Island.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diamonds Thudufushi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Arabic.
Does Diamonds Thudufushi have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.